IPCT Introducing IPCT DDNS! Free DDNS service!

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,815
Reaction score
2,216
Location
New York
I'm happy to introduce my latest project to you all, IPCT DDNS! Most people don't have a dedicated IP address and would rather not pay for one or for a DDNS service, so I decided to build one for all IPCT users. It is free and always will be and you'll never be obligated to confirm it every month or anything like that. Just set it and forget it!

You can update your hostname viaBlue Iris Tools, an Asus router or by using the API wherever you want.
Code:
https://ipcamtalk.com/dyn?api=apikey
(Replace apikey with the API Key from the IPCT DDNS page)
You may also add &ip=ip to the URL to specify an IP to set. If omitted, the system will use the IP of where the request came from.

Blue Iris Tools (v1.3.2+) Integration:
Create a hostname on the IPCT DDNS page
upload_2019-2-22_22-16-51.png

After you create a hostname, copy the unique API Key from the IPCT DDNS page.
upload_2019-2-22_22-19-48.png

Paste the API Key into the DDNS / IP Management section of BIT. Enable it and you're done.
upload_2019-2-22_22-18-50.png

For Asus router integration please check this wiki article.


I hope some members will benefit from this new tool and as always post any questions.

Enjoy!
-Mike
 

john-ipvm

Known around here
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
324
Reaction score
525
Mike, any plans for a cloud / P2P type service? I ask because DDNS generally implies using port forwarding which is a security risk since the device is then open to public attacks. Of course, with cloud / P2P, one needs to trust the cloud / P2P provider but it does eliminate public attacks such as hacked many IP cameras in recent years. Any thoughts on this? Thanks.
 

Dasstrum

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
580
Reaction score
729
Location
Florida
Mike, any plans for a cloud / P2P type service? I ask because DDNS generally implies using port forwarding which is a security risk since the device is then open to public attacks. Of course, with cloud / P2P, one needs to trust the cloud / P2P provider but it does eliminate public attacks such as hacked many IP cameras in recent years. Any thoughts on this? Thanks.
I guarantee that 99% of the users of Blue Iris use port forwarding. This will be a huge benefit for those that aren't so paranoid about being hacked every second of the day and require AES-256 encryption for browsing their favorite Martha Stewart recipes.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,918
Reaction score
13,640
I guarantee that 99% of the users of Blue Iris use port forwarding. This will be a huge benefit for those that aren't so paranoid about being hacked every second of the day and require AES-256 encryption for browsing their favorite Martha Stewart recipes.
DDNS is needed for VPN as well. The risk of being hacked is very real.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,815
Reaction score
2,216
Location
New York
Mike, any plans for a cloud / P2P type service? I ask because DDNS generally implies using port forwarding which is a security risk since the device is then open to public attacks. Of course, with cloud / P2P, one needs to trust the cloud / P2P provider but it does eliminate public attacks such as hacked many IP cameras in recent years. Any thoughts on this? Thanks.
Most people don't have static IP addresses so rely on DDNS to be able to connect to their VPN or network in general, regardless of port forwarding. I have thought about cloud / P2P and will definitely visit it, I think it would be great to provide that service to members. I know I would feel much more comfortable using P2P if it wasn't through Hikvision or Dahua. I have another big project that I'm working on for IPCT first though :)

I guarantee that 99% of the users of Blue Iris use port forwarding. This will be a huge benefit for those that aren't so paranoid about being hacked every second of the day and require AES-256 encryption for browsing their favorite Martha Stewart recipes.
:rofl::lol: Please don't bring Martha into this, she's been through enough.

DDNS is needed for VPN as well. The risk of being hacked is very real.
+1.

For people who do port forward make sure your passwords are secure, your firmware is up to date and you don't forward any port under 1000. Either way, DDNS is needed by many, including me, and I got sick of paying for it ;)
:iloveipct:
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,918
Reaction score
13,640
Ngrok has an option for an additional password layer. This works when using a web browser but is not integrated in the blue iris mobile app.
 

58chev

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 30, 2017
Messages
300
Reaction score
137
Location
Etobi, Ontario
@Mike
Great service you are providing.

I currently use the one built into my ASUS router, but will keep this in mind if the need ever arises. :headbang:
 

griffths

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
83
Reaction score
64
Location
Chicago
Any thoughts about updating the DDNS section of BIT to show the host name as well? When you get older, the memory starts to fade away and it took me a while to figure out what my host name was or maybe my eyes are bad as well and I just cannot see it......
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,815
Reaction score
2,216
Location
New York
Any thoughts about updating the DDNS section of BIT to show the host name as well? When you get older, the memory starts to fade away and it took me a while to figure out what my host name was or maybe my eyes are bad as well and I just cannot see it......
Not really tbh, figured most users would name the ddns entry in BIT accordingly. Something I will look into, though :)
 

GeoffC

n3wb
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Location
Ontario
Do you have any instructions for how to configure this on a Hikvision NVR?
1605930249171.png

I followed the instructions to get my Asus router setup and have the "Registration successful" message, but the NVR only seems to provide fields "DYNDNS", "PeanutHull" and NO-IP DDNS types. I try to connect to my NVR from my browser using my ipctddns URL (with port number), but all I get is "The site can't be reached".
 

Mike A.

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
703
Reaction score
528
Do you have any instructions for how to configure this on a Hikvision NVR?

I followed the instructions to get my Asus router setup and have the "Registration successful" message, but the NVR only seems to provide fields "DYNDNS", "PeanutHull" and NO-IP DDNS types. I try to connect to my NVR from my browser using my ipctddns URL (with port number), but all I get is "The site can't be reached".
I don't know the Hikvision NVRs but you only need one device on your network to update the dynamic IP address. It then will point all in-coming traffic destined to that domain name to whatever IP address for the outside-facing gateway for your network (generally the router). From there, it's on you to pass it through in whatever way to whatever device/service inside your network.

If you have the Asus router doing that, then you don't need the NVR to do it as well.

If the Asus DDNS update is working properly, then you likely have some other issue in getting to the NVR on that domain name/IP address. Try using the external IP address : port number directly and see if you can get there. If not, then it's not the DDNS.
 
Last edited:

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
10,145
Reaction score
9,697
Location
Evansville, In. USA
I don't know the Hikvision NVRs but you only need one device on your network to update the dynamic IP address. It then will point all in-coming traffic destined to that domain name to whatever IP address for the outside-facing gateway for your network (generally the router). From there, it's on you to pass it through in whatever way to whatever device/service inside your network.

If you have the Asus router doing that, then you don't need the NVR to do it as well.

If the Asus DDNS update is working properly, then you likely have some other issue in getting to the NVR on that domain name/IP address. Try using the external IP address : port number directly and see if you can get there. If not, then it's not the DDNS.
Exactly
 
Top