My Dodgy PC...

Rhodesy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
150
Reaction score
20
Anyone got any ideas on this.

My CCTV PC, used almost exclusively for BI CCTV is way too high on CPU.
It has an I7-6700 processor and 16GB Memory.

I've attached an image to show the problem, BI is using 58% CPU, it goes upto 99%.
But I'm pretty sure BI is not the problem.

If you look at my task manager screenshot, second row down, even the "windows search" facility is using 10.7% and I've finished searching for task manager already.

I have followed every part of the BI setup guide on IPCamTalk which should lower CPU strain.

I have played with my saving of BI files so as not to strain the system, but I still have problems.

What on earth is going on?

20210223_020336.jpg20210223_021523.jpg
 

Attachments

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
2,429
Location
USA
Show the Camera status - it is about FPS, bitrate, resolution, etc. Are you recording direct-to-disc? Clip storage is immaterial to your issue as is the Task Manager screenshot.

Are you using the substream option? I suspect not or you have other issues going on.
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
2,429
Location
USA
Then you are not using all the optimizations as shown in the wiki...follow the substream option and watch the CPU drop below 10%...

 

Rhodesy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
150
Reaction score
20
You are probably correct, I shall have another look, but I set this system up years ago which is why I have forgotten. It is not laziness I assure you.
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
2,429
Location
USA
You are probably correct, I shall have another look, but I set this system up years ago which is why I have forgotten. It is not laziness I assure you.
Substream option only came into play 6-8 months ago, so if it has been years, that would be why as a lot has changed!
 

Rhodesy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
150
Reaction score
20
Ah, it was release 5.2.7 version and I'm running 5.2.6.5

That may be why I don't know it.

I love BI, but since I found it, I have bought 3 systems and it gets expensive keeping topping up latest software, so I haven't got the latest version unfortunately.

20210223_032032.jpg20210223_032254.jpg
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
2,429
Location
USA
You can still update up to any update up to your expiration date - so you are good to go!
 

Rhodesy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
150
Reaction score
20
You can still update up to any update up to your expiration date - so you are good to go!
Thank you again. I have managed to obtain 5.2.7 and the first part of sub stream asks you to ensure direct to disk recording is on. It wasn't for 2 cameras.
This has already lowered CPU usage.

It is very late and I'll have to continue this another day now but I really appreciate you help.
Thank you.

Screenshot_20210223-034520_Blue Iris.jpg
 

Rhodesy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
150
Reaction score
20
Well thank you so much @wittaj @SouthernYankee my CPU and RAM are normal enough now.

As a little tip for anyone reading in future, whilst setting up Sub Stream, I had 4 cameras to deal with.

2 cameras worked with sub stream straight away and 2 did not.
Simpke fix was to delete the 2 that did not work and re-install them. Took just a few minutes and now all 4 are working with sub stream as shown below.

Late yesterday I posted a image of low CPU & RAM usage, this didn't last, it was temporary and was back up to 99% today.

With sub-stream on, these details I hope will be constant.

20210223_212224.jpgScreenshot_20210223-213154_Blue Iris.jpg
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
2,425
Reaction score
2,429
Location
USA
You can also lower the bitrate of the substream. Possibly the FPS too. I am on an older machine and way more than 4 cameras and my CPU runs 10%
 

Rhodesy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
150
Reaction score
20
Thanks @wittaj I will consider this if I add more cameras, I have been thinking of using some old 2MP starlights since they're just on a shelf. Meanwhile, I think I will leave the FPS and bitrates. It is a dedicated system and I might as well have the best I can get footage wise.
 
Top