HDD Failing - Re Installation Question

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
Hi There,

I currently run Blue Iris on my 2011 iMac on a Windows partition (Windows 7 Pro) and have done for several years. The original HDD is showing signs that it is starting to fail. I need to figure out how to replace the HDD and get Windows back up and running which may take a while. Can I install Blue Iris on my wife's laptop using my original licence key while I replace the HDD on my iMac and get windows up & running again on it? If this becomes too much of a challenge I may just purchase a windows PC. I would like to repair my iMac if I can

Also I have created an export file, when re imported does this restore all of my settings within Blue Iris such as Camera settings, profiles etc? I am hoping this is the case as there are so many settings that need to be put back when the software is re installed.

Regards

Richard
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
36,848
Reaction score
21,302
Hi There,

I currently run Blue Iris on my 2011 iMac on a Windows partition (Windows 7 Pro) and have done for several years. The original HDD is showing signs that it is starting to fail. I need to figure out how to replace the HDD and get Windows back up and running which may take a while. Can I install Blue Iris on my wife's laptop using my original licence key while I replace the HDD on my iMac and get windows up & running again on it? If this becomes too much of a challenge I may just purchase a windows PC. I would like to repair my iMac if I can

Also I have created an export file, when re imported does this restore all of my settings within Blue Iris such as Camera settings, profiles etc? I am hoping this is the case as there are so many settings that need to be put back when the software is re installed.

Regards

Richard
buy a 100 dollar i5-3570 based hp 8300 off ebay and run blue iris on that.
deactivate blue iris on your current setup before transferring >about tab
export settings>about tab
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
buy a 100 dollar i5-3570 based hp 8300 off ebay and run blue iris on that.
deactivate blue iris on your current setup before transferring >about tab
export settings>about tab
Thank you,

I have been researching the replacement of my HDD on my iMac and it looks to be a giant pain in the ass lol
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
buy a 100 dollar i5-3570 based hp 8300 off ebay and run blue iris on that.
deactivate blue iris on your current setup before transferring >about tab
export settings>about tab
I cannot find anything for that price locally (Toronto) I did find an i7 - 2600 with 8GB Ram for $200. Do you think that would work ? My current processor is an i5 - 2400S with 12 GB DDR3
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
36,848
Reaction score
21,302
I cannot find anything for that price locally (Toronto) I did find an i7 - 2600 with 8GB Ram for $200. Do you think that would work ? My current processor is an i5 - 2400S with 12 GB DDR3
That is overpriced for a system that old. Also some versions of Intel graphics found on some second generation processers don't support anything over 1080p four Hardware acceleratio... That processor might but it's still way too old for two hundred bucks.
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
That is overpriced for a system that old. Also some versions of Intel graphics found on some second generation processers don't support anything over 1080p four Hardware acceleratio... That processor might but it's still way too old for two hundred bucks.
Thanks again for the quick reply,

In that case I think I will attempt to replace the drive on my iMac. it has worked perfectly up until now.

If I am understanding your 1st reply I can deactivate my BI license then install on my wife's laptop. When I get my mac up & running again can I simply deactivate the license on the laptop then re install to my original computer?

Regards

Richard
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
buy a 100 dollar i5-3570 based hp 8300 off ebay and run blue iris on that.
deactivate blue iris on your current setup before transferring >about tab
export settings>about tab
I've found the following

RAM: 4 GB (2*2) 1600 MHz DDR3, with 2 empty DIMM slots for upgradeability.
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570
Network: Gigabit Ethernet
Storage: 500 GB 7200 RPM HDD
OS: Windows 7 Pro or Windows 10

With this be sufficient?
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
I've found the following

RAM: 4 GB (2*2) 1600 MHz DDR3, with 2 empty DIMM slots for upgradeability.
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570
Network: Gigabit Ethernet
Storage: 500 GB 7200 RPM HDD
OS: Windows 7 Pro or Windows 10

With this be sufficient?
Sorry also meant to say it's an HP Elite 8300
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
36,848
Reaction score
21,302
I've found the following

RAM: 4 GB (2*2) 1600 MHz DDR3, with 2 empty DIMM slots for upgradeability.
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570
Network: Gigabit Ethernet
Storage: 500 GB 7200 RPM HDD
OS: Windows 7 Pro or Windows 10

With this be sufficient?
yes. dont pay more than 100 or so for it.
ideally add an ssd and another 4gb memory
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
yes. dont pay more than 100 or so for it.
ideally add an ssd and another 4gb memory
What about this? $200 no SSD but an i7
HP Elite 8300 SFF PC - Core i7 3770 3.4GHz, 1TB HDD, 8GB
Selling an excellent condition HP Elite 8300 Small Form Factor Desktop:
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
36,848
Reaction score
21,302
What about this? $200 no SSD but an i7
HP Elite 8300 SFF PC - Core i7 3770 3.4GHz, 1TB HDD, 8GB
Selling an excellent condition HP Elite 8300 Small Form Factor Desktop:
in the US that would be high...no sure about canadian prices. if you were running fine on a 2011 mac mini, the i5-3570 will be more than adequate.
 

Richdem

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
107
Reaction score
39
in the US that would be high...no sure about canadian prices. if you were running fine on a 2011 mac mini, the i5-3570 will be more than adequate.
Unfortunately Canadian prices are higher, with the poor exchange anything in US$ is around 35% more.

I don't mind spending $200 on this is and I'll still throw an SSD in it . Is this i7 better than the i5? I haven't had any issues with my 21.5 imac running 3 x 720 cameras and 1 x 1080
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
36,848
Reaction score
21,302
Unfortunately Canadian prices are higher, with the poor exchange anything in US$ is around 35% more.

I don't mind spending $200 on this is and I'll still throw an SSD in it . Is this i7 better than the i5? I haven't had any issues with my 21.5 imac running 3 x 720 cameras and 1 x 1080
your load is tiny. even on the i5-3570 you are looking at under 10 percent load. the i7 would be a waste in your case.
 
Top