NVR ds-7608ni-i2/8p firmware upgrade gone wrong.

davesims

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Messages
63
Reaction score
3
I am wondering what consumer affairs will think about that, we have the current model NVR that we cannot take full advantage of without the new firmware updates unless we purchased another exact same model if you get my drift
 

danaussie

n3wb
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
7
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I am wondering what consumer affairs will think about that, we have the current model NVR that we cannot take full advantage of without the new firmware updates unless we purchased another exact same model if you get my drift
They will probably get stuck in hikvision's horrible website trying to find out who to even talk to about this :banghead:
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Western Australia
I was at V4.1.50 build 180227 and went straight to V4.22.00 using usb stick plugged directly into the nvr front usb port. I think the problem arises if you try and upgrade from v3. I did this and bricked mine and sent it back to hikvision who flashed the v4.1.50 build. I had the corrupt user password interface that bricked mine originally.
Followed your lead, and flashed V4.22.00, THEN V4.22.05 myself from the USA website, just for the sake of learning, more than anything else. All went well. Cheers again.
 

triumph202

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
133
Location
Australia
I was told the same about bricking going from V3xxx to V4xxx by my Aussie seller- because there are hardware differences. Yet, you go to the US site and it says it can be done but a certain procedure has to be followed. (I don't have the link on me.)

Mine is currently playing up due to accidentally changing regions for a second time- thinking I was doing the right thing using the Aussie firmware. Seller's current solution is me paying $120 to get it fixed by Hikvision Australia. The procedures on the previous page (thanks guys) look like they could work.

If you do an update and get the symbols for the login (and your password fails) then contact your seller for the unlock file. That will fix it and get you the proper login back, even if you've used the incorrect region firmware. I originally found that out after using the Euro firmware. It also worked when I just updated to a later Aussie firmware- thinking I was still region locked to Australia, but apparently the Euro firmware I'd stayed with had changed the region! My issue is it now refuses to playback footage for more than 1 camera at a time via the NVR login.

I'm waiting for the Seller's response from Hikvision Australia. The whole region locking thing is a farce. There's no warning supplied with the NVR and (as stated) we're literally years behind in official firmware releases. I'd have been better off buying from O/S.
 

triumph202

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
133
Location
Australia
I was told the same about bricking going from V3xxx to V4xxx by my Aussie seller- because there are hardware differences. Yet, you go to the US site and it says it can be done but a certain procedure has to be followed. (I don't have the link on me.)

Warning for I-Series NVR users:
Before upgrading to v4.1.10 or v4.22.000 firmware. Be sure the NVR is on at least firmware 3.4.92 or 3.4.93. Failure to have the NVR on either of these firmware versions before upgrading to v4.1.10 or v4.22.000 could render the NVR in-operable.
 

triumph202

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
133
Location
Australia
After a long time fearing this process, I've decided to pull the trigger. Below is my journey, which I think may help someone. Reminder: I have the official legitimate australian version of the DS-7608NI-I2 / 8P NVR and cams DS-2CD2385FWD-I.

First thing I did was download the latest NVR firmware from the "europe" website. However I've actually downloaded it from the Netherlands website in english, accidentally. I then upgraded my NVR using that firmware via a USB stick, and that "semi-bricked" it. Once powered on, the user list was big and only had values with strange characters in it. The NVR became useless, I couldn't get past the login screen.
I proceeded to download the latest firmwares for the NVR (V4.1.64 build 190119 at the time)
Danaussie, what's the build date on your 7608NI-I2 and what was your original firmware? Mine is September 2016 build with the BNC connector (apparently that makes a difference to firmware) and I'm wondering if I can get V4.x working?
 

danaussie

n3wb
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
7
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Danaussie, what's the build date on your 7608NI-I2 and what was your original firmware? Mine is September 2016 build with the BNC connector (apparently that makes a difference to firmware) and I'm wondering if I can get V4.x working?
how do I find out? Is it only on a sticker? I've tried in the webui but doesn't seem to be there. Re software version I think I mentioned in one of my posts, its was version 3.4.93
 

triumph202

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
133
Location
Australia
how do I find out?
It's within the serial number- look for YYYYMMDD layout in it. (You can get the serial number up on the "System" info screen.)

I got mine working on the latest version 4.x Euro firmware. I'm just not so keen on the way the playback time line works and doing clips is a PITA.

BTW if you ever get locked out with the rubbish symbols in the log in after an update you can get the normal Hik unlock file from your seller and it will let you log in. Even with overseas firmware. That's how I originally got the Euro firmware on mine.
 

danaussie

n3wb
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
7
Location
Melbourne, Australia
It's within the serial number- look for YYYYMMDD layout in it. (You can get the serial number up on the "System" info screen.)

I got mine working on the latest version 4.x Euro firmware. I'm just not so keen on the way the playback time line works and doing clips is a PITA.

BTW if you ever get locked out with the rubbish symbols in the log in after an update you can get the normal Hik unlock file from your seller and it will let you log in. Even with overseas firmware. That's how I originally got the Euro firmware on mine.
20180313
 

triumph202

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
354
Reaction score
133
Location
Australia
A lot later build than mine then. It's probably best I found that out after trying the 4.x firmware, as I mightn't have been game enough to risk it.
 
Top