HikVision - stream path URL?

graemac

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a bit of a newbie, please bare with me. I am trying to enable sub stream for my cameras connected to my HikVision DS-7608NI-E2 configuration. The aim being to get a URL (not rtsp) that I can paste into a browser or VLC to view an individual camera connected to the NVR.

Any ideas what the ‘stream path’ should be?

My NVR has a local IP of 192.168.1.26

I have tried this syntax “ http://192.168.1.26/Streaming/channels/101/httppreview “ but getting the below error message.

Access Error: 404 -- Not Found

Can't open URL

Thank you in advance !!

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Hikvision NVRs offer each camera channel as an RTSP stream for use in a video player such as VLC.
For example Channel 3, main stream : rtsp://192.168.1.211:554/Streaming/Channels/301
Channel 3, substream : rtsp://192.168.1.211:554/Streaming/Channels/302

graemac

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks alastairstevenson, I am actually using the feed with ActionTiles that only allow for HTTP streams / sub-stream, and from what I have read it needs to be an HTTP format and not RTSP.

I am not sure how to enable and setup the substream - it asks for a path which i don't know...

In your example is 192.168.1.211 your NVR IP address? from there the <:554/Streaming/Channels/302> is the instruction to view the particular camera?

Thanks

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
In your example is 192.168.1.211 your NVR IP address? from there the <:554/Streaming/Channels/302> is the instruction to view the particular camera?
Yes and yes, it's Channel 3, substream.
from what I have read it needs to be an HTTP format and not RTSP.
But you already mentioned VLC, hence the RTSP example.
For HTTP you'd need a plug-in 'helper' program. That's why 'webcomponents' is needed on Hikvision live viewing.

graemac

n3wb
Reaction score
Yes and yes, it's Channel 3, substream.
Ok thanks.