Is CAT 5 OK for 4K camera system?

Discussion in 'Camera Installation Questions' started by nbstl68, May 17, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. nbstl68

    nbstl68 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    184
    A friend of mine has gotten a quote to install a security system at his lake house. I believe some of the cameras are to be 4K and some 4Mps cameras. I do not have all the details yet but part of the quote says "install Outdoor cat5 cable" (not sure if outdoor rated is needed either...this should mostly be run through attic and eves.)
    Will 4k cameras work OK on CAT 5 or would they really need CAT6 or better?

    Also, the NVR is shown only as: "NVR-P 8ch 80 mbps 8xpoe 4k/1080 audio supported".

    Is 80 mbps anywhere near enough to handle a couple of 4K cameras? I assume that spec is per channel but again, not sure just yet.
     
  2. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,609
    Likes Received:
    2,505
    Hi @nbstl68

    NO DO NOT USE CAT5... that is a very old standard... go CAT5e or better CAT6 with good copper wires of AWG 23 or 24
     
  3. Nick70068

    Nick70068 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Fairhope, Al
    If it is a new installation then I would go with CAT6 or 5e.

    CAT5 100Mbps with max bandwidth of 100Mhz
    CAT5e 1Gbps with max bandwidth of 100Mhz
    CAT6 1Gbps with max bandwidth of 250Mhz


    But if you have a box of CAT laying around it will suffice, as you can see a 4K camera uses only 16% of the cable capacity.
    A 1080P camera take needs about 5 Mbps when recording at 30 FPS.
    A 4MP camera take needs about 6 Mbps when recording at 20 FPS.
    A 4K camera take needs about 16 Mbps when recording at 24 FPS
     
    petexa, mat200 and nbstl68 like this.
  4. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    294
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Although not ideal if the cable runs are only to connect cams then it shouldn’t be a problem as current cams are all 100mbs. Reason people advise 5e or 6 is for future proofing.

    My house has cat5e, my cctv fitter is going to run cat5e for the cams and I personally don’t have any issues with that.
     
    mat200 likes this.
  5. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,772
    Likes Received:
    5,850
    The chance they're actually planning to use "cat5" is very small (but, if true, would be a huge red flag). Cat5e and cat6 are much more common. Chances are they just used "cat5" a as a generic term for network cable. So based on this you really have no idea what cable they use. I could be some copper-clad aluminum (CCA) garbage they bought because it was cheap. Or it could be quality cat5e/cat6 with pure copper wire.
     
    JNDATHP, mat200 and alastairstevenson like this.
  6. nbstl68

    nbstl68 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    184
    Exactly. The quote just says, "CAT5". I've suggested he ask the guy just that and if it is solid copper or CCA. If it is CAT5 my suspicion is the guy is selling some preset kit, (like the Costco\Sam's club junk). I told him he needs clarification. thanks
     
    mat200 likes this.
  7. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,609
    Likes Received:
    2,505
    Hi @nbstl68

    Whenever you get a quote - make certain it is properly spec'ed. It should say Cat5e - and yes, I really doubt anyone is still installing cat5 - but then again, I recall contractors attempting to put in cat3 when they should have been installing cat5..
     
    JNDATHP and looney2ns like this.