PoE Cameras Not Detected by NVR

keramics

n3wb
Reaction score
If anyone has a spare minute, this total newbie could use your sage wisdom and experience. I need some help figuring out what I (or my installers) might have done wrong trying to set up 2 Dahua 5442 cameras. The internet for my place goes to my router (Fios), and from there a run goes down to my HVAC closet where a PoE switch Netgear (GS308P) is placed. This switch provides internet to my living room and offices. My Dahua NVR5208-4KS2 is currently situated in one of my offices and plugged into the network there.

The installers came and mounted the cameras outside and ran PoE lines out to them from the HVAC closet (max distance of 40 ft. per run, if not shorter). They assured me they tested their lines before plugging everything in to make sure the wires weren't bad. I did not get a chance to do any sort of set-up before they mounted the cameras - they basically were the first ones to open the camera boxes. Both of the cameras are plugged into 2 of the 4 powered ports on the Netgear switch. I installed my WD Purple drive in my NVR and plugged it in, hoping that after a quick set-up, it would just detect the 2 cameras. Note that I'm not network savvy, so the NVR set-up for me was mostly just setting the time zone and video type as "NTSC" and not "PAL". However, I currently don't see either camera in the "Camera List" of the NVR GUI. I thought it would populate here and I could just hit "Add" and be all set.

Any help is appreciated for what might be wrong or what I can do to get these detected by the NVR! Thanks so much!!

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score