Motion Detection: Benefits on Camera vs in BI?

ToadRage

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I've been running BI for several years now and have started slowly adding more cameras to my setup. I'm thinking about adding a few Dahua starlight models based on everyone's high recommendations here. I would ideally like to setup these new cameras for full time recording as well as motion detection for alerts.

My questions are:

Is there an advantage to configuring motion detection on the camera itself instead of in Blue Iris?
Will this reduce the overhead of my BI server?
Can BI be notified from the camera if motion is detected and still fire motion events (If so, does ONVIF have something to do with this)?

Thanks guys!

marklyn

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Toad, Personally, for me, I use BI motion detect/alerts, etc., over the camera for 2 reasons. 1) Learning and tweaking motion/alerts with Blue Iris is common to all cameras/models so once you get the hang of tweaking everything with BI, it's one stop shopping for all of your configuration and tweaking efforts, 2)From what I've read, for most cameras, BI offers at least as good or better in many mid-lower range cameras those motion/alert/trigger abilities. With that being said, I do still slap a 64GB SD Card in my cameras and set up some basic motion detection on them. This is in the event that something happened inside the house that compromised my file server (theft, fire) and I'd at least have a few days video on each of the outdoor cams.
The only thing I know of to reduce overhead on the BI Server is if your computer is new enough to turn on Intel HD hardware acceleration (Yes (H.264) under Cameras tab. When I turned on mine, my CPU usage went from 80-90% down to around 40-45% average. Big CPU savings for me with 11 cameras.