IP camera connection problems

IP cam

n3wb
Reaction score
I bought an unbranded wired PTZ 10 x optical zoom IP camera on eBay. I set it up to use a static IP address on both the camera and the router, and it worked ok to start with on all mobile phones, notepad, laptop and desktop PC, when used occasionally. But having installed it permanently it then started to lose video feed on all android aps. It then also disappeared from the Firefox display. Although I could restart the camera and see the image, it was soon lost again. When it crashes, sometimes it changes IP address. Occasionally when you pan tilt it stalls and shows a menu or continues to move without sending further commands. The web page crashes most times when you try to change any settings, and sometimes does not respond at all. However you can still ping the camera at whatever IP address it is using.

I would really appreciate any help with this; I am relatively new to setting up of IP camera.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Version:V6.04.02-CGBO24200-141119
Product info:TI-LC13-10X series

Last edited by a moderator:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I think the best advice, in my opinion, would be to return the (unspecified) device for a full refund as it sounds like it's 'not fit for purpose'.
I doubt very much that any setup choices you make would give variable and erratic symptoms as you have described.
This is on the assumption that you are powering it correctly, and that you have a solid and reliable wired network connection to it, ie not using WiFi or similar option.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
take it down from where you installed it, then bench test it and see if the problems persist.. sounds like its got some damaged cabling or the cable run is too long and the voltage drop is too great. If you made your ethernet cable run a tester on it, Ive seen problems just like this with a badly crimped ethernet cable.