IOS users

Discussion in 'iOS' started by TimK, Jul 31, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. TimK

    TimK n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    something strange is going one. I added a few users to my BI so I could set some limits on certain family members but for some reason they can not log on to the new account(s). I can log in using them just fine (via mobile app lan or wan) but they can not. none of the options are different between the accounts, just different usernames/passwords.
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,808
    if they entered the wrong password during setup, their ip's may be blocked..check webserver>advanced.
     
  3. TimK

    TimK n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like it will unblock in 60 mins... hope that does it.

    thanks!
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,808
    You csn manually unblock by deleting the blocked ips
     
  5. TimK

    TimK n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there any way to do this remotely?
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,835
    Likes Received:
    9,808
    No unless you use something like TeamViewer
     
  7. area651

    area651 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    USA
    Are YOU using Android though and THEY are using IOS? My recent experience might help if so. I set up the OpenVPN app on both my android phone and also on my wife's iphone. I installed Blueiris on both phones. On the Android in Blueiris, I have the LAN and the WAN ips set differently (as one would expect) and no problems connecting after I launch the VPN. I don't have port forwarding set up on my router btw. I'm using VPN to connect to BI. On my wife's iphone however, I had to set both the LAN and WAN ip addresses to that of the LAN ip and only then the wife's phone could connect through the VPN. Now that I think about it, could someone just only set the internal address in the BI app if they're going to vpn and it work? idk.

    Anyways, just set both fields to the LAN address on your iphone if using OpenVPN. With Android, it didn't matter (for me).
    HTH
     
  8. SteveN1

    SteveN1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Singapore
    I can confirm this. I just went through the same issue, and the iOS app seems to have a bug in the WAN setting where it must be local in order to access the server on the VPN.
     
    area651 likes this.
  9. jimbo123

    jimbo123 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Isn't the whole concept of a VPN 'to access internal services via their internal address' ? as the VPN client essentially puts your device onto the internal network ? At least that's how I've always thought of it. Happy to be corrected.

    Wonder if the BI client, in making its decision on whether you're on an internal or external network is not doing it the same way on the 2 device types,.. so maybe on Android it 'thinks' its on LAN by the way that OpenVPN maybe doing things,.. and hence this goes to the LAN address ? Dunno, just thinking out loud, while I'm waiting for something to finish. Curious to see what happens if you put some other arbitrary address in on the Android WAN address to see if it still works ?
     
  10. SteveN1

    SteveN1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Singapore
    I think it's just not checking. It should probably try the WAN interface of the VPN server first, and if that does not work try the internal address. Likely that's what the Android app does.
     
    area651 likes this.
  11. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    294
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Or it might be determining if it’s WAN connected but different means in IOS?
     
  12. mikeynags

    mikeynags Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    CT - the tax you to death state
    It sounds like it is related to how OpenVPN on iOS treats the "U-turn" policy for NAT. I use the iOS client with the Global Protect VPN and I don't have these issues on iOS. The LAN settings are local and the WAN settings are set to the external FQDN and it works fine. Weird problem with only iOS on OpenVPN.
     
    area651 likes this.
  13. SteveN1

    SteveN1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Singapore
    Good working theory. I am using OpenVPN as well.
     
  14. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    On my android phone using OpenVPN, in the blue iris app, I do not have the WAN address specified, It is blank.
     
  15. SteveN1

    SteveN1 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Singapore
    Did you get the settings from the Blue Iris server, or put them in manually? I got my from the server, which did automagically pick up the WAN address.
     
    area651 likes this.
  16. mikeynags

    mikeynags Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    CT - the tax you to death state
    If you aren't opening ports, the WAN address is pointless. Always use the local address. The VPN "drops" you on your local network so, the need for WAN settings without doing port forwarding is irrelevant.
     
  17. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    I use a OpenVPN on my ASUS router. I connect to the VPN which puts me on the local network, then I use the local IP address of the BI server and the port for the BI webserver example: Http://192.168.1.234:8081
    I do not open any ports on the router except for the OpenVPN port, which stops at the router, it is not forwarded.