New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

pete_c

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
75
Reaction score
46
Location
USA
This is for the generic unmarked DB2 doorbell camera which I purchased. It is sold by Nelly Security here.

The model number is ND8313-W. It came with the various colored covers and pitched bases and a power pack and resistor.

I used the power pack and changed my doorbell 10VAC 10 VA transformer to a 24VAC 30VA transformer.

The Ring doorbell had worked fine with the older transformer. Using an Elk 930 and Elk 960 for my alarm panel.

I had tpo remove the Elk 930 current sensor and went to using a reed switch in the doorbell chime.

It does dual streams and ONVIF without a password and a JPG capture of the main stream.
 

enduser99

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
127.0.0.1
Same.. no notification with doorbell press.. when it did ( 1 out of 50 ) no live video would load.
This is the EZVIZ version.
You got me curious since I have not heard any notifications on my cellphone so this is what I noticed when I tested my system.
On the RCA HSDV2A doorbell running the original RCA FW, and RCA app on Android 8.1

If your cellphone is locked there will be no bell ringing notifications when the doorbell is pressed.
If the phone is unlocked bell ringing notifications occur when the doorbell is pressed.

May have to mess with the apps allow notifications setting under Android apps permissions to get this to work when locked.
 
Last edited:

enduser99

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
127.0.0.1
This is for the generic unmarked DB2 doorbell camera which I purchased. It is sold by Nelly Security here.
Thanks to JSnP for doing the leg work and finding the links to all the current firmware. :headbang:
The "I" on some of the firmware may refer to international version of that firmware.

EZVIZ DB1
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR/2.0/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR.dav (Jul 21, 2019)
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR/2.0/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR_I.dav (Nov 28, 2018)

LaView Halo One
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/LV-PDB1630-U/2.0/LV-PDB1630-U.dav (Jul 29, 2019)

Nelly NSC-DB2
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/NDB313-W/2.0/NDB313-W.dav (Mar 4, 2019)

RCA HSDB2
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/HSDB2/2.0/HSDB2.dav (Jan 30, 2019)
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/HSDB2/2.0/HSDB2_I.dav (Nov 28, 2018)
 
Last edited:

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
Thanks pete & David. Your help is much appreciated. Great idea to place all the FW downloads in a sticky. This forum is getting quite long,
and finding useful information and instructions is getting to be a hassle if you can't spend time to go through all 52 pages.

I feel bad since I have a lot of messages here. So many here have helped me so I try to help others. pete_c / enduser99 What is a Sticky :) Like a sticky note online?
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
Thanks to JSnP for doing the leg work and finding the links to all the current firmware. :headbang:
The "I" on some of the firmware may refer to international version of that firmware.

EZVIZ DB1
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR/2.0/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR.dav (Jul 21, 2019)
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR/2.0/CS-DB1-A0-1B3WPFR_I.dav (Nov 28, 2018)

LaView Halo One
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/LV-PDB1630-U/2.0/LV-PDB1630-U.dav (Jul 29, 2019)

Nelly NSC-DB2
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/NDB313-W/2.0/NDB313-W.dav (Mar 4, 2019)

RCA HSDB2
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/HSDB2/2.0/HSDB2.dav (Jan 30, 2019)
http://usdownload.ezvizlife.com/device/HSDB2/2.0/HSDB2_I.dav (Nov 28, 2018)

That be them. Also, thanks to Chadsturgill for being the first who tested and gave us reports of each one. He risked bricking his for all of us. I even downloaded each one to save in case I need to revert back to them.
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
374
Reaction score
116
You got me curious since I have not heard any notifications on my cellphone so this is what I noticed when I tested my system.
On the RCA HSDV2A doorbell running the original RCA FW, and RCA app on Android 8.1

If your cellphone is locked there will be no bell ringing notifications when the doorbell is pressed.
If the phone is unlocked bell ringing notifications occur when the doorbell is pressed.

May have to mess with the apps allow notifications setting under Android apps permissions to get this to work when locked.
I have tried everything..

works 1 out of 25 bell presses. doesnt matter if my phone is locked or unlocked, in the same room as the bell, or miles away on 4g.

very strange. not really the end of the world, but would love to find a fix. let me know what you figure out. I have went into the android settings and all looks good to me, but maybe I am missing somthing.
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
I have tried everything..

works 1 out of 25 bell presses. doesnt matter if my phone is locked or unlocked, in the same room as the bell, or miles away on 4g.

very strange. not really the end of the world, but would love to find a fix. let me know what you figure out. I have went into the android settings and all looks good to me, but maybe I am missing somthing.
Don't know if any of this will help ya'll but figured I would share:
Both my wife and I have S7s running Android version 8.0.0 and both phones do not have locked screens, when someone rings our Doorbell one of our phones, usually mine, will ring and we see and can talk to the person at our door, so don't remember seeing any push notifications for Doorbell ring, the LaView ONE App will record the date/time with thumbnail pic in Call Logs (Green color Received is when we Answer Doorbell call). Here are a few screens shots in Settings:

upload_2019-10-5_18-27-19.png
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
374
Reaction score
116
Thanks David,

Funny thing is, I have a Gs7 as well, and like i said, maybe 1 out of 25. Its crazy. Also wondering why both you and your wifes phone dont get the same noticfication of a button press.

My screenshots look just like yours, call log and picture clip works great.

It's just the Original Doorbell press notification (so I can talk) doenst work 98% of the time.
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
Thanks David,

Funny thing is, I have a Gs7 as well, and like i said, maybe 1 out of 25. Its crazy. Also wondering why both you and your wifes phone dont get the same noticfication of a button press.

My screenshots look just like yours, call log and picture clip works great.

It's just the Original Doorbell press notification (so I can talk) doenst work 98% of the time.
Hmmm. I will test mine a bit more in the next few days, I am working this weekend. I know my wife's phone is on mute most of the time, so maybe she does get the call. When I asked LaView how to setup second phone, they told me it is best to use my account info during install. I know like in SmartThings she logs into her account but is a member of my group so we can have the same settings. I will check her settings in case her Answer Doorbell Call is Off.
Sorry you are having this issue, we may have the same problem too, I see a lot of missed calls in our log. I know a few times I just could not get to my phone fast enough to answer :) Hardly any of our family rings, they are knockers :) UPS and Fed-Ex don't ring either anymore.
 

pete_c

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
75
Reaction score
46
Location
USA
Like a sticky note online?

Yes. It would be a sort of summary of the 53 posts in this thread.

Sticky #1 would be a post related to the various vendors selling the OEM Hikvision doorbell and the differences between them and the apps available for each of the HikVision doorbells

Sticky #2 would be the dates and firmware available for each of the Hikvision doorbells.
 

LTek

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
60
Reaction score
4
Stickies should be at top of forum section, or in Post #1 as "FAQ" of sorts.
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
Thanks David,

Funny thing is, I have a Gs7 as well, and like i said, maybe 1 out of 25. Its crazy. Also wondering why both you and your wifes phone dont get the same noticfication of a button press.

My screenshots look just like yours, call log and picture clip works great.

It's just the Original Doorbell press notification (so I can talk) doenst work 98% of the time.
So I have not been able to fully check it yet but we are having the same issue you are. Fully meaning have not tested outside our network. I wonder if it is a Server issue. Seem to remember, I think Ford here, telling someone here that the cloud server had an issue once, think it was the same or similar issue we have. Ours use to work all the time so I know it works. I will contact LaView to see what they say.
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
374
Reaction score
116
So I have not been able to fully check it yet but we are having the same issue you are. Fully meaning have not tested outside our network. I wonder if it is a Server issue. Seem to remember, I think Ford here, telling someone here that the cloud server had an issue once, think it was the same or similar issue we have. Ours use to work all the time so I know it works. I will contact LaView to see what they say.
Thanks, keep us posted. Also tell them that you are using and android phone, specifically the GS7. I have a few buddies that have iPhones, and the doorbell ring notification works flawlessly.
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
Thanks, keep us posted. Also tell them that you are using and android phone, specifically the GS7. I have a few buddies that have iPhones, and the doorbell ring notification works flawlessly.
Ours use to work flawlessly too. Question, did you recently get an update, I updated both our phones, I believe it was Saturday morning?
upload_2019-10-7_5-26-41.png
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
I've had that same update installed for a few months now. Just checked again, nothing new, I'm up to date.
Well wish I could give good news, all LaView suggested was to reinstall App. This coming weekend we have a family member that installed this Doorbell and he has the App on his Android phone, his wife has an Apple phone but has not installed the App yet. I will do this for her and test it then.
 

Craig Conrad

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
4
I have the LaView doorbell installed at a lake house and have BlueIris watching it on my home server (at another location) via RTSP. To minimize the internet traffic, I want BI to monitor the lowest reasonable frame rate (e.g. 1 frame per second is plenty) and/or a lower resolution. What is the best way to accomplish this?
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
I have the LaView doorbell installed at a lake house and have BlueIris watching it on my home server (at another location) via RTSP. To minimize the internet traffic, I want BI to monitor the lowest reasonable frame rate (e.g. 1 frame per second is plenty) and/or a lower resolution. What is the best way to accomplish this?
You could use the substream (res.: 352x240), then change the frame rate in iVMS-4200:

$ = : (stupid emojis :))

rtsp://admin$password@192.168.1.50:554/Streaming/Channels/101/ - Main Stream
rtsp://admin$password@192.168.1.50:554/Streaming/Channels/102/ - Sub Stream
or
rtsp://admin$password@192.168.0.1:554/ch1/main/av_stream
rtsp://admin$password@192.168.0.1:554/ch1/sub/av_stream

upload_2019-10-8_12-31-36.png

You can view the stream in VLC under Media/Open Network Stream...
 
Last edited:

Craig Conrad

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
4
You could use the substream (res.: 352x240), then change the frame rate in iVMS-4200:
Thanks, David! I don't recognize this configuration screen. I've only used the phone app. It is a LaView HALO ONE ... should I be using the HIKVision app (iVMS-4200) that you reference to get this level of configuration?
 

David L

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
220
Reaction score
52
Location
USA
Thanks, David! I don't recognize this configuration screen. I've only used the phone app. It is a LaView HALO ONE ... should I be using the HIKVision app (iVMS-4200) that you reference to get this level of configuration?
The phone App is just for remote viewing. The PC software from Hikvision allows you to configure your Doorbell, you can turn WDR ON/OFF, change brightness, network settings, etc. There are a few different versions people use here.

Windows Versions (Mac version available too):
iVMS-4200 v.2.8.2.2 (This is version I use)
iVMS-4200 v3.1.1.11 (I did not like this version)
Batch Configuration Tool v3.0.2.6 (Smaller compact version, I also use this one too, thanks to pete_c :))
 
Top