Hikvision DS-KB6003-WIP Wi-Fi Doorbell chime?

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by copex, Sep 27, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. masmith22

    masmith22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey,USA
    The night vision without an external light is not good. I hope Hikvision will release a firmware to fix. The Hik-connect notification works to well. I am not able to configure BlueIris to recognize the doorbell camera. Can someone please provide me with the correct configuration? I was able to get the Hikvision iVMS-4200 to recognize the camera but not able to get Hik-connect to recognize iVMS-4200.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. spoonek

    spoonek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    18
    I just had BI search for mine and it found it.
     
  3. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yep, your Hikvision doorbell is at same firmware as what was posted in the other LTS doorbell thread which is V1.4.62 build 171218. Should be about time for another FW update to v2.x from Hikvision to allow users to disable IR.:)
     
  4. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    I looked at the chime you received from toolstation, but I can’t see any mention that it runs off 12v? Can you confirm that is the same chime you have?
     
  5. masmith22

    masmith22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey,USA
    I have an old mechanical chime. I was told by Lisa "sales@hofotech.com", the doorbell will not work with a digital chime.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. copex

    copex Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Cumbria,England
    its 8vac on there webpage but as it was cheep i'm overdriving it with 18vac (20vac on the mulitiymetter), with VAC there has to be tolerances in place as in the uk the Mains voltage is 240vac but it can be as low a 216vac or as high as 253vac +/- so for example a 12vac supply could output 10vac to 14vac (approx) depending on where you live.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  7. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I've wired it all up and it works! However I'm stuck configuring the camera to my Hik-connect app - whether I scan the QR or manually type in the serial number (whilst the button is flashing red/blue and the voice prompt "Start configuring Wi-Fi" is heard) I get "The device does not exist"? I'm using a 7208HQHI -F1-N-A Turbo DVR - used to have two IP cameras but ditched those, so I know there is room for this IP camera. Any ideas?
     
  8. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does WPS need to be enabled on the router for the doorbell to connect to it?
     
  9. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    I had to do a manual reset(hold left button 15secs) on my RCA Hikvision rebrand of this wifi doorbell to get Hik-Connect to configure wifi via QR code. Maybe worth trying as mine would not connect and register with the server until I resorted to reset procedure. I connected mine without WPS enabled.
     
  10. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can't reset it - after 5 secs it just keeps saying "Start configuring Wi-Fi", can hold for longer still but nothing happens, looks like it hasn't been set up before, otherwise the 15s rest comes into play.
     
  11. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    First time around was 5secs but I inadvertently connected my iPhone to my 5GHz SSID since it was my default connection instead of 2.4GHz SSID. I then reset and connected to my 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and it accepted the QR code and registered with the backend Hikvision servers.
     
  12. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    But that's assuming that the doorbell is connected to the wi-fi first? Forgive me if I'm not understanding - should the doorbell just connect to your default 2.4Ghz network during the "Start configuring Wi-Fi" process, and then you authorise the doorbell to the network afterwards with your SSID password? If yes, then this is the bit the camera doesn't do.
     
  13. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    I believe the Hik-Connect app will attempt to connect your doorbell to whatever Wi-Fi network you had set to automatically connect your phone to. In my case, my phone would join my 5GHz network automatically when I toggle on Wi-Fi which caused the doorbell to try to connect to 5GHz but wouldn't take password to register and allow for activation. After I remembered that I need to be on my 2.4GHz wifi network, I force my phone to 2.4GHz SSID before clicking on the + sign in the Hik-Connect app to add my doorbell to the wireless network. It then connected successfully to the network and activated doorbell on the servers under my account.
     
  14. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, Pilot, I tried that also. Please can you describe the order in which things happen? In my mind, it’s as follows:

    1) turn on doorbell and wait for blue and red flashing light

    2) Generate a qr code on phone (2.4ghz WiFi network) based on ssid and password. Present to the doorbell whilst still in it’s blue and red flashing mode

    3) door bell produces a single tone and goes blue.

    4) app then prompts to activate the doorbell to your account.

    Does this sound right? When I present the qr code to the doorbell nothing happens.
     
  15. spoonek

    spoonek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    18
    It needs to beep or it won’t connect. Reduce any background glare. Maybe do it after dark. Hold the phone a couple of inches away from the camera. Move it around if needed.
     
    Josh L likes this.
  16. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yes, that sounds about right. I recall having to move my phone back and forth to get it to read the QR code(hear the beep tone). I recall there were two methods so maybe try both route where the other method was scan the QR code on the doorbell itself and proceed to connect to wifi, register on server, set doorbell password and activate.
     
  17. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tried all these methods, in darkness I put the phone’s brightness all the way up and then down, moved the phone in all directions and still doesn’t recognise the qr code. Sounds like the doorbell only attempts to connect to a router once the qr code is detected and attempts to use the credentials provided in that qr. If that’s the case I may have a faulty camera in the doorbell. I did take off the protective plastic cover too
     
  18. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    Could be a bad unit as it shouldn't require that much effort to read the QR code. I never tried the manual adding so not sure if that would help in your case either.
     
  19. kuchars22

    kuchars22 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Found that a later fw, mine is 20170510, says that is supports QR scanning, so maybe this is the issue.

    However, I try to add the dav file to the root of a SanDisk Extreme 64GB XC I I Class 3 Micro SD and it doesn't seem to do anything - no voice to say it's upgrading or not, so not sure if the card is incompatible, or the unit is just busted. Does it need to be formatted in EXT? Has anyone upgrade firmware before on this device, and what happens when the unit is rebooted?
    • Software Name:

      Baseline Firmware_WiFi doorbell_ML_STD_V1.4.61 build20170731

    • New Features

      1. Connect Wi-Fi by scan QR code

      Wi-Fi doorbell now can connect Wi-Fi by scanning the QR code generated from Hik-connect App with doorbell’s build-in camera. The suggested scanning distance is 5 to 10 cm. The doorbell will gives a beep when successful recognizes the QR code.

      2. Support Wi-Fi protocol 802.11n

      3. Doorbell with customized mode name can connect to Hik-connect

      Customized mode doorbell can connect to Hik-connect without pre-register the mode name to EZVIZ Cloud.

      Upgrade Methods

      2. Upgrade with SD card
    Somebody else on the forums says that an even later fw is available from Dec 2017, but I can't find this and the latest on HK's site is the one mentioned in my last post
     
  20. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    chris.nz likes this.