Help setting up VLAN network

CanCuba

Known around here
Reaction score
I'm looking at buying a managed switch and setting up a proper network for myself and my guests (max 8 devices connected at one time). Here's what I need to do:

• 16 IP cams connected to a POE NVR (labeled as DVR on diagram) as 10.1.1.x firewalled from talking to the internet (VLAN)
  • OpenVPN or Wireguard VPN access into the NVR and cams
  • laptop can access NVR and cams

The internet will be provided via a Ubiquiti Nano M5 and will provide internet access to the (probably hardwired) IPTVs and other non-surveillance devices. I'm new to VLANs but I believe that I can manage this through VLANs on a managed switch. This is the switch I'm looking at:

Does this look like it will work? I don't have a huge choice of managed switches but I think this one will do what I need it to do (VLAN the cams/NVR and allow remote access via OpenVPN/Wireguard to the same).

vlan_network.drawio.png

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
What are you currently using as a router/firewall?

CanCuba

Known around here
Reaction score
What are you currently using as a router/firewall?
Cams/NVR have never been connected to the internet. I'm setting up this network as I'm having the Nano internet connection installed this week.

Think of this as a fresh setup.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Cams/NVR have never been connected to the internet. I'm setting up this network as I'm having the Nano internet connection installed this week.

Think of this as a fresh setup.
Ok, but the nano is just an access point. Where is the internet/wan connection coming from? and what is the device you have under the switch?

CanCuba

Known around here
Reaction score
Ok, but the nano is just an access point. Where is the internet/wan connection coming from? and what is the device you have under the switch?