Need to upgrade computer and graphics

Reaction score
Hi All,
Looking to update my BI computer and graphics adapter and display.

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination anymore, but have had some sw and hw background from
my dinosaur era.

I have been a BI user for a few years and am now running the 64 bit version. My Intel 2020M 2.4GHz with 4GB
and Win8.1 is just not able to perform with the load of cameras and supporting equipment I have had to
put on it and it looks like I will have to add more in the near future.

I have a mix of several cameras, some better than others, but am currently just getting Hikvision. They
seem to be the best buy for the buck at the moment. I also have Ubiquiti Nanostation 5 and Nanostation M5
links to cameras as well as a number of switches as my cameras are spread over a considerable distance to
locations where power is available and line of sight is an option. I also have some Netgear devices for areas
line of sight is unavailable.

Most of my cameras are outdoors, much in low light conditions.

My switches are a mix of T100 and T1000's. I am trying to replace the 100's with quality 1000's as I am
able, but they seem to do the job well enough.

VisionNet DSL M505N Modem/Router, Netgear N150 Router(2), NetgearWiFi Extender(2), Digital Loggers Power Switchbox

Cameras - Loftek BNexus/Sntnl MJPEG (3), Logitech 700E Camera (5), FOSCAM F1890, Loftek Nexus 543,
ESC CMS HiRez Camera, Hikvision PX-IPIR203 with several lens sizes (6).

I think my camera count is around 17 and I expect I will add another dozen or so with supporting equipment
as time and money allows.

fendermen recommended a dell 7020/9020 i7 haswell optiplex to sahted with the caveat that 8GB would be
enough. Would you recommend the same for my situation?

Suggestions and/or comments would be most welcome.

Thanks!

valleyforge (I don't live there, but somewhere very much like it).