I think my IPC-HDBW4231F-E2-M dual camera is dying..

Nickg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
36
Location
Canada
I have been losing the signal on my dual camera off and on for the last 6 months . For the last month it has been pretty much everyday .

what i tried...

..remove camera and clean(camera end) replace both connection of cat 6 wire
..upgrade camera to the newest firmware
.. reset camera and remove all connections(i have 6 cameras) and reset nvr. Connect all cameras one by one .
..finally, remove dual camera and swap with another and different line indoors(garage) .
The camera i swapped is working fine .. the 4231 cam with the problems put indoors (garage) failed again .

is there anything else i can try?
 

beels

n3wb
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
14
Location
Texas
How does your camera pigtail look? Inspect the pins inside the camera connector for corrosion - with a magnifying glass.

I recently had this exact same issue, followed the same troubleshooting steps as you, and determined that the camera pigtail was damaged and/or corroded,
 

Nickg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
36
Location
Canada
How does your camera pigtail look? Inspect the pins inside the camera connector for corrosion - with a magnifying glass.

I recently had this exact same issue, followed the same troubleshooting steps as you, and determined that the camera pigtail was damaged and/or corroded,
What did you end up doing ?
 

Nickg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
36
Location
Canada
I replaced the camera.
Then later, I replaced the pigtail on the old camera and got it working. May deploy it elsewhere or keep as a spare.
did you just cut off the end and replace the female connector or is the pigtail complete with a connector to the board of the camera?
 

beels

n3wb
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
14
Location
Texas
did you just cut off the end and replace the female connector or is the pigtail complete with a connector to the board of the camera?
On my camera, the other end is connectorized and connects to a socket on the circuit board. You could also splice on a new connector, but that isn't what I did, because it seems kind of hack to me.
Earlier today, I posted details about what I did.

Does your pigtail have any damage or corrosion? There are other issues you could have with your camera such as a cmos failure or water intrusion.
 

Nickg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
36
Location
Canada
On my camera, the other end is connectorized and connects to a socket on the circuit board. You could also splice on a new connector, but that isn't what I did, because it seems kind of hack to me.
Earlier today, I posted details about what I did.

Does your pigtail have any damage or corrosion? There are other issues you could have with your camera such as a cmos failure or water intrusion.
no damage or corrosion to pigtail..

Interesting observation..the camera is getting power. I see the IR lights are on and the camera is warm. But no picture on nvr( can’t find network host error).

i removed the 5421 (port7j and replaced it with an extra 5231 that I had. I plugged it in port 8 and got two feeds(D7 and D8) showing the same picture.

i don’t understand..
 

Nickg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
36
Location
Canada
On my camera, the other end is connectorized and connects to a socket on the circuit board. You could also splice on a new connector, but that isn't what I did, because it seems kind of hack to me.
Earlier today, I posted details about what I did.

Does your pigtail have any damage or corrosion? There are other issues you could have with your camera such as a cmos failure or water intrusion.

i just read your info from your recent post of the problem you were having with the 5231 . Some really good info there . Thank you!
 
Top