New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Craig Conrad

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
38
Reaction score
4
The phone App is just for remote viewing. The PC software from Hikvision allows you to configure your Doorbell
Thanks, David. I didn't realize that the LaView doorbell was an HIKVision camera. I downloaded the software you referenced and have adjusted the substream. When I get to the BI server, I'll make some changes there as well. Thanks again ...
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Personally for the camera location I would utilize a VPN tunnel to the home location where Blue Iris is at. This way you do not need to open up any ports on your firewall.

Here personally using IPSEC VPN with PFSense. Many folks today are using OpenVPN. That said I use VPN on my phone to call home for automation stuff, servers, CCTV et al. It is easy to configure these days.

Lake House VPN tunnel ==> Home with VPN server and Blue Iris running.

What kind of internet do you have at your Lake House?

Cable, DSL, LTE modem???
 
Last edited:

Craig Conrad

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
38
Reaction score
4
Personally for the camera location I would utilize a VPN tunnel to the home location where Blue Iris is at. This way you do not need to open up any ports on your firewall.

Here personally using IPSEC VPN with PFSense. Many folks today are using OpenVPN. That said I use VPN on my phone to call home for automation stuff, servers, CCTV et al. It is easy to configure these days.

Lake House VPN tunnel ==> Home with VPN server and Blue Iris running.

What kind of internet do you have at your Lake House?

Cable, DSL, LTE modem???
I am actually in the process of establishing a site-to-site VPN on my routers. I have Cisco RV345P routers on each location, and the ISP-provided routers are in bridge mode. Unfortunately, it isn't working yet. Cisco has been helpful, and I have some things to try when I get back to the home location (where BI is installed). I've been here at the lake house monitoring/assisting in significant pier repairs (We just bought the house two months ago and there's a lot of work to be done).

The home internet is 100Mbps service, but the lake house service is old DSL giving me right at 10Mbps. The lake is quite away from things that city-dwellers take for granted -- that 10Mbps service costs 60% more than my 100Mbps service at home does. They offer fiber at 15 or 20Mbps for $15 and $25 dollars more, but it doesn't seem worth it.

Do you think that OpenVPN or the other would actually be a better choice than the Cisco function (assuming I can get it to work)?
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Understood.

Personally I use L2TP over IPsec which appears to be available for your Cisco RV345P router. I mentioned OpenVPN cuz it appears many folks have been using it.

Easiest way to configure it is to have the management port open of the Lake house router or the home router. 10Mbps should work fine.

Watch the logging on either side routers.
 

Olddawg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
41
Location
OK
I have had the Nelly Doorbell about a month now and am very happy with the performance. I use it with Blue Iris and Home Assistant. We stream live video on a couple of Google Home Hubs and our Sony TV(if it is on) when BI motion is triggered. My wife really likes this feature.
 

flynreelow

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
457
Reaction score
199
I have had the Nelly Doorbell about a month now and am very happy with the performance. I use it with Blue Iris and Home Assistant. We stream live video on a couple of Google Home Hubs and our Sony TV(if it is on) when BI motion is triggered. My wife really likes this feature.
do you have a write up on this?
 

Olddawg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
41
Location
OK
do you have a write up on this?
Are you currently using Home Assistant? If so, there is a Blue Iris Integration to get the streams. If not, then you need to investigate it and see if it something you want to pursue because there is a learning curve. Blue Iris is just one portion of my home automation. I have z-wave light light and fan switches, z-wave sensor on mailbox door, a zigbee leak detector, DSC security system, esp8266 WiFi garage door openers, etc. so it was worth the effort to learn about Home Assistant. Below is just a general idea of what is involved. I won't go into all the details, but if you are using Home Assistant I am happy to share all my settings and more details.

Basically you will allow Home Assistant access to your streams. In Home Assistant for Blue Iris I use a mjpeg because it loads faster. My entry in HA configuration.yaml looks like this
- platform: mjpeg
mjpeg_url: name: Main Door
username: !secret bi_username
password: !secret bi_password
authentication: basic

For the Google Home Hubs I integrated them using Nabu Casa, $5 per month, but make it easy to integrate both Google Home Hubs and Alexa. You can integrate them manually if you want and save the $5 per month. The Sony TV (Bravia) also has an integration for Home Assistant.

When I get an Alert on BI it posts a MQTT trigger to Home Assistant to start an automation. For this you have to setup MQTT on Home Assistant and Blue Iris and then create a binary_sensor in Home Assistant configuration.yaml.

When the binary_sensor doorbell_motion goes from Off to On it triggers an automation in Home Assistant. The automation determines if the Sony TV is on or off. If it is on, the current doorbell stream is shown on both Google Home Hubs and the Sony TV. If Off I just display to Google Hubs (I don't want it to turn on the TV if it is off) I show 15 seconds and then resume.

The method I use, loses the first few seconds of video when you cast it to the displays and tv, but I am not concerned because I have that recorded in BI and we are just interested if someone is at the door and who they are.

Home Assistant also has a Stream component that allows you to record and you can prerecord like BI but the file format required loads to slow when casting to my devices. I haven't played with it very much, but I know it could be faster if I changed my video stream setting. The mjpeq works very well for us so I haven't bothered.
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Testing old Hikvision iVMS-4500 via VPN on my smart phone and entered my Doorbell IP and was able to see alarm events stored on the SD card cloudless.

Also added two test cams and can see these too.

Impressed that I can do this without using the cloud app.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
Thanks, keep us posted. Also tell them that you are using and android phone, specifically the GS7. I have a few buddies that have iPhones, and the doorbell ring notification works flawlessly.
Looks like they fixed the Calling issue. Saturday I was at a family members house and his S8 or maybe a S9 got a Call from the Doorbell button pushed each time we pushed it. We were going to install LaView ONE App on his wife's iphone but they could not get pass the Apple Store password :) so we could not test it. I just tested it this morning and it is working back like before. I got the Call pretty quick after button pushed about 2 to 3 second delay. Notifications are still instant, a second or less.
 

kentx2

n3wb
Joined
Sep 22, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
St. Louis, MO
Are you currently using Home Assistant? If so, there is a Blue Iris Integration to get the streams. If not, then you need to investigate it and see if it something you want to pursue because there is a learning curve. Blue Iris is just one portion of my home automation. I have z-wave light light and fan switches, z-wave sensor on mailbox door, a zigbee leak detector, DSC security system, esp8266 WiFi garage door openers, etc. so it was worth the effort to learn about Home Assistant. Below is just a general idea of what is involved. I won't go into all the details, but if you are using Home Assistant I am happy to share all my settings and more details.

Basically you will allow Home Assistant access to your streams. In Home Assistant for Blue Iris I use a mjpeg because it loads faster. My entry in HA configuration.yaml looks like this
- platform: mjpeg
mjpeg_url: name: Main Door
username: !secret bi_username
password: !secret bi_password
authentication: basic

For the Google Home Hubs I integrated them using Nabu Casa, $5 per month, but make it easy to integrate both Google Home Hubs and Alexa. You can integrate them manually if you want and save the $5 per month. The Sony TV (Bravia) also has an integration for Home Assistant.

When I get an Alert on BI it posts a MQTT trigger to Home Assistant to start an automation. For this you have to setup MQTT on Home Assistant and Blue Iris and then create a binary_sensor in Home Assistant configuration.yaml.

When the binary_sensor doorbell_motion goes from Off to On it triggers an automation in Home Assistant. The automation determines if the Sony TV is on or off. If it is on, the current doorbell stream is shown on both Google Home Hubs and the Sony TV. If Off I just display to Google Hubs (I don't want it to turn on the TV if it is off) I show 15 seconds and then resume.

The method I use, loses the first few seconds of video when you cast it to the displays and tv, but I am not concerned because I have that recorded in BI and we are just interested if someone is at the door and who they are.

Home Assistant also has a Stream component that allows you to record and you can prerecord like BI but the file format required loads to slow when casting to my devices. I haven't played with it very much, but I know it could be faster if I changed my video stream setting. The mjpeq works very well for us so I haven't bothered.
Have you figured out how to trigger an automation in Home Assistant when someone rings the doorbell? I really just want to create my own doorbell chime via a Google Home display (and potentially also show the stream). I've disabled my mechanical chime by simply taking the magnetic rod out. If I could get a notification from the doorbell itself that would be optimal. I've also considered adding something to the mechanical chime to integrate into Home Assistant via WiFi (ESP8266??), but I don't fully understand the electronics/wiring after adding the thing from the doorbell installation instructions. Any thoughts?
 

Olddawg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
41
Location
OK
Have you figured out how to trigger an automation in Home Assistant when someone rings the doorbell? I really just want to create my own doorbell chime via a Google Home display (and potentially also show the stream). I've disabled my mechanical chime by simply taking the magnetic rod out. If I could get a notification from the doorbell itself that would be optimal. I've also considered adding something to the mechanical chime to integrate into Home Assistant via WiFi (ESP8266??), but I don't fully understand the electronics/wiring after adding the thing from the doorbell installation instructions. Any thoughts?
I use the Blue Iris Motion Trigger with Home Assistant to display video on devices and I also get immediate notifications on our phones. If you wanted to specifically detect button press, you could do like you and @silencery said using a relay to trigger, Here is a post of someone that did what you want Making a dumb doorbell smart There are a lot of other dumb to smart doorbell solutions for Home Assistant. Just Google it. One I found interesting was using a magnetic Window/Door sensor and utilizing the magnetic field of the mechanical doorbell to open/close the Window/Door Sensor.
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Here my doorbell is connected to two circuit boards (many many years now). I used the doorbell to trigger CCTV events (and other sensors).

Doorbell stuff....which should work with the Home Assistant software and extra here is the debounce circuit.

Currently utilizing Home Assistant with MQTT. Built a combo wireless MQTT sensor and GDO button plus temperature sensor here using a SonOff Basic and some free GPIOs.
For a NC/NO switch (doorbell) just upgrade a SonOff basic with Tasmota / Espurna firmware. I am doing this for a test GDO and sensor device.
Note: from the SonOff ran a door open and door closed reed sensor to the garage door, button to a digital GDO and one DS18B20 1-wire sensor for garage temperatures.

The wireless MQTT connection is the same speed as the hardwired sensors to the alarm panel.

SonOffGDO.jpg


elk.jpg

The Elk 930 and the Elk 960.

The Elk 930 is a doorbell current sensor that triggers the alarm panel zone.

The Elk 960 board is a debounce board for those long doorbell presses.

This and there is 12VDC going to these boards from the alarm panel and 2 wires for the zone using 22/4 alarm wire.

The Ring doorbell worked fine with the 10VAC / 10VA transformer and the above circuit.

The Hikvision would not work triggering the Elk 930 board but it would chime the doorbell. Increased the transformer to 24VAC and the Elk 930 board would still not trigger.

This would happen with or without the little power module.

So I ran another cable to the doorbell using 22/2 and connected it to a reed switch which is triggered by the coil in the chime and left the Elk 960 debounce board in place.

I left the power module in place.

Note you can DIY these boards but they are so cheap it is not worth it.

The alarm panel is a Leviton Omni Pro 2 combo automation and security panel (no longer made these days).

Tinkering mostly with automation software/hardware...Homeseer since the late 1990's, last few years ....Home Assistant, OpenHab, Samsung Smartthings, OpenWRT,et al...

Outdoor CCTV mostly using "analog sensors" for triggers...PIRs, Cartel under driveway, Geophones, photobeams (in the 1990's)....like to tinker mostly...
 
Last edited:

Ed_C

n3wb
Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Location
Philadelphia
Just installed Nelly's Doorbell, came with V5.2.4. EZVIZ app working as expected. It's up and running in BI (9th ip camera). I can confirm video streaming quits in BI when EZVIZ app is viewing live ( so this is a known issue).

I'm concerned the doorbell camera gets too hot (127 degrees with a IR thermometer, very hot to the touch). I noticed this while testing on the bench touching directly on the back behind the camera. Has anyone notice this with theirs. I'm testing on the bench with 16v 15va transformer and 24v 40va when installed. It's drawing between 5 and 6 watts which is in spec.

Also: It receives audio from BI just fine. Has anyone found a way to transmit audio from BI. I believe this is a known issue also.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
Just installed Nelly's Doorbell, came with V5.2.4. EZVIZ app working as expected. It's up and running in BI (9th ip camera). I can confirm video streaming quits in BI when EZVIZ app is viewing live ( so this is a known issue).

I'm concerned the doorbell camera gets too hot (127 degrees with a IR thermometer, very hot to the touch). I noticed this while testing on the bench touching directly on the back behind the camera. Has anyone notice this with theirs. I'm testing on the bench with 16v 15va transformer and 24v 40va when installed. It's drawing between 5 and 6 watts which is in spec.

Also: It receives audio from BI just fine. Has anyone found a way to transmit audio from BI. I believe this is a known issue also.
We all here have the same heat issue, though we have not found it to be a problem, yet that is. I live in 100 plus degree weather during the summer and had mine since July, no issues. When I first got mine I had the same concern, I took Installed heat readings, see message #635, my readings got as high as 139 degrees. Love this Doorbell though, we will see over time it's Longevity.
 
Last edited:

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,585
Reaction score
1,355
Location
USA
Go Stros!!! :)
Harvey World Series
Imelda World Series (We Hope)
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
Here just checked mine by touch and with a MicroTemp laser temperature sensor. It is the generic Hikvision Doorbell sold by Nelly Security.

It is not warm to the touch and the temperature on the front was around 68 ° F and the side around 70 ° F

Wondering if that relates to firmware. I am assuming hardware wise they are identical. Outside right now it is around 65 °F.
 

vc1234

n3wb
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
5
Just bought an RCA HB2. Also have the heat issue: the upper part seems quite hot.

So, both Nelly and RCA behave similarly.

Pete_c, what firmware do you have in your Nelly ? I wonder because you do not heat issues and Ed_ does.
 

Ed_C

n3wb
Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Location
Philadelphia
vc1234, pete_c my firmware build is 190412 and EZVIZ says No new firmware available. It would be nice if firmware could make a difference.
 

pete_c

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
391
Location
Time
I have only measured temps with the cover on.

Just checked again. Outside temperature is 61° F this evening.

Checked top and sides of doorbell and readings are from 68° F to 70° F. Touching top and sides of the doorbell it is not hot and barely a bit warm at this time.

I am using firmware version posted above which is:

Nelly NSC-DB2

NDB313-W
Firmware Version: V5.2.4 build 190625

Note It is assumed that all of the hardware is the same so guessing that this firmware will work on the RCA Doorbell.

BUT it is not a guarantee that it will work and I take no responsiblity should you brick your camera.
 
Last edited:
Top