Raspbery Pi2 Camera Monitor w/Rpisurv

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
482
Location
Jersey Shore
He missed the port :554 after th IP adress
I think that was what he missed when trying omxplayer. It looked to me he never went back to the script. I'll put it on the back burner and wait.
 

SvenVD

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
31
Try

Code:
sudo git clone https://github.com:SvenVD/rpisurv.git
then
Code:
sudo run install.sh
and then add your cams and the number of columns here - make shure to have checked the rtsp streams in VLC player before you insert them here:
Code:
sudo nano /etc/rpisurv/surveillance.yml

The last step should be
Code:
sudo nano /etc/rpisurv
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
482
Location
Jersey Shore
The last step should be
Code:
sudo nano /etc/rpisurv
Also the second step should have a change directory to rpisurv added.

cd rpisurv
sudo ./install.sh

That is what worked for me, and as SvenVD told me, "No tabs when editing the rpisurv file"
 

cball

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
98
Reaction score
18
Location
North Germany
Also the second step should have a change directory to rpisurv added.

cd rpisurv
sudo ./install.sh

That is what worked for me, and as SvenVD told me, "No tabs when editing the rpisurv file"
Thanks for the changes - I just wrote down what I remembered. @SvenVD do you want to put
Code:
gpu_mem=512
into the install.sh?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
Ok , so I got it installed.

I put in one camera as a sample and rebooted my system and it came up with a bunch of errors and I can put it on here from the error log I believe.

Just seems like the readme is missing a few steps, from a non linux or Pi user.

I'm excited to get it working though, I will verify my rtsp stream on my windows pc

This is all on a Raspberry pi 2, does it matter?
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
482
Location
Jersey Shore
Ok , so I got it installed.

I put in one camera as a sample and rebooted my system and it came up with a bunch of errors and I can put it on here from the error log I believe.

Just seems like the readme is missing a few steps, from a non linux or Pi user.

I'm excited to get it working though, I will verify my rtsp stream on my windows pc

This is all on a Raspberry pi 2, does it matter?
I had the same thing which turned out to be caused by using the "tab" key when editing the rpisurv file. You cannot use the tab key, just space it out.
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
I had the same thing which turned out to be caused by using the "tab" key when editing the rpisurv file. You cannot use the tab key, just space it out.
I dont remember tabbing. All I did was change what was in the sample file of one camera, but I'll try it
 

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
482
Location
Jersey Shore
I dont remember tabbing. All I did was change what was in the sample file of one camera, but I'll try it
If the last line of the error says something about a "t" then that is the problem, if not make sure to include port 554 in you string.
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
This is what I got for the error , I ran it in the terminal without rebooting

2016/04/14 05:48:07 - l_default - DEBUG - autodetected resolution of['1824', '984']
2016/04/14 05:48:07 - l_default - DEBUG - nr_of_columns = 2
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "surveillance.py", line 237, in <module>
all_camera_streams=setup_camera_streams(rtsp_urls)
File "surveillance.py", line 185, in setup_camera_streams
cam_stream=CameraStream(cam_stream_name,rtsp_url)
File "surveillance.py", line 24, in __init__
self.port = self.parsed.port
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urlparse.py", line 113, in port
port = int(port, 10)
ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: '<port>'

- - - Updated - - -

I only changed the 1st camera and left the rest at default.
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,329
Reaction score
5,325
Location
Denver, CO
it has a problem parsing the uri you provided, make sure you gave it a port..

remove the lines you dont want..
like this is what I have for dahua nvr
Code:
    rtsp_urls:
        - "rtsp://username:password@192.168.42.19:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=4&subtype=1"
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
It worked with vlc

I added the port number @nayr and now it worked when I ran it manually.

How do you end the program when you are running it in xwindows? I did it with only one camera and now I am going to try out the other 2 cameras and see how it does
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TechBill

Known around here
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
1,772
Reaction score
1,182
I
How do you end the program when you are running it in xwindows? I did it with only one camera and now I am going to try out the other 2 cameras and see how it does
Try CTRL + ALT + Backspace

Bill
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
I'll try that thanks
Now when I reboot it fails to load with the single camera and comes.up with this error uploadfromtaptalk1460657079263.jpg
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
Ok I figured it out with one camera and I don't know why but the rpicamera file was blank when I rebooted. I still can't get the program to quit after I load windows
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
133
UPDATE

Got it working with one camera and I have 2 others in the camera config file. I changed the order of the cameras and which ever camera is listed first always works. I have it hooked up to ethernet and wifi, cant figure out now how to turn off wifi.

I have been using the nano command to change the settings remotely with ssh. Any ideas?

One camera is working great, just not showing any other cameras.

This is what my configuration file looks like


essentials:
#These are the rtsp streams you want the program to display #The stream$ rtsp_urls:
#Dlink dcs-5222l example
- "rtsp://admin:12345@192.168.1.120:554/MPEG-4/ch1/main/av_stream"
GNU nano 2.2.6 File: rpisurv
essentials:
#These are the rtsp streams you want the program to display #The stream$ rtsp_urls:
#Dlink dcs-5222l example
- "rtsp://admin:12345@192.168.1.120:554/MPEG-4/ch1/main/av_stream"
- "rtps://admin:12345@192.168.1.121:554/MPEG-4/ch1/main/av_stream"
- "rtps://admin:12345@192.168.1.122:554/MPEG-4/ch1/main/av_stream" #How many columns you want the program to use, it will autocalculate the$ nr_of_columns: "2"

#!!!Normal users do not need to edit this section!!! advanced: ##Enable this option if you want to have a fixed width of all your camer$ ##By default rpisurv autocalculates this value, this can cause streams t$ ##if this value exceeds the available height, rpisurv will fallback to a$ #fixed_width: 500

##Enable this option if you want to have a fixed height for all your cam$ ##By default rpisurv autocalculates this value, this can cause streams t$ ##if this value exceeds the available height, rpisurv will fallback to a$ #fixed_height: 500

#These are fallbacks if autodection fails;
#Normally you do not need to configure these
fallbacks:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

bob2701

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
482
Location
Jersey Shore
Have you tested each camera in VLC or just the first one? Hard to tell if your config is the way it shows or got messed up when you pasted it. Here is a snip of my setup.

config.JPG
 
Top