IPC-HFW5231E-Z as weather cam (very exposed location)

GFM

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
This cam seems like a good contender to replace the Foscam Fi9804W I have been using for a few years. maybe the bullet style is better than the turret as well for weather-proofing? Looking for really good low light characteristics, but not really a security oriented installation. The camera will be located on a high metal structure (grain silo), and looking over a valley. I'll attach a current image from the Foscam.
Has anyone had issues with the camera, performance, etc?

Cam8.20180120_120549.jpg

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
This cam seems like a good contender to replace the Foscam Fi9804W I have been using for a few years. maybe the bullet style is better than the turret as well for weather-proofing? Looking for really good low light characteristics, but not really a security oriented installation. The camera will be located on a high metal structure (grain silo), and looking over a valley. I'll attach a current image from the Foscam.
Has anyone had issues with the camera, performance, etc?

View attachment 25812
weather resistance is the same for both..turrets are a better design but the bullet has stronger ir..

Fastb

Known around here
Reaction score
considering IR won't illuminate that valley, the top consideration might be spiders. Bullets fare worse than turrets re: IR attracting spiders. Getting to the top of a grain silo to clean webs doesn't sound like fun.
OTOH, you could disable IR on either cam, since IR won't help with lighting up the valley.
OTOH, You probably won't use IVS or MD to trigger an "event", so false alarms due to spiders & webs may not be as big consideration as it is in other applications...

You didn't mention the low temps the cam might experience there in Central Canada. Check the specs for the cams to see if it's suitable....

Last edited:

GFM

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score