Looking for a NOOB friendly OpenVPN VLAN supported router

Joined
Oct 29, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Picked up some cameras, now time to work on the network. I will be purchasing a new router and am looking for advice on the right model. I'm looking to support VPN and also VLANs to segregate my cameras from the rest of the network. I would like to be able to use a UI and not have to use a CLI for setup and monitoring. From all of the sound advice on this forum, it sounds like Asus is the way to go for my experience level, but I'm not sure if they support VLANs for example the AC1900 listed in the CliffNotes on the Wiki makes no mention of VLAN capabilities in the user manual. Searching for other VLAN setup on other Asus routers show similar results. Would I need to flash the router with a different system to be able to have it support VLANs? New to networking setup so any advice to learn more about VLANs would also be much appreciated. So whats your recommendation for a NOOB friendly OpenVPN supporting, VLAN capable, UI accessible router? Thanks!
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
2,269
Reaction score
1,301
Location
Houston Tx
All New ASUS routers support OpenVPN. I have an old RT-AC66U_B1, it works great. The main difference in ASUS routers is the WIFI support.

Setting up OpenVPN on an ASUS router is very simple.

I do not us a VLAN. I use Blue Iris with a separate NIC to physically separate the cameras from my home network.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Thanks @SouthernYankee, I'll take a look at that as an option. I like the idea of physically separating the two networks so less chance of access. So instead of the first topology below I would need the second...complicates things as I was hoping to not have to run any additional lines to my garage.

Single NIC
network.png
Separate BlueIris NIC
network_nic.png
I think it may be good to have VLAN support for some other uses as well. I'm still trying to learn the interplay of the router or the managed switch in VLAN setup. Anyone have any good primers to share? I would prefer an unmanged switch if I can setup VLANs just through the router but am unclear if that is possible or if it needs to be managed via the switch.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
2,269
Reaction score
1,301
Location
Houston Tx
excellence diagrams.

The reason for the two NIC approach is that from a technology it is simple to implement and very easy to understand. Running the wires is a PIA.
 

civic17

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
138
Reaction score
41
Location
Canada
Asus routers you can have VLAN suport running Merlin firmware with scripts if you are comfortable with that. Some editing of the codes will be required. if you prefer using GUI then best to get a VLAN capable router and switch. Have a look at Ubiquiti products.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Thanks @civic17, I found some info on a pfSense router/firewall and think I may pick up a SG-1100. Any reason to avoid that router or choose a ubiquiti product over that? Currently looking at vlan capable switches.
 

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
4,408
Reaction score
3,082
Location
Megatroplis, USA
Asus RT-AC68U! I have seven and they're (7) all good. Caution get the RT-AC68U model and not the T-Mobile units which are often advertised incorrectly as the RT-AC68U...they're not. Also, I've had trouble uploading firmware to the RT-AC68R. When purchasing the RT-AC68U, try to get a unit with a "hardware revision" greater than "A1".
 

civic17

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
138
Reaction score
41
Location
Canada
SG-1100 is good. I was debating on that one but went Ubiquiti EdgeRouterX instead cus it was cheaper. Both will be able to do what you need to do.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Usa
Thanks for the input all. So my plan is to get a SG-1100 router/firewall running pfSense. I will be adding an additional NIC to my Blue Iris PC and have one NIC connected to the camera LAN and the other connected to my secured LAN. On the secured LAN side I will be getting a Ubiquiti UniFi POE Switch for VLAN setup for the rest of my network.

network.png
 
Top