New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Discussion in 'Doorbells' started by fleece, Aug 18, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. KlaverBoer

    KlaverBoer n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm running the latest firmware. The same version you mention. For specific settings i have to install the EZVIZ app again. I don't use the app. I use it only for the initial configuration.
     
    Viet Dzung likes this.
  2. Viet Dzung

    Viet Dzung n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Vietnam
    Finally i can use an relay with EZVIZ DB1.
    I try to add DB1 to Home Assistant, i add a Wemos D1 mini to know when the doorbell chime with relay state, Now i try to add still image from it to HA, if someone press the doorbell i will send message with image to telegram. But i could not find the still image address from the doorbell, some Hik-vision cam have image like this:
    http://admin:secret@192.168.1.xx/jpg/image.jpg
    http://admin:secret@192.168.1.xx/ISAPI/Streaming/Channels/101/picture
    http://admin:secret@192.168.1.xx:554/Streaming/Channels/101/picture
    But not work for DB1, so anyone know the image address of it please tell me?
     
  3. nameBrandon

    nameBrandon n3wb

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hey all, just a heads up, if you're looking to order this, don't get it from LaView directly.. it's like a black hole over there. I placed an order on 8/31 with their labor day special, never even received a confirmation email from them. Emailed them to ask if the item had shipped, 3-4 days later, no response at all. I've started the dispute process with PayPal. Hopefully they respond to my final email asking them to cancel the order.

    Going to re-order from Amazon and end up paying the extra $20. What a waste of time.. Maybe this is a one-off bad experience and I'm just unlucky, but think I'll look elsewhere for additional cameras / items.
     
  4. flynreelow

    flynreelow Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    109
    Heard a lot of people were having issues with LaView over the past few weeks.
     
  5. nameBrandon

    nameBrandon n3wb

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Minutes after filing the dispute with paypal, the responded saying it had shipped. They provided a USPS tracking number for a label that had been created, but not actually shipped. We'll see what happens, but yeah, something is off over there. If they didn't have so many people here recommending their equipment my scam radar would be pinging pretty hard right now.
     
  6. hawkeye217

    hawkeye217 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    I ordered from Laview a couple of days before Labor day and my order shipped the next day. It's a bit slow getting here from CA, but tracking says it's due to arrive tomorrow. Maybe they just got overwhelmed with orders?
     
  7. nameBrandon

    nameBrandon n3wb

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Did yours actually arrive? A day after they created the label and marked it as shipped, USPS still hasn't received anything form them.
     
  8. hawkeye217

    hawkeye217 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    It was shipped via Fedex Smartpost, so I've watched it travel from California on Fedex's website. It was actually handed off to the USPS earlier today for delivery tomorrow.
     
  9. hawkeye217

    hawkeye217 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    So I got the Laview version of the doorbell today. Initially I had some trouble getting it connected to wifi through the app, but I eventually got it to work through AP mode. I upgraded the firmware to the latest (v5.2.4 190716) and ONVIF is working great. I can get ONVIF motion detection events from the camera's PIR and all is working as expected. I've actually written a small Python script to get these motion events into Home Assistant as well.

    Has anyone found a way to track the actual doorbell button presses without using the app/cloud?
     
  10. Chadsturgill

    Chadsturgill Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    I have v5.2.4 (190724) not sure if this on has onvif and if it’s better but it’s what RCA Security is currently dishing out to their customers via their app.
     
  11. silencery

    silencery Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    23
    I haven't found an onvif event for doorbell press yet, but I didn't look very hard.

    Alternatively, to send doorbell events, you can install a relay parallel to the power wires. When the doorbell button is pressed, it will cause a dead short on the power wires. The voltage drop will trigger the relay. You may have to change the chime type to "electronic" or "mechanical" in the app. If you use "no chime" the button will not change the voltage.

    From there, the relay can be wired to a simple switch to connect and trigger whatever home automation sensor you may have (i.e. alarm zone, zwave door/window sensor, ZigBee, etc)

    P.S. the PIR doesn't appear to actually work. This was reported by other people in this massive thread. You can verify by covering the lens and moving in front of it. The camera won't record motion. It seems to be using software motion detection.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2019
  12. hawkeye217

    hawkeye217 n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    The PIR seems to be working for me. If I cover it up, I don't get an ONVIF motion event. If I cover up the camera but leave the PIR uncovered, I get ONVIF motion events. Maybe the latest firmware made it work correctly?

    I'll poke around and see if I can find an ONVIF event for the doorbell button press.

    I suppose I could hook up a relay as you suggested. Considering an optocoupler instead if I can't find something in ONVIF.
     
  13. silencery

    silencery Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ah. Good to know! I'll have to retest the PIR.

    Yes, optocoupler should work great, especially for tight spaces
     
  14. argus

    argus n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    In need to forward port 443 for remote access to home assistant but when I do the RCA and HIK apps both report the the doorbell as offline.
    Is there anything I can do to get them to both work together?
     
  15. patrocle

    patrocle Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    California
    Is the RCA video door bell working fine for you all?
    Used to have Ring Video Bell pro but wanted something else, and also can be connected to BI

    Thanks
     
  16. Chadsturgill

    Chadsturgill Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah it works pretty well. I do have to reboot it occasionally because the RTSP stream stops to Blue Iris but it’s working otherwise. Sometimes I have to reboot because it thinks the memory card needs initialized. Both situations happen rarely.
     
    patrocle likes this.
  17. hik78

    hik78 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have the same problem occasionally...the rca app video continues to work...but normally 20-30mins later the rtsp stream starts again in BI...without rebooting db.
     
    patrocle likes this.
  18. patrocle

    patrocle Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for that info.
     
  19. patrocle

    patrocle Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    California
    U guys buy this from the RCA website? or u get the nellysecurity website? the nsc-db2?

    Thanks,
     
  20. Olddawg

    Olddawg Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    OK
    I just bought the Hikvision NSC-DB2 and am using the Ezviz app and also have it installed on Blue Iris. So far great image quality both day and night. I am going to have to make an additional wedge to get the camera rotated more toward the door unless someone has a good alternative? While I have a reasonable Wifi signal with a few occasional No Signal on Blue Iris, the app gives internet errors frequently when trying to use it? I also tried using the PIR detection but it seems like when I was using the PIR and was at the front door testing it would just keep sending notifications with very little delay between them. I was hoping there was some way to increase the delay before ti would trigger again, but doesn't appear to be available in the app. Does anyone use the PIR or just use the BI for motion detection. I thinking the only thing I would use the app for is answering the doorbell. Appreciate comments on how you are the using the doorbell.