Hikvision Virtual Host- Dead Links

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by Tony Simmons, Mar 4, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi All,

    I currently have a simple setup with:

    (2) Hikvision DS-2CD2T42WD-I5 cameras with a Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2/8P NVR

    I've enabled the virtual host feature on the NVR. Both cameras show "Online" and display the clickable links for the cameras, but they are dead links. Anyone have a fix for this???

    Best,

    Tony
     
  2. zero-degrees

    zero-degrees Known around here

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    738
    Have you simply tried going direct and not using the links in the interface?

    x.x.x.x:65001 for camera one and x.x.x.x:65002 for camera 2
     
  3. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just tried it to be sure. No Luck...
     
  4. tigerwillow1

    tigerwillow1 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    459
    Double check that virtual host is still turned on. When I used a Hikvision NVR I remember that virtual host kept liking to shut itself off. It's been too long for me to remember under what circumstances.
     
  5. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Tigerwillow1. I turned Virtual Host off and back on hoping it would reset itself. Still no luck...
     
  6. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,894
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Scotland
    Have you customised the HTTP port away from the default of 80 for the cameras?
     
  7. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Fairly new to this. Can you explain a little further please?
     
  8. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,894
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Scotland
    Did you change the ports (not the IP address) on the camera from how it was when you first received it, specifically did you change 80, which is the HTTP port, to anything else?
     
  9. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah, understood. I did check the camera itself, and the HTTP port is still set to 80...
     
  10. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,894
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ok, well that's one less potential cause of the problem.
    So a supplemental question:
    How did you check out the camera settings, and what is the camera IP address?
     
  11. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    I plugged the cameras directly into my router to gain access to the camera itself. The two camera addresses according to SADP are:

    192.168.254.2
    192.168.254.3

    Interesting thing is, I notice that these IP addresses do not match the NVR's IP addresses in Virtual Host, which are:
    192.168.254.6
    192.168.254.10

    What have I done wrong????
     
  12. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ran the SADP Tool again. This time the IP addresses do match the NVR, those addresses being:

    192.168.254.6
    192.168.254.10

    Links still down...
     
  13. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,894
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Scotland
    Most odd.
    I don't really have any explanation.
    The Virtual Host network address translation is handled internally in the NVR.
    Externally - all you can do is to enable or disable it - there are no configurable settings.

    What is the specific error that results when you click the link?
     
  14. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    "This page can’t be displayed" comes up after a long wait each time...
     
  15. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Tony, what is your NVRs IPv4 address?
     
  16. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Ryan,

    NVR address is 192.168.254.34
     
  17. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,894
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Scotland
    If that's the NVR's LAN interface address, I'll let @RyanODan tell you why it's wrong.
    What's the IP address of the router/gateway on your LAN?
    What is the NVR LAN interface conected to?
     
  18. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Alastair,

    The IP address of the router/gateway for the LAN is 192.168.254.15

    As far as the NVR connection, can you elaborate on the question?
    The NVR is connected directly to the router...
     
  19. Tony Simmons

    Tony Simmons Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also showing in ipconfig is the Default Gateway- 192.168.254.254
     
  20. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,894
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Scotland
    That's kinduv an unusual address range for a domestic LAN.
    But - unless I've misunderstood what you've described, or I didn't ask the right questions properly, your LAN addresses will be clashing with the default range of 192.168.254.x that's used by the NVR PoE interface.
    If so - network confusion will be the result.
    Unless you have customised that range, via the VGA/HDMI interface of the NVR.
     
    RyanODan likes this.