Looking to build a IP based camera system for home.

JBritt1234

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

So, we had a break-in a few months back and i'm trying to get my security shored up. Even better, I actually received a call from the thieves a couple days ago, and they flat out said that they are coming back. So... Time to get on it...

For the short term, I went to Best Buy and bought some Arlo cams. OK for what they are I guess, but no, not gonna work.

I'm pretty technical, I work in IT. Getting a dedicated PC together and getting BI going, I don't see a problem. I'm just trying to sort through a TON of info out there, and lots of great stuff here on ipcamtalk.com. I just have a pretty big issue now, and i'm working against the return window for the Arlo stuff as I want to leave it up for now.

I was looking at your typical $600 systems from Sams, etc. They seem pretty feature-less. I had a local security camera place come out, and they would just not really answer any questions on their hardware. They want $1000 for labor, which I can swallow, but another $2500 for hardware they won't even fully disclose on.

I will need 7 cameras, best I can tell. I have a screen shot of what I have covered so far from the Arlo system. Just to give you a idea. I would like to add another camera that would cover my driveway, seen partly from the camera labeled Front Door.arlo.JPG