Integrating LPR cams into my existing system

Video1

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Please bear with me. I'm a total newb at this. I have an existing 14 camera system with a NVR.

The existing cameras are 4 MP IP cams: LTS CMIP1142W-28 4MP IR Outdoor Turret IP Security Camera

The NVR is: 16 channel NVR so I have 2 open channels. This is a PoE NVR but I do not know if it is ONVIF compliant (I suspect it is not). I have an email in to a vendor to inquire. If it is not, I have no problem replacing it.

I'd like to add 2 ALPR cameras to my system, and maybe 2 overview cams as well. These cameras are to be located at the front of our lot, by the street. We have a bunch of trees out front onto which I could affix a housing for the cams with a band. We've had a string of robberies in our neighborhood with one house just four doors over having their garage broken into. Our existing cameras are just too far from the street to be of use. Fortunately the street is only wide enough for one car to pass in each direction. But it is pitch black at night since we have no streetlights.
width of road.jpg

Having read through a number of threads I have a lot of questions.

Would it be better to build a stand-alone PC instead of using a NVR? If so what kind of CPU and memory do I need to maintain a 60 FPS that folks are recommending to be able to capture license plates? I would think a Ryzen 7 2700x and up CPU should have enough horsepower.

Video card? GTX 1050 should do right?

How are the 16 camera feeds fed into the PC, with a network switch?