Hardware clock

Jerm55

n3wb
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I have a DS-2CD3132D-I and it seems like the hardware clock is right, but can't find a way to update it.
I can update the system time, but every time on a reboot the camera to Jan 7 of the current year.

SSH in shows
hwclock show Jan 7 2015
Date show the same.

I can change the system time and it updates the OSD but on a reboot it goes back.
It been like that since I go it, the problem has stayed with firmware updates 5.1, 5.2.0 and now on 5.2.3

Any guidance would be helpful.
 

riri7707

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
93
Reaction score
25
The best here is to install an NTP server in one of your PC.
Personally, I use "Meinberg", who is free.
I install it on my PC NVR to synch all my system.
For settings, you have an option on each cam.
Just needs to enter the IP adress of the machine where the NTP server was installed.
Works like a charm.
Time synch is mandatory when you want to sync footage and playback
 

Jerm55

n3wb
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the reply...

I have NTP set up on the camera pointing to our server..
It works on all the cameras except for this one..
I even tried the manual time sync and doesn't work, the only why I have been able to change the system time was through SSH using 'date -s 2015.03.18-01:08' but that doesn't stick through a reboot, because I can't get the hardware clock to be right.
 

riri7707

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
93
Reaction score
25
Some elements to try.

1°) Try to simple sync the cam with your local computer (without NTP) normally must to works.

2°) If it's ok, then choose NTP option, place the IP of your NTP server then "TEST" button to check if you have positive message from you cam saying the link is OK.

3°) Chose the refresh to 10 min, then "SAVE" button.

If the cam doesn't refresh time after 10 min, reboot the cam by physically unconnect/connect the power cable (POE or direct power/ dépends of your cabling).

Must to work....

Other way, if after rebooting the time went to original state, probably you have an issue with internal ram or safe battery. i know if most of the cams you have a lithium battery for safe params.

One issue also can be a default flashed firmware. There are too many crappy firmware who seems on display info to be the right one, but in fact are not 100% improved. Happened to me with audio options and I needed to reflash the FW to have this option up and running correctly.

Last issue, reset to "default factory status", then make the settings again. In this case you will need to make again the IP adress and range, etc....

Hope this helps.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Jerm55

n3wb
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
1. Sync with local computer made it go to 2015-01-07 12:45:51 and my computer was the correct time.
2. NTP test says okay but the time goes back to 2015-01-07 12:45:51
3. Refreshing every 10 min makes it go back to 2015-01-07 12:45:51 every 5 mins.

Let me see if I can find the battery. Even though it seems to go back to 2015-01-07 12:45:51 with any time adjustments through the web interface.

This problem has been persistent through 3 firmware so my believe is that it might be a hardware issue or maybe deeper than the firmware; maybe the devices OS.

As for 'default factory status' for firmware I did a tftp auto update to the camera and that turned it back to factory IP and everything, but this clock issue still remains.

Thanks for the suggestions.
 

Jerm55

n3wb
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Here is an update...
I set debug mode on for SNTP using:
setDebug -m SNTP -l 6 -d 111

I found this error when trying to do a Manual Time Sync.
[03-19 06:33:44][pid:841][RTC][ERROR]ERROR: write RTC error,expect[550a6dc8], real[54ad2a7e],rewite it
[03-19 06:33:45][pid:841][RTC][ERROR]ERROR: write RTC error,expect[550a6dc9], real[54ad2a7e],rewite it
[03-19 06:33:46][pid:841][RTC][ERROR]ERROR: write RTC error,expect[550a6dca], real[54ad2a7e],rewite it

Does anyone know how I can write to the RTC?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,307
Reaction score
8,190
Location
USA
That almost sounds like there could be a hardware defect. But then again I am only guessing.
 
Top