New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Maybe... But you may not always remember to do this and at times, like what has happened to me, you may not have a choice with the doorbell resetting it’s wifi settings on its own. But yeah, downgrading back to the original brand’s firmware would help avoid having to go through this song and dance. That being said... There is always risk of bricking your device when you update firmware... Especially over wifi so this is probably not a step I would recommend. I would rather login to the doorbell’s SSID and manually update the wifi settings.
Thank you for helping me understand this. I am working on implementing all of this in the 101 but my problem with all of this is there are different scenarios (some problems and some not) that is making it hard for me to properly add this to the 101. But with all of these scenarios your solution/fix works for them all.

To list a few:
In your case your Doorbell kept losing it's WiFi connection (problem)
Someone Resets their Doorbell having a different brand firmware (problem)
For myself I want to Reset my Doorbell so I can sell it (Rare but not a problem)

I am sure there are more scenarios.

On my LaView, I will be switching back to LaView's firmware, removing the device in my Apps and Resetting...Did I miss anything?

So I like your last two sentences. I too have feared a WiFi hiccup during the upgrading firmware process. What if someone's signal is low. Wish we could figure out a better way (On SD Card) But thinking about it, most of our IoT devices are WiFi connected and update firmware all the time, WeMo, Google minis, Lifx, etc. So maybe I am over thinking it.
 

Seebes

n3wb
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Location
US
Thanks everyone for this thread. Really great stuff. I just got my EZVIZ installed today. It has the 190304 firmware on it and I was able to get it working with Google home and viewing on the hub. I did disable image encryption. Aside from that I just added EZVIZ to the services and followed the standard prompts.
I'm going to upgrade the firmware to 191211 soon and will post back if it doesn't work.
I do wanna ask what is the benefit of using ONVIF with BI vs setting it up with RTSP in BI?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Thanks everyone for this thread. Really great stuff. I just got my EZVIZ installed today. It has the 190304 firmware on it and I was able to get it working with Google home and viewing on the hub. I did disable image encryption. Aside from that I just added EZVIZ to the services and followed the standard prompts.
I'm going to upgrade the firmware to 191211 soon and will post back if it doesn't work.
I do wanna ask what is the benefit of using ONVIF with BI vs setting it up with RTSP in BI?
I will let some else answer your ONVIF question. But I want to give you a warning about 190304 build, Do Not upgrade to LaView or Nelly's firmware until you upgrade (in your App) to the latest 191211 build. Since 191211 is So New, it just came out this Month, and we do not know if there could be a problem changing firmware to LaView or Nelly's, I would hold off until we get some confirmations that it works from the new build.
 

Seebes

n3wb
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Location
US
I will let some else answer your ONVIF question. But I want to give you a warning about 190304 build, Do Not upgrade to LaView or Nelly's firmware until you upgrade (in your App) to the latest 191211 build. Since 191211 is So New, it just came out this Month, and we do not know if there could be a problem changing firmware to LaView or Nelly's, I would hold off until we get some confirmations that it works from the new build.
I have read that in some of your other posts. I appreciate the warning. I'm gonna just go to 191211 and try the RTSP paths in BI and see how that goes.
 

alexdelprete

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
411
Reaction score
635
Location
Rome, Italy
Great thread. Really long and with lots of info. Thanks for the 101 @David L .

I have an EZVIZ DB1 to REPLACE My old video-intercom that used an AC/DC transformer (28VDC, 15W) installed near the gate at the entrance (doorbel is for the gate, not the house door). I bought a DIN rail transformer for continuous service (Primary: 230VAC - Secondary: 12-24VAC 40VA). Reading the thread I found out that the DB1 supports DC, while on datasheet there was no mention. Could have saved €30 if I waited to read everything. The DB1 will be installed really close to where the current DC transformer is, so I guess that it would've worked.

My issue is that I wanted to replace my intercom system, uninstalling the old unit (outside and inside monitor), without using an internal chime, but using Amazon Echo devices installed in every room to notify when someone rang the new doorbell. I thought the EZVIZ Alexa skill would support this, but I can only tell Alexa to SHOW the video of the cam (and it is working fine with latest fw Build 191211. It doesn't wake up the Echo devices to notify the event. So I'm really disappointed about the missing feature. Is there any way to make this work, through other software?

I'm also using a Synology DS1812+ to record everything using the integrated surveillance software, it works perfectly, event though without ONVIF support the config is really basic, but it fits the need. One thing you lose without ONVIF is the possibility of using the camera's internal motion detection feature, instead of the VideoSurveillance software integrated one (I tried this using Nelly's firmware, integration was perfect with more config features, I recommend Nelly's fw over Laview for EZVIZ DB1 owners, less upgrade/downgrade issues). Even though the VS software on the NAS lets you fine-tune the detection zone with the grid approach, and it works fine.

On my mobile I'm using both EZVIZ app and Synology DS Mobile app (the videosurveillance sw client) and I get notifies at every motion detection event by both apps. I could uninstall EZVIZ app, but I need it to answer when someone rings. Too bad it can't be done with the DS Mobile. For configuration I'm using only Hikvison's Config Tool.

So now I have to find a way to let my Echo devices wake up and notify me when someone's at the gate and rings the doorbell and I can uninstall my old videointercom. I also need to integrate a feature to open the gate (right now the old intercom uses a 12V relay) I found a sonoff external button that has an integrated relay and integrates with Alexa. So I will then want to answer the doorbell via app and then instruct Alexa to open the gate, and I will also have a manual button outside in case internet connection is down.

I thought to share my experience like many kind people did here (I learned a lot from everybody, thanks) so newcomers could have more information to digest. :)

Thanks in advance for every suggestion you could give me about solving my issues and improving my installation.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Great thread. Really long and with lots of info. Thanks for the 101 @David L .
This Thread is Huge, So, so much valuable information here. The 101 is pretty basic, written by a pretty basic guy :) Kinda like showing someone how to drive but it stops there, they go on to win the Le Mans (Just watched Ford vs Ferrari last night :)) I continue to enjoy reading what several here, like yourself, has done to implement this Doorbell into their world.

I have an EZVIZ DB1 to REPLACE My old video-intercom that used an AC/DC transformer (28VDC, 15W) installed near the gate at the entrance (doorbel is for the gate, not the house door). I bought a DIN rail transformer for continuous service (Primary: 230VAC - Secondary: 12-24VAC 40VA). Reading the thread I found out that the DB1 supports DC, while on datasheet there was no mention. Could have saved €30 if I waited to read everything. The DB1 will be installed really close to where the current DC transformer is, so I guess that it would've worked.
Yeah, I too read the messages about DC vs AC, seems distance comes in to play. If you do end up putting your Doorbell on the DC Trans., let us know. Might be good to add this to the 101 with a statement about the short distance needed to use DC, thanks.

My issue is that I wanted to replace my intercom system, uninstalling the old unit (outside and inside monitor), without using an internal chime, but using Amazon Echo devices installed in every room to notify when someone rang the new doorbell. I thought the EZVIZ Alexa skill would support this, but I can only tell Alexa to SHOW the video of the cam (and it is working fine with latest fw Build 191211. It doesn't wake up the Echo devices to notify the event. So I'm really disappointed about the missing feature. Is there any way to make this work, through other software?
I know several here with home automation setups use either:
OTHER SOFTWARE TO CONSIDER:
Monocle (Alexa)
MotionEye Wiki , MotionEyeOS, MotionEye Android (No Audio - Pilot04)

I have no experience with any of the above but it may be your answer/fix, you may want to do a search in this thread for the above and reach out to those who are using these solutions.

I'm also using a Synology DS1812+ to record everything using the integrated surveillance software, it works perfectly, event though without ONVIF support the config is really basic, but it fits the need. One thing you lose without ONVIF is the possibility of using the camera's internal motion detection feature, instead of the VideoSurveillance software integrated one (I tried this using Nelly's firmware, integration was perfect with more config features, I recommend Nelly's fw over Laview for EZVIZ DB1 owners, less upgrade/downgrade issues). Even though the VS software on the NAS lets you fine-tune the detection zone with the grid approach, and it works fine.
Thank you for the ONVIF info. I plan on playing with the differences in Blue Iris (ONVIF / No ONVIF) one day. I do have a question, did you upgrade to Nelly's and/or LaView via the EZVIZ 191211 firmware?

Thank you for sharing...
 

Attachments

Seebes

n3wb
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Location
US
I have read that in some of your other posts. I appreciate the warning. I'm gonna just go to 191211 and try the RTSP paths in BI and see how that goes.
Just updated to 191211 and Google home hub still shows the camera when I say show me the front door...so that's cool.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Just updated to 191211 and Google home hub still shows the camera when I say show me the front door...so that's cool.
Excellent. Glad EZVIZ continued Google support in their latest firmware...Thank You
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
889
Reaction score
261
Location
Jersey Shore
With this awesome weather I finally got around to installing my DB1. Everything went fine yesterday, PIR worked great, video worked great, audio not so great, very choppy missing first word each way.
Today is a different story, PIR notification works but won't playback video, "You have reached the maximum number of connections to device". Anyone see this before and have a solution?
 

Attachments

aralos1999

n3wb
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
9
Reaction score
10
With this awesome weather I finally got around to installing my DB1. Everything went fine yesterday, PIR worked great, video worked great, audio not so great, very choppy missing first word each way.
Today is a different story, PIR notification works but won't playback video, "You have reached the maximum number of connections to device". Anyone see this before and have a solution?
Try rebooting your phone and re-launch the ezviz mobile app.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
With this awesome weather I finally got around to installing my DB1. Everything went fine yesterday, PIR worked great, video worked great, audio not so great, very choppy missing first word each way.
Today is a different story, PIR notification works but won't playback video, "You have reached the maximum number of connections to device". Anyone see this before and have a solution?
I like the American flags in your Wreath. Nice install...
I have not seen your message before but I have a dumb question, how many connections do you have connected to the DB (phones, Blue Iris, PC Software like VLC or Batch Config. Tool, etc.)? What firmware version are you running, which App?
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
889
Reaction score
261
Location
Jersey Shore
Try rebooting your phone and re-launch the ezviz mobile app.
Power cycled the phone but no help.

I like the American flags in your Wreath. Nice install...
I have not seen your message before but I have a dumb question, how many connections do you have connected to the DB (phones, Blue Iris, PC Software like VLC or Batch Config. Tool, etc.)? What firmware version are you running, which App?
Thanks, I have it connected to BI and one iPhone via the Ezviz app. It worked fine yesterday while I was on wifi but today when I was out I received the first notification while not on wifi and while I came bring up the camera in the app it won't play the recorded video. Same thing when I returned home and connected to wifi again, no playback. I left a email for Ezviz support so let's see if they have a suggestion, and how long it takes for a response.

Thanks for everyone's help.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Power cycled the phone but no help.


Thanks, I have it connected to BI and one iPhone via the Ezviz app. It worked fine yesterday while I was on wifi but today when I was out I received the first notification while not on wifi and while I came bring up the camera in the app it won't play the recorded video. Same thing when I returned home and connected to wifi again, no playback. I left a email for Ezviz support so let's see if they have a suggestion, and how long it takes for a response.

Thanks for everyone's help.
Can you look in App settings and let us know which build you have? Thanks.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Thanks Bob, what is the build # (firmware)? Reason I ask is so we can helps others in case they run into your same problem.

If you click bottom left EZVIZ icon where it shows picture of Doorbell, then the Gear (Settings) you will find it under Device Version
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
889
Reaction score
261
Location
Jersey Shore
Sorry, I thought you were referring to the build of the app.
Firmware is the latest from Ezviz 191211
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
756
Location
USA
Sorry, I thought you were referring to the build of the app.
Firmware is the latest from Ezviz 191211
Thank you. Only other thing that comes to mind is check your SD Card's status. It is right above Device Version, Storage Status, is it Normal?
 
Top