New System Advice as well as Thank You! to contributors

JTSpeed

n3wb
Reaction score
First, I'd like to say thank you for the great information I have found from members such as SouthernYankee, loony2ns, Andy from EMPIRETECANDY, @matt200 and @giomania (for the cliff notes). I'm sure there are others so than you. Great information, but cost me a lot of sleep late night reading! :)

Anyway, I'm a noob here so I'll try my best to set the stage and I'll apologize in advance for the novel.

I have spent a countless hours reviewing the Wiki, the Cliff notes, peoples posts, etc. Overall the information has been immensely helpful in narrowing down my design. I feel I have it to a point where I would like to request some member feedback if possible.

Design Overview:
I have a two story house, but it's a cape cod style which means I have eaves around the full first floor. Based on the odd footprint, I'm planning on 6 outdoor cameras on the first floor for a solid mix of coverage vs. Cost. they will be mounted about 8ft high on each corner of the house, one above the front door and one above the rear sliding glass door.

I am currently getting the roof replaced along with soffits so I have the option to wire and plan mounting now. While I realize there are challenges with Dome cameras that I will have to live with My wife gets a vote on aesthetics, I get the system and get to deal with the IR reflection. I'd also like to have them as "recessed as possible" in the soffit and have the option if needed to get to the wooden eaves above. I'll make an run my own Cat6.

I have also considered Blue Iris, but for ease of installation (I'm hoping) plan on just getting the matching NVR for the camera line I’m looking to purchase. I love tinkering so may upgrade to BI down the line.

My Wishlist and questions regarding a full Dahua system: