IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

HP EliteDesk 800 G4 SFF i7 8700: eBay snag

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
I've been watching eBay now for the better part of a week plus for an Elitedesk and scored an EliteDesk 800 G4 SFF i 8700 with 32 megs of RAM, 1 256MB SSD and a second 512 SSD. Having been a Mac user for 30 years plus, it took a lot of digging but grabbed it for $650. Seller had 2 and both sold within 24 hours. I asked the seller to stay in touch should he have any similar machines come available. This still have 2 1/2 years of warranty. It has an NVIDIA Quadro P620 card and after deferring to @Looney and reading, the card would need to come out.

This is for a planned 18 camera system for a new house we are building and all 2MP Dahua cams and this will be a dedicated machine to strictly BI. I've got a STEEP learning curve ahead of me but I'll get there thanks to this tremendous forum.

If anything pops up from the seller, I'll create a separate posting as I receive info.

Here's a link: HP EliteDesk 800 G4 SFF i7 8700 3.2Ghz 32GB RAM 256GB SSD 500GB SSD Quadro P620 | eBay
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,001
Reaction score
271
Yes that is the best deal for all those specs. 32GB RAM etc. I think those sold within hours of listing. Not 24 hours

I think you can get away with having NVIDIA Quadro P620 installed for those monitors and take stress of CPU and still have quick sync. Not sure but hope someone has this info.
 

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
Thanks, I have no clue. That's WAY above my paygrade LOL. Hopefully someone will chime in with first hand knowledge, that's way out of my league. If it were a Mac, then I'm on solid ground but not in this area.

Yes, they did sell within hours. I'd emailed the seller a question overnight and checked this morning and one was already sold. I still didn't get my answer but went ahead with the purchase and it worked out this time.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Thanks for posting this @ThomasPI - like to see what a system with a Quadro GPU would cost. Looks like a really nice deal you got.
 

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
Thanks for posting this @ThomasPI - like to see what a system with a Quadro GPU would cost. Looks like a really nice deal you got.
Thanks, got lucky. Arrived yesterday and looks like the day it left the HP plant.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
Thanks, got lucky. Arrived yesterday and looks like the day it left the HP plant.
Indeed ThomasPl, That's a sweet box... the Quadro GPU should do really nicely displaying multiple 4K monitors!
 

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
For now, one 32” monitor. How will card affect BI? I was going to take it out. This is above my pay grade lol. Here’s a few pics.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
4,743
Reaction score
2,610
For now, one 32” monitor. How will card affect BI? I was going to take it out. This is above my pay grade lol. Here’s a few pics.
HI ThomasPI

Not certain how well Blue Iris can use a GPU, so you'll want to check that.

Certainly on the display perspective I do like the Quadro card... ( I have a need to up date a system that can only display 1080P right now so I was looking at Quadro cards )
 

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
Thanks I’ll do some digging around, I’ve got no idea. From everything I’ve found posted by @fenderman the cards will cause issues so I’m going to either pull it or disable it or put it on eBay. New card but no go.
 
Last edited:

Rakin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
92
Location
US
Thanks I’ll do some digging around, I’ve got no idea. From everything I’ve found posted by @fenderman the cards will cause issues so I’m going to either pull it or disable it or put it on eBay. New card but no go.
I have an Nvidia quadro k2000. I’m currently displaying on 2 1440p monitors and a 1080p monitor off of that single card. I haven’t had any issues with bi5. Currently recording 6 2mp cams 24/7 at a high bit rate. Cpu stays at or bellow 20% gpu will stay between 18%-38%


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,001
Reaction score
271
I have an Nvidia quadro k2000. I’m currently displaying on 2 1440p monitors and a 1080p monitor off of that single card. I haven’t had any issues with bi5. Currently recording 6 2mp cams 24/7 at a high bit rate. Cpu stays at or bellow 20% gpu will stay between 18%-38%


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Great info. I tried a nvidia card and could not get quick sync to work. I am using on board GPU now.
 

Rakin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
92
Location
US
Great info. I tried a nvidia card and could not get quick sync to work. I am using on board GPU now.
How would I know if mine is working or not? I’ve often wondered but I haven’t had any issues with anything to my knowledge so I’ve just been rolling with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,041
Reaction score
6,232
A graphics card helps lower the CPU time required to draw the Blue Iris GUI. It makes the most difference at very high resolutions like 4K. In my experience, drawing ~15 FPS to a 4K monitor can use 20% of an i7-8700K with the monitor attached to a graphics card. 40%+ without a graphics card. It gets painful fast.

In Windows 10, you can simply look in Task Manager on the Performance tab and it will include each enabled GPU in the list on the left. By looking at the details of the Intel adapter, you can tell if Quick Sync is working based on the Video Decode usage.

Here is mine, showing that Quick Sync is working:



With many motherboards, you need to find the BIOS option that allows the integrated graphics to remain active while you have a PCIe graphics card installed. This can sometimes be named a bit cryptically, called something like "iGPU Multi-Mon".
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,041
Reaction score
6,232
It is also possible that a Quadro P620 can do hardware accelerated decoding (and maybe encoding too) in Blue Iris. That particular model is not in Nvidia's compatibility matrix so it is unclear. If you do try it, be sure to measure power consumption at the wall to make sure it is not needlessly inefficient.

At least that HP computer has an awesome 80+ Platinum power supply.
 

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
Thank you gents, we shall see and not going to be using a 4K monitor. It’ll be interesting, this is way above my pay grade LOL.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,001
Reaction score
271
A graphics card helps lower the CPU time required to draw the Blue Iris GUI. It makes the most difference at very high resolutions like 4K. In my experience, drawing ~15 FPS to a 4K monitor can use 20% of an i7-8700K with the monitor attached to a graphics card. 40%+ without a graphics card. It gets painful fast.

In Windows 10, you can simply look in Task Manager on the Performance tab and it will include each enabled GPU in the list on the left. By looking at the details of the Intel adapter, you can tell if Quick Sync is working based on the Video Decode usage.

Here is mine, showing that Quick Sync is working:



With many motherboards, you need to find the BIOS option that allows the integrated graphics to remain active while you have a PCIe graphics card installed. This can sometimes be named a bit cryptically, called something like "iGPU Multi-Mon".
Great info. I wonder why sometimes nvidia axes the quick sync. @ThomasPI If you find the bios setting or qs works without keep us updated.

I added this in the quick sync guide I made:
Getting Intel Quick Sync to work with Blue Iris (Settings & Troubleshooting)
 
Last edited:

Rakin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
92
Location
US
A graphics card helps lower the CPU time required to draw the Blue Iris GUI. It makes the most difference at very high resolutions like 4K. In my experience, drawing ~15 FPS to a 4K monitor can use 20% of an i7-8700K with the monitor attached to a graphics card. 40%+ without a graphics card. It gets painful fast.

In Windows 10, you can simply look in Task Manager on the Performance tab and it will include each enabled GPU in the list on the left. By looking at the details of the Intel adapter, you can tell if Quick Sync is working based on the Video Decode usage.

Here is mine, showing that Quick Sync is working:



With many motherboards, you need to find the BIOS option that allows the integrated graphics to remain active while you have a PCIe graphics card installed. This can sometimes be named a bit cryptically, called something like "iGPU Multi-Mon".
Wow! I appreciate this. Got intel quick sync going along with my nvidia card. CPU is at 12% now lol and live feed looks even better then it did. I thought I was doing really good before but this is outstanding!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,001
Reaction score
271
Wow! I appreciate this. Got intel quick sync going along with my nvidia card. CPU is at 12% now lol and live feed looks even better then it did. I thought I was doing really good before but this is outstanding!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What GPU are you using and what BIOS setting did you have to set. I wonder if it is certain drivers. I tried with a NVIDIA Quadro K1200 and it kept shutting off intel gpu. Bios didn't seem to have any options. I would like to try to get this running as it seems like a better option to take stress off the CPU and obtain a better picture. Thanks
 
Top