Recommendations for Reasonable Priced non-subscription Wifi Cams to test?

LTek

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm looking to test cams in my most problematic locations in my home where signals drop frequently. I think the issue is the cams (see below for the details).

Many people have Wyse Cams... anyone ever compare Wyse v2 to Samsung's most recent cams?

What about other 'reasonable priced' (e.g. not more than approx $100 each) cams?

Please...
ONLY recommend Wifi cams that DO NOT require a subscription and they must be usable on Blue Iris! :)
Do NOT recommend wired cams unless you are willing to come wire them all for free. I have 3 level home and it would cost thousands of $ (literally) to put wire in the needed locations.

thx for the help!

<situation details>
I've been using Samsung Smartcams, aka Wisenet, for a few years now. Cycled through multiple versions and overall been pretty OK with them. But as I increased #s from a few, to 10 across 3 floors, it seems that they dont hold a signal well. All will loose connection at times (and come back on) and a few, loose connection multiple times a day - and yes, usually restore minutes or an hour later.

I recently changed from using 2 separate ASUS AC routers (1 Router/AP + 1 AP) to Unifi AC-LR (top floor - most coverage areas) + ASUS Router/AP (basement, only 2 cams)... this has really not changed things much even though the Unifi has a much stronger signal at the main and top floor cams - and even reaches to the basement.

I've very well versed at setting up Wifi networks and understand how to select channels, bandwitdh settings ,etc... my 5ghz bands have little to no interference and no overlap with other radios. Most cams are on 5Ghz. 2.4Ghz has very little interference. The cams can self-select as the SSID is the same on both 2G & 5G.

So, I'm wanting to test if the issue is the Cams have weak antennas / wifi chips and the maybe the Wifi signal is fine?

</situation details>

Last edited:

LTek