Is Blue Iris that much better than iVMS-4200?

ingeborgdot

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I am new to all of this and have learned a lot in a short period of time. There is a ton left to learn, I understand that. I am trying to find the best possible software to go with my cameras but don't want to spend too much on my software either, if I don't have to. When I was in Blue Iris's website I saw a price that said $59 annually. Do you have to pay for BI every year or is that for support or am I dreaming?
Can someone tell me a short reason why BI is the way to go? Thanks.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I am new to all of this and have learned a lot in a short period of time. There is a ton left to learn, I understand that. I am trying to find the best possible software to go with my cameras but don't want to spend too much on my software either, if I don't have to. When I was in Blue Iris's website I saw a price that said $59 annually. Do you have to pay for BI every year or is that for support or am I dreaming?
Can someone tell me a short reason why BI is the way to go? Thanks.
it is..its not 59 annually, its a one time fee....

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
fenderman, I take it you use BI. In a sentence, what makes it better?
I use it in over 20 instances...for one, it can handle more than just hikvision cameras...superior mobile app, scheduling, motion detection, alerts...60 dollars is a joke when most vms charge a per camera license fee of 50-150.

ingeborgdot

Pulling my weight
Reaction score