New Guy Looking For a Little Advice

Shafenator

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey Everyone, name is Ben and I am looking to start a POE camera project to protect my home with the rise of suspicious activity around the neighborhood. I also live on a golf course and occasionally get the drunken idiots driving their carts in my yard.

I've been browsing the last couple weeks on this forum to figure out what I want to buy and decided to join. I am a Network Admin but I haven't played around to much with camera systems so I am hoping to learn a lot here.

I checked out the cliff notes I and I briefly talked to Andy from Empire Technology about Dahua equipment. I see a lot of members like these cameras over Hikvision which I was originally looking to purchase.

To start I am looking to purchase an 8 port POE NVR and 1 single mini dome camera for the front door and will slowly expand from there. I most likely will max out at 6 or 7 cameras.

I think I am pretty dead set on the Dahua IPC-HDBW4231F-AS for the front door and I am going to mount it underneath the vinyl soffit and route the cables through the attic and then into my home office. I will probably buy the junction box just to be safe. Ignore the front lights in the night picture, I will have to do something about that as I am sure its going to cause glare.

I am however a little undecided on the NVR. The two I am trying decide between is the Dahua NVR5208-8P-4KS2 and the Hikvision DS-7608NI-I2/8P.

I assume it wouldn't be any issue running the Dahua camera with a Hivision NVR correct? I do see the camera uses H.265&H.264 encoding and the Hikvision NVR appears to support this. Are there any drawbacks between the 2 devices that I need to consider? The Hikvision NVR will save me about $50 so I am not too terribly concerned with that.

I appreciate any guidance/info and I am happy I joined the forum!

Attachments

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score