Is this a good buy

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by wally3218, Apr 9, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. wally3218

    wally3218 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,375
    Likes Received:
    8,735
  3. DLONG2

    DLONG2 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    71
    I am happy with an eBay purchase of my HP EliteDesk 800 G2 SFF i7-6700 with 8 GB DDR4 RAM. I see some with either no OS or Win8 going for about $190.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    29,375
    Likes Received:
    8,735
    an i7-6700 for 190 is a killer deal.
     
    mat200, Walrus and looney2ns like this.
  5. DLONG2

    DLONG2 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    71
    mat200 likes this.
  6. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The price is in AUD so about 130 US so I’d say in the middle.

    That 190 deal really is a killer deal. I’ve been looking and the most in the UK are around £200 for an i5-6500 and some only have 4gb ram and no SSD.
     
  7. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
    I just bought a Optiplex i7-4770, 8GB Ram and windows 10 for $210 .... You can buy a Sandisk 128SSD for $20 on amazon and have a MUCH better setup then what you listed.

    Here is what I just bought: Dell Optiplex 9020 SFF i7-4770 3.4GHz 8GB RAM 500 GB HDD Windows 10 Home | eBay
     
  8. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
    On a side note... Dell Optiplex only have ONE bay to fit a 3.5" drive (or a 2.5 SSD with a 3.5 adapter)... Also... the power supply only has ONE SATA 15-pin for power. If you are going to run a SSD AND a spinner drive such as a Western Digital Purple you must buy a SATA splitter like this: SATA Power 15-pin Y-Splitter Cable Adapter Male to Female for HDD Hard Drive 656649788436 | eBay

    I ended up double sided taping my SSD inside the case to get it to work with my spinner drive too.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2019
    awsum140 and IAmATeaf like this.
  9. tldees

    tldees n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brunswick, Georgia
    You are so right! I re-purpose desktops, laptops, for folks needing them for dedicated use, specifically alarm/surveillance systems. It just makes good sense to bring old machines back to life. As you mention the problem with a Dell Optiplex, the case is just to small for surveillance use. Hard drive space and cooling is the issue. The machine is running 24/7 with two maybe three drives and couple fans, it needs space to breath and mount the drives. Your example of the power supply issue is spot-on, you need at least three sata pin outs from that PS. BTW, I've started using M-sata drives for the os, they are tiny compared to ssd's, combine it with a 6 or 8 tb drive, makes a nice machine. A desktop case is easy to work with, easy to up-grade, its all plug-n-play. If you can swap ram sticks you can build a desk-top.
     
  10. Serodgers

    Serodgers n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    PC FL
    I recently purchased a Optiplex 7040 with a single 3.5" bay an single SATA power connector as you describe. I got on Amazon and purchased a 9.5mm DVD caddy. This allows you to remove the slim DVD drive and put a 2.5" drive in it place. They sell them for $8.99 or less and come in both 9.5 and 12.7mm sizes which seems to be the two standard sizes for slim profile optical drives.

    It uses the standard DVD power and SATA cables. 4TB purple for the 3.5 and a 500gig WD Blue SSD I already had is the OS/BI drive. Of course could have purchased M.2 SSD but already had a good SSD in 2.5" Setup works great for a SFF Optiplex.
     
    Dasstrum likes this.
  11. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just to add this thread, I just purchased a HP 600 G2 desktop for £110, comes with an i5-6500 cpu but only 4gb of ram so I’ll have to see about upgrading the ram, anybody in the uk got some they can throw my way

    Not that bad a deal but it did take a lot of looking and messaging on eBay, Facebook and gumtree. I wasn’t in a hurry as I already had an i5-2500 desktop which I was originally planning on using so took my time. Will move the SSD and 2 2tb drives over when i have he new desktop in my hands.
     
  12. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
    NICE!!!! I didn't even know they made these! Thank you for sharing
     
  13. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Not wishing to blow my own trumpet, couldn’t even if I tried due to a bad back I’ve now moved the drives across to the HP 600 G2 and I have to say I’m impressed. It has 4 ram slots, 2 3.5” drive bay slots and a 2.5” bay slot as well. These are in addition to the slim laptop type dvd drive that it also has and it has SATA power connectors for all these bays.

    All the bays are screwless which may seem like a good thing but it means that you need special screws/fixings so I’ve had to go through my collection of pc screws to fit the 2nd hard drive. I reused the fixings from the hard drive it came with for the 1st and simply fixed the SSD to the 2.5” drive cage using 2 screws, the SSD is so light that it’s not going to go anywhere.

    Only real minus is that it only has 3 SATA ports but I was never going to leave the dvd drive powered anyway so no great loss.

    My old desktop had a pci network card and this won’t fit in the HP so I need to order a new network card.
     
    Sphinxicus likes this.
  14. DLONG2

    DLONG2 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    71
    The used HP EliteDesk 800 G2 SFF I bought on eBay was missing the extra HDD mounting screws, which are proprietary and I heard cost a lot to order from HP. But back on eBay there's sellers offering a set for a dollar each.
     
  15. IAmATeaf

    IAmATeaf Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it does use proprietary mounting screws and they look to be different for the 2nd HDD and the smaller 2.5” drive but where there’s a will there will always be a way so having a variety of screws gathered over the years helped.