Hello from KS

Laidink

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello all fairly new here I've been browsing for a while after my future residence was broken into and I lost some money in tools and supplies. Actually watched a bunch of youtube videos over nvr's and cameras and ended up finding this amazing forum. I'm very new with networking and cameras and was hoping to get some insights. My house sits just off a blacktop on the north side of a county road with the county road being the only drive in access. Now if you really wanted to go through the ditch it wouldn't be an issue to get onto the property from the west side. With that being said, the only building that is really set in stone is the shop to the east side of the picture which is a 40x80. Unfortunately it has sliding barn doors on the west side for the foreseeable future and they are just over 13' tall and will extend past the building fully opened which definitely isn't ideal for height. Currently I only have electricity but internet hopefully shouldn't be a problem although the company might find it odd that I want internet ran to the shop instead of the house. This is because I am doing a complete multi year remodel on the house and adding another floor to the center section of the roof. I'm wanting the home base to be inside the shop inside of a 9x8 room I am building for a blue iris pc for the cams. I do plan to go with open vpn and a dual nic in the blue iris setup as I'm pretty sure I can figure that much out.

Now for my awkward questions. I'm planning an absolute minimum of 14 cameras.
I was thinking one HFW5241E-Z12E for sure mounted looking towards the south at my drive entry to possibly catch a license plate. Lighting won't be a issue as I'll run conduit and another breaker for a straight up spotlight if I have to.
Also a mix of the T5442T-ZE's and T2231T-ZS