New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
Just wanted to report back and say that Hikvision, Ezviz, and Laview were less than forthcoming about how to turn on and off the LED ring via code. Hikvision and Ezivz refused to give any details because my camera had a Laview serial number, and Laview said "we can't give you that information because it would unveil the internal implementation of hardware and software". Well, duh...

Doing some wireshark captures shows what looks like MQTT topics and data being exchanged with Ezviz servers. I'm going to keep poking around. It'd be great to be able to turn the LEDs on and off without the cloud.
Sorry, I should of posted, though I too ended up at a dead end. I plan on calling LaView back one more time to see if I get a different Tech. guy. Chat and the first Tech guy almost acted like they did not know what I was talking about, maybe it was not an act :)
Did you chat with Nelly's?
 

hawkeye217

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
27
Location
United States
Sorry, I should of posted, though I too ended up at a dead end. I plan on calling LaView back one more time to see if I get a different Tech. guy. Chat and the first Tech guy almost acted like they did not know what I was talking about, maybe it was not an act :)
Did you chat with Nelly's?
Doesn't surprise me that the Laview tech guy didn't have a clue... First tier tech support is usually pretty clueless in a lot of cases.

And no, I didn't reach out to Nelly's. But feel free, and let me know if they respond positively. Maybe you'll have better luck than me!
 

patrocle

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
465
Reaction score
66
Location
Roseville, Ca
So i managed to install the Nelly Security Video Door bell and i used Ezviz app at first to do the install, it was really easy to do the install and to setup the app. I have try the door bell and the app was responding very good, the wireless router is in my office on the second story witch sits in top of the entry door / patio at front door , so it is only about 10-12 ft from the door bell to my wifi router.
Firmware that is in it right now is:
v5.2.4 build 190412
Nework signal: -45dBm (Looks full signal icon in the app), Using the same transformer 16v10va from post#961
Now, while playing with the Ezviz app it worked fine at first , like i was pressing the video bell outside and then i get notification on my phone and i can answer that. But after 30 min or so of playing it kind stopped working, not sure if i screw up something in the app settings or what.... so then i remember talking to Nelly Security support and they said to use hik-connect app (have iphone 11 pro plus/max), and the hik-connect worked fine , looks like.
Few things i have not find out how to set up, like: (using hik-connect app)
*How to decrease the door bell outside ringer speaker volume? or to turn it off. i kind don't want for it to ring at all outside or if i can lower it down.
*How to change shape of the video view , right now is like a oval left to right.
And i think was something else, but forgot what it was....

Anyway, now adding the video door bell to BI.
As i moved to a different home had to install back few of my cameras and setup all back and also my dedicated Dell tower specific to run BI. Now, after putting up the cameras, when i try to start the tower , computer took a crap and did not want to boot
and after few ours of trying this and that , my sandisk ssd 240gb took a crap! Will never that hdd brand again and is only about one year+ old. Anyway, fixed my pc with a regular 2tb sata hdd and all back in business, installed a trial of the BI v5 (i did had a v4 paid key from before) , after the trial of v5 is installed , at activation enter your v4 key and then the system will ask you if you have a Maintenance and Support key purchased from BI site, witch is $29 and it lets you update from v4 to v5, then did that and now i am in Business with BI v5.
Finding the Video door bel ip was easy just looking at my wireless router connected ip's , in admin @ 192.168.1.1
Adding the Video door bell in BI was easy once i found the password...hmmm
For others that want to add it in BI the user name is: admin and password is on your Video door bell quick start guide booklet
2019-10-04_8-55-51.jpg

Here is the Settings i have in BI:

2019-10-04_9-14-24.jpg
Right now i get streaming and looks that is working fine, and have it recording 24hr's a day. I have not checked anything else yet ,like: audio, notification,etc...in BI yet.
I got the new firmware from Nelly Security and they told me that if all works fine i do not need to upgrade. In my network my tower is using the video door bell , i have the BI app on my phone and also a family member has it .
Anyway this what i have done so far regarding the Video door bell. Looks that is way better when it comes to video image than Ring, Nest,etc... Wyze is working on a new video door bell, not sure the specs and that could come with onvif enabled.
 
Last edited:

enduser99

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
127.0.0.1
I have not seen any information on how to extract video from the video doorbell
in this forum.

Does anyone know how to download and save the video from the video history on
the RCA HSDB2A?

I called RCA and they stated that I have to use the recording feature on the app
to record a copy of the video I'm watching. I did that but the quality of the video
is not as good, and the video tends to freeze up on the phone when recording.
This has got to be the most ridiculous thing I have seen since the high resolution
quality of the video is lost.

Outside of removing the video SD Card from the video doorbell camera is there
another option?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
I have not seen any information on how to extract video from the video doorbell
in this forum.

Does anyone know how to download and save the video from the video history on
the RCA HSDB2A?

I called RCA and they stated that I have to use the recording feature on the app
to record a copy of the video I'm watching. I did that but the quality of the video
is not as good, and the video tends to freeze up on the phone when recording.
This has got to be the most ridiculous thing I have seen since the high resolution
quality of the video is lost.

Outside of removing the video SD Card from the video doorbell camera is there
another option?
On the LaView ONE App there is an option to Save to Photo Album but you have to Record the Motion Video first, then go to More/Playback Album and from there in the videos you have a Save option, the video ends up in the LaView folder in Photo Albums (Gallery) of my phone. Video quality is not changed from original.
I know this is LaView's App, but most of these Apps are similar.

You can also download videos to your PC through iVMS-4200 software, you put in your date range.
upload_2019-10-4_15-6-51.png

Details of a video I saved in my Photo Album:
upload_2019-10-4_15-12-7.png
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
*How to decrease the door bell outside ringer speaker volume? or to turn it off. i kind don't want for it to ring at all outside or if i can lower it down.
*How to change shape of the video view , right now is like a oval left to right.
I believe you can turn Off/On Speaker in App, but no volume control
No way of changing Fish Eye to my knowledge
 

enduser99

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
127.0.0.1
On the LaView ONE App there is an option to Save to Photo Album but you have to Record the Motion Video first, then go to More/Playback Album and from there in the videos you have a Save option, the video ends up in the LaView folder in Photo Albums (Gallery) of my phone. Video quality is not changed from original.
I know this is LaView's App, but most of these Apps are similar.

You can also download videos to your PC through iVMS-4200 software, you put in your date range.
View attachment 48475

Details of a video I saved in my Photo Album:
View attachment 48476
Thanks David. I just installed the software but which one do I run? I ended up with 3 icons, iVMS-4200 v3.1.1 client, stream, and storage. The client is looking for a HTTP port. Any idea what that would be?
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Easier to use program is the Hikvision Batch Configuration program where you can go the the SD card and date scan the videos to your laptop (running windows).

Menu looks exactly like the one that David posted above. Tiny program.

Just add your camera IP and login information then go to settings.

I have been tinkering here with other HikVision 4-5 MP IP camera boards. These have the option to save the videos to the SD card or a local NAS or a cloud application.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
Thanks David. I just installed the software but which one do I run? I ended up with 3 icons, iVMS-4200 v3.1.1 client, stream, and storage. The client is looking for a HTTP port. Any idea what that would be?
I did install that version too but did not like it so I went with the older version. Have not tried the Hikvision Batch Configuration program pete_c suggested.
pete_c is it the one listed here as Batch Configuration Tool ?

upload_2019-10-4_17-56-38.png
 

enduser99

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
127.0.0.1
I did install that version too but did not like it so I went with the older version. Have not tried the Hikvision Batch Configuration program pete_c suggested.
pete_c is it the one listed here as Batch Configuration Tool ?

View attachment 48485
I'm going to experiment with the version you posted to see if I can get it to work also. I hope the same port 8000 works.

Can't get iVMS-4200 Lite (v1.0.0.4) to work. Going to try v2.8.x.x

The one pete suggested is the
Batch Configuration Tool V3.0.2.6
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
I'm going to experiment with the version you posted to see if I can get it to work also. I hope the same port 8000 works.

Can't get iVMS-4200 Lite (v1.0.0.4) to work. Going to try v2.8.x.x

The one pete suggested is the
Batch Configuration Tool V3.0.2.6

It will see port 8000

upload_2019-10-4_18-32-6.png
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
And some tweaks to the firmware would really be nice.

Here is the configuration/firmware versions of the test camera boards that I am tinkering with.

The NAS tweak would be nice.

NAS-Storage.jpg
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Download the firmware you want then use the batch configuration program to update your firmware.

Here updated mine last week. I found the update right here under the forum topic.

I have the generic Hikvision no label doorbell. It is sold here by Nelly's security.

I have suggested that we create a sticky with most recent firmware versions for each of the DB2 Hikvision OEM cams.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
What are the steps to update the firmware on the RCA unit to the version by LaView that supports ONVIF?
Hey, little trick one of the users here figured out, if you want to remove the RCA Logo, first install the EZVIZ version of the firmware then turn On Logo, then install LaView's firmware and it will be removed (turned Off). See message #916
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
Thanks David. iVMS -4200 v2.8.2.2 working great using port 8000... but pete is right about the batch version,
it is a smaller program and it also comes up faster with less bloatware.
Yeah I just installed the Batch Config. Tool too, it is a cleaner program. I like it, thanks pete_c
 

enduser99

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
127.0.0.1
Thanks pete & David. Your help is much appreciated. Great idea to place all the FW downloads in a sticky. This forum is getting quite long,
and finding useful information and instructions is getting to be a hassle if you can't spend time to go through all 52 pages.
 
Top