Help with Sound on Hikvision DS-2CD2732F-I(S) camera

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by bigbadw, Dec 26, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,212
    Likes Received:
    9,338
    You can test it from any Windows pc... You don't need to touch the security pc...
     
  2. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33
    I personally am a long time Blue Iris user and fan. I'm very happy with the new 64bit version and it providing my ability to start using all of my cameras on the same PC. My CPU is running at around 37%, memory 3.75Gb (of 8gb) and running 10 cameras. My maximum camera use is 15 when I go on vacation and set up my inside cameras (only used when I lock up the house and we are out of town).

    I've tried many other camera software packages and found complexity/increased cost associated with each one.

    Bottom line: I am still a Blue Iris fan.
     
  3. mrslother

    mrslother n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have heard lots of good things about BI. Not to fork this thread but I found it difficult to settle on which NVR software to choose. There are lots of alternatives; most are rarely known. HikVision has one (I am still not clear on if there is a free version), Blue Iris, Genius Vision, etc. Some are better suited for different scenarios than others. It is probably worth compiling a list (as other places have kind of done) but making it definitive with target scenarios, hidden costs, cross platform support, etc. :)
     
  4. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33
    You would think so, but of course I had to go and complicate things... My Security PC has two NIC cards. One to attach to my regular network (the 192.168.1.x) and a second NIC that connects to my Security side (192.168.100.x). This isolates the traffic from the security cameras from my house network, and allows me to feel a bit more secure from any outside access attempts. (at least that is my thinking).

    The Second NIC connects to a POE switch located in a remote room, with all camera wires coming from that location to the cameras.

    (hope this makes sense) It really is a clean system for separating the two networks/traffic. I am thinking the easiest thing to do is to just get the additional capability onto my Security PC so I don't have to do heroics to test the cameras.
     
  5. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33
    Speaker out problem solved. I am embarrassed to admit, but the issue was a bad wire. The "speaker out" wire from the block was stripped back, but was too short to make a proper contact.

    I removed the camera, put it back on the bench and ran the tests. I removed the two wires (ground and sound out), re-stripped longer and then reconnected... and i'll be damned if it didn't work! Re-installed on the front door and sure enough, all working fine.
     
  6. Smythey

    Smythey n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a cheap Ebay clone of the VideoSecu MIC01. As I use PoE, it's not convenient to run a 12v adapter for the mike but I just cut off the power connector for the mike and soldered on a battery connector.

    At the moment I'm just using a rechargeable 9v PP3 battery as it's small and fits in the same IP55 box where I have stuffed all the cables/connectors. It all works well. If the battery doesn't last long enough, I'll just switch to 6xAAA rechargeables which will also fit inside the IP55 box.
     
  7. GaretJax

    GaretJax Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    mrslother,

    Thanks for this post. Quite useful. Couple of questions:

    1) Where did you get the RCA connector? The best I could is here, but I still like yours better.
    2) How did you provide it power at your installation site? Did you have to run electricity so you could plug in the 12 volt adapter?

    Thanks.
     
  8. GaretJax

    GaretJax Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    Couldn't you just have taken another POE slot on your router and used something like this to provide it power? That way you never need to go back and change batteries.
     
  9. mrslother

    mrslother n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Answers:
    1) I purchased the RCA connector either from my local Home Depot or Radio Shack (I can't recall which one).

    2) I ended up not using the powered microphones because of the need to pull a power cord to the camera. My hopes was that the PoE would be sufficient to power
    both the camera and microphone. However there was not enough current. So, instead, I purchased simple electret condenser microphones (similar to http://www.amazon.com/3-5mm-Capsule...437634493&sr=8-4&keywords=electret+microphone).
    I soldered them to wires which feed into the audio-in block. I then heat shrunk them to protect the wiring and make them more ridgid.
    They have been working great ever since!
     
    GaretJax likes this.
  10. DarkSim

    DarkSim Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    can you tell me the colours of the wires U used to connect your mic? I also have a strain of wires, however, I dont have any labels on it.
     
  11. jjlee777

    jjlee777 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see that they have APB002 and APB003 but don't sell the APB001 anymore.

    For the 12V power, since I have the cameras running POE, is there a way to tap into the existing Ethernet cable to power the microphone?
     
  12. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33

    That is a very good question, unfortunately I do not know the answer.

    My installation was outside my front door, so I ran the power cord down the inside of that exterior wall, and put a plug at the bottow (on the inside wall of the house). Gave me the power I needed to be sure.
     
  13. jjlee777

    jjlee777 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    In your testing, did you find an adequate passive microphone for sounds 10' far?
     
  14. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes, definitely. I picks up conversation as people approach the door (20' away) but works great at the regular 10' to 5' distances.
     
  15. jjlee777

    jjlee777 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which one did you use where you didn't have power? My location doesn't make it easy to run power to the mic.
     
  16. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33
    Unfortunately, the only camera I hooked up with a mic and speakers (front door camera), I did run power to. So I figure the microphone is grabbing power from the camera itself, since all I did was plug the mic into the connector marked "microphone".

    It may not be easy, but I bet you will be happy if you do run an external power source to a place near the camera.

    I have not tried it on any of my POE cameras to see if they get enough power from the RJ45 itself. If the camera has a microphone jack built in, and is designated as a POE device, my guess is that it will have enough power for the mic. Sorry that I don't have that experience to provide. Maybe someone else did a POE set up.
     
  17. jjlee777

    jjlee777 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally figured it out! I now have a powered microphone working with my Hikvision cameras all through a single PoE cable. Since I'm running ethernet to the cameras, you might as well use PoE to power them and it makes sense that you should be able to power a microphone also. I haven't installed outside, but I am planning on hiding the microphone behind the camera so that it is not exposed to the weather. In my initial testing, even with the microphone hidden behind the camera, the microphone is so sensitive that it picks up audio easily within 10-15 feet and with the setting at 50 level. I will update the post with more pictures and sample video with audio after installed.

    FullSizeRender.jpg

    Here's what I bought for the setup.

    FireKingdom 5pack 42cm CCTV Security Camera Inline Mini Microphone with RCA Output Cable
    WiFi Texas WT-GAF-12v12w 802.3af Gigabit Poe Splitter with 12 Volts output
    uxcell 5 Pcs Speaker RCA Wire to AV Phono Male RCA Connector Jack Adapter
     

    Attached Files:

  18. bigbadw

    bigbadw Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    33
    jjlee777, congratulations on figuring this one out! I have two cameras with microphones, one has a speaker also (for two way communication). It really works to capture conversations. Once, a couple of "would be vandals", looked up and said, "Oh shit, they have a camera" and ran off. Another time, a guy peaked in a window and saw me cleaning a rifle and said (as he was darting away) "Muthu F'er has a rifle on the table".

    Those are really the only funny recordings I have heard, but they really are classics.

    My best "two-way" story is when we were traveling in Florida and my phone text message chimed. It was my front door camera. I opened it up and talked to the people at the front door and let them know we were not interested. They had no idea we were not home.
     
  19. HypervisorX

    HypervisorX n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of speaker do you guys use for the 2 way? I'm looking at doing something similar to what bigbadw did. I would like to have some kind of speaker for doing the 2-way. I'm just having trouble finding an active speaker suited for this and was hoping somebody might share the active speaker or speaker+amplifier setup they are using with the hikvision cameras.