Problems generating new password

dgwasw

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 15, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
19
Location
Australia
"With all of the replies you have sent,
if you had just forwarded your details,
you'd have your password by now
but it seems you like to insist on not giving your details
so I'm afraid you will have to try again tomorrow. "
I read this as you have pissed Hikvision off by not sending correct details.
However they don’t support end uses normally.

You now have three open threads on this subject and they are also link by an IP address to your bird cage threads which have streamed on line. Have your camera’s been Hacked.
When I asked for details you failed to respond.

Do as Alastair Stevenson has advised with SADP tool for camera’s connected to the NVR POE ports. Connect your PC to a spare NVR POE port, do this by taking a lan cable and connecting one end to the spare POE port and the other to the PC lan point. Don’t go via the router.

In 2017 I default a Hikvision NVR which locked me out of eight Hikvision cameras.
Hikvision would not support me. However Goggle landed on this forum and as non members can read posts, by following what Alastair Stevenson had posted, this not young grasshopper electrical contactor recovered on his own.

You need to read and follow what Alastair says.
Post a full list of your nonworking camera’s models types and current firmware.
Read existing threads / posts for other means to reset Hikvision passwords.
Hikvision cameras connected to POE Ports will have address 192.168.254.* by default.
Hikvision Lan connected cameras will have your router IP address range.
Don’t start any more threads on the same subject
 

Ironside69

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
105
Reaction score
18
Location
Trawler Town
Thanks guys. I went to bed before you posted the latest information. I will read it all and try and I just what you have said.
 

Ironside69

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
105
Reaction score
18
Location
Trawler Town
For the benefit of others who are reading this thread ...

The Hikvision NVR does not operate a DHCP server on the PoE ports, or anywhere else.
When the NVR is given the admin password and IP address of a camera so it can connect to it - it simply has administrative control over the camera, giving the ability to configure a wide range of settable parameters, including the network.
DHCP in the sense that a LAN router provides that service is not a feature of the NVR.
You will have to forgive me for asking what may appear to you to be simple, straightforward questions. However, when you talk about the NVR not using DHCP. Does this mean I should never check the DHCP box within SADP tool?
 

Ironside69

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
105
Reaction score
18
Location
Trawler Town
I read this as you have pissed Hikvision off by not sending correct details.
However they don’t support end uses normally.

You now have three open threads on this subject and they are also link by an IP address to your bird cage threads which have streamed on line. Have your camera’s been Hacked.
When I asked for details you failed to respond.

Do as Alastair Stevenson has advised with SADP tool for camera’s connected to the NVR POE ports. Connect your PC to a spare NVR POE port, do this by taking a lan cable and connecting one end to the spare POE port and the other to the PC lan point. Don’t go via the router.

In 2017 I default a Hikvision NVR which locked me out of eight Hikvision cameras.
Hikvision would not support me. However Goggle landed on this forum and as non members can read posts, by following what Alastair Stevenson had posted, this not young grasshopper electrical contactor recovered on his own.

You need to read and follow what Alastair says.
Post a full list of your nonworking camera’s models types and current firmware.
Read existing threads / posts for other means to reset Hikvision passwords.
Hikvision cameras connected to POE Ports will have address 192.168.254.* by default.
Hikvision Lan connected cameras will have your router IP address range.
Don’t start any more threads on the same subject
I sent Hikvision Support UK exactly what is stated when you want to reset your password in SADP. They don't ask for your name or address. They simply request that you export the XML file and send it to them. And then they will return an XML file which will enable you to reset your password. I've done it twice already, with two of my cameras which are now working. It was painless and they appeared to be very helpful and cooperated with me. Then it all seem to get silly and they started asking for other details.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,893
Reaction score
5,043
Location
Scotland
The context was for the situation when the camera is connected to NVR PoE ports. In this situation the NVR directly manages the camera, so DHCP is not relevant.

When the camera is on the LAN it's best practice to set a fixed address on the camera, so that it's location on the network is known by devices such as an NVR.
Under DHCP the IP address can change on the periodic renewals.
You can still use the DHCP service and achieve the fixed, known address by using the 'reservations' feature of a DHCP server.
 

Ironside69

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
105
Reaction score
18
Location
Trawler Town
Okay, I think that makes a little bit of sense now. Obviously, when all my cameras are plugged into the NVR, then I can only see the NVR in SADP. The only time I have checked the "enable DHCP" box is when I have plugged one of my cameras directly into my network. This is when the network appears to assign its own IP address to the camera. I've noticed that when this happens, I am able to apply for an XML file to reset the password in SADP. I can then log into the camera through the browser and set it back to default. I have then plugged them into my NVR under "plug and play" settings and they are working fine.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,893
Reaction score
5,043
Location
Scotland
when all my cameras are plugged into the NVR, then I can only see the NVR in SADP.
Unless you connect the PC to an unused NVR PoE port, in which case all of them will become visible.

The only time I have checked the "enable DHCP" box is when I have plugged one of my cameras directly into my network.
To be able to do that using SADP and for the setting to be accepted - you need to know the admin password for the camera.

You still have one camera that you don't know the password for?
Check in SADP what the firmware version is.
 

Ironside69

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
105
Reaction score
18
Location
Trawler Town
Unless you connect the PC to an unused NVR PoE port, in which case all of them will become visible.


To be able to do that using SADP and for the setting to be accepted - you need to know the admin password for the camera.

You still have one camera that you don't know the password for?
Check in SADP what the firmware version is.
At the moment I am in a different room to where my NVR is located, so I can't run a cable between the PC into the box.

I've given up any hope of getting anywhere with UK support Hikvision. They are just a bunch of rude, unhelpful idiots.

However, I am talking to support@hikvision.com Regarding one of the DS cameras that I have got. They have asked me for the serial number for this camera. If I could get this camera working then I'll be happy. But I've got three cameras working so we are three-quarter of the way there. Shame I couldn't get that password generator to work. That would have solved all my problems.
 

Ironside69

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
105
Reaction score
18
Location
Trawler Town
Just a quick follow up. I have managed to get all but one of the cameras reset with a new password, and they are all working now. I'm just waiting for an XML file to come back through so I can get the last camera working. In fact, when I look at IVMS 4200 The format of how the cameras are listed looks more like it should do.

Two of the cameras are HikVision. So I contacted Hikvision Support and they were nothing but extremely helpful. As you know I was having issues with support.uk@hikvision. In fact, they just started ignoring my emails. I had one final Hi look camera that I needed the password resetting. So I used a completely different email address and used my middle name, hoping that they wouldn't recognise me. I sent off the XML file and got one back within an hour. No silly questions about my identity. So when they want to help you. They are very good at it.
 
Top