POE Router - The crucial specs, Advice on how to buy Used unit

Fastb

Known around here
Reaction score
All,

With your help, I’ve learned, experimented, etc. With cams hooked up temporarily, I could move them easily to dial in cam height/location/FOV. Temporarily: Cat6 cables strung out my 2nd floor office/shop, across the roof, thru garden, or down my inside hall.

Now I’m ready to;
- a) relocate the demarcation point from my office to a closet,
- b) pull cat6 cables behind walls, thru attic, etc (wifey doesn't see cables as "cool")
- c) upgrade my 8 port POE switch. I have 6 cams now, it’s not enough. And I may end up with 12 cams.

My post here is centered on item c), ie: POE Switch Guidance

Note: Current POE switch:
8-Port Gigabit PoE Switch,IEEE 802.3at/af, Max Output 124W

As a newbie, I over-bought for capabilities I don’t need (in hindsight). That switch is overkill. Namely, 8 Gb ports. (for cameras? Overkill). Each Cam's stream barely hits 100Mb.

This forum has advised to buy used eqpmt on e-bay. Why? IT departments are upgrading 10/100 gear and installing 1000Mb gear. So there’s a ton of used eqpmt that’s cheap and perfectly usable for a home cam system. Cool!

So here’s my shopping criteria. Comments welcome!
- My NVR’s single input port can handle 200Mb input stream from cams. (I’m only using a fraction of that now)
- Therefore, I think I need a POE switch with a switch-to-NVR port that exceeds 100Mb
- Some POE switches offer 10/100MB on POE ports. And Gb on the switch’s host port. Do I need that?
- If my NVR accepts 200Mb of video from cams, should I avoid a POE switch that only sends 100Mb to the NVR?

Maybe I got into the weeds. My bad.

Q1: What used POE switch specs should I look for when shopping on E-Bay?
Q2: Will a 10/100 POE switch throttle the video feed to my NVR (assuming 12 cameras max)

Fastb

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
used is not always best as old switches are not energy efficient..

Deali

Young grasshopper
Reaction score