Noob here needing help with first system

kanaga

n3wb
Reaction score
I purchased a Samsung surveillance system with the mistaken belief that since it had more channels than cameras, I would be able to add a few wireless cameras for the back side of my shed. While looking for, and not finding, wireless cameras that would work with this system, I found information about IP camera system. The Samsung system is going back to the store.

Now I just need a little advice on setting up a system with Blue Iris. I will need 8-10 cameras with 3 or 4 being wireless. Do the wireless cameras use Wi-Fi, or do they have a receiver that plugs into a switch or router? The location for the wireless cameras currently has pretty weak signal from my router.

From what I understand, a computer with an Intel core i5 4th generation or newer and 8gb of memory would be needed. Are there any other specs that I should look for?

For PoE cameras, is there any hardware that I will need in addition to a PoE switch? Also are there any specific brands or models that are more reliable?

zero-degrees

Known around here
Reaction score
welcome, most all this is covered in mult threads just spend a little time looking around the forum.

Also - just say no to wireless. Friends don't let Friends install wireless cameras! :headbang:

kanaga

n3wb
Reaction score
I only plan to use wireless on the back of my shed where it would not be easy to run wires

Camit

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
You buy Samsung tv's and phones maybe even blu ray player but you don't buy Samsung security cameras! I'm a Samsung fan boy. and even i and understand it.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
You buy Samsung tv's and phones maybe even blu ray player but you don't buy Samsung security cameras! I'm a Samsung fan boy. and even i and understand it.
I wouldnt buy a samsung phone either...until the figure out a way to allow OS and security updates direct from google....