Review-Dahua DB-11 Video Door Bell

Morrow

n3wb
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Location
Calgary, Alberta
Long shot, but did you give the upgrade process enough time to reflash and boot-up? In the past I've mistakenly thought the DB11 hadn't booted as there isn't any indicator lights when it's powered and initially the ring button will not respond during the boot cycle. I'd give it at least 5 minutes to be sure.

Failing that, you may want to try the SD card firmware recovery procedure as documented here. There's also an older firmware file (dated 20191014) that can be downloaded from here which is worth a try.
Thanks for the help. I did not get through the update. It lost its ability to power up sometime while sitting on my desk. I removed it because it would go offline every time the doorbell was rung. Video would cutout for 90 seconds and then come back online. Not the greatest feature. While powered up on USB it works great, stays online when a button is pressed. Thought I had it solved. Went to reinstall and it wont work off of doorbell wiring.

Thought I would try a firmware update, but the Config tool keeps telling me the device is offline. I found the older config tool so I'll try that.
 

giomania

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
768
Reaction score
520
Transformer up to snuff?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
 

Morrow

n3wb
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Location
Calgary, Alberta
It worked fine connected to transformer in the past. And transformer still works with my dumb doorbell and mechanical chime. The house is only 16 months old so I doubt it has partially failed in that time.

Another new issue is now I can't even get the DB11 added to any config tool or the NVR. It is being found if I search by Mac address (wrong on the sticker BTW) but the TCP port is always 0. And using the IP address assigned I can't open a web UI. However it works on the IMOU app. Yet I can't find any config details on the IMOU app itself.
 

Galaxy Explorer

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
10
Location
London
Using the IP address assigned I can't open a web UI. However it works on the IMOU app. Yet I can't find any config details on the IMOU app itself.
The DB11 does not have a web UI as stated on the datasheet and Wiki, however some parameters can be tweated using the SmartPSS client software which can be download here, though I would be careful doing this as it's an unsupported feature. Changing some parameters may have undesired results, using the Imou app is the only supported method.

Another new issue is now I can't even get the DB11 added to any config tool or the NVR. It is being found if I search by Mac address (wrong on the sticker BTW) but the TCP port is always 0.
The DB11 is intended to be connected using the P2P feature and serial number (QR barcode) as described here. It's also possible to connect using the private port 37777 though you may need to manually create the stream profile.
 

Aus_fas

n3wb
Joined
Aug 24, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
It worked fine connected to transformer in the past. And transformer still works with my dumb doorbell and mechanical chime. The house is only 16 months old so I doubt it has partially failed in that time.

Another new issue is now I can't even get the DB11 added to any config tool or the NVR. It is being found if I search by Mac address (wrong on the sticker BTW) but the TCP port is always 0. And using the IP address assigned I can't open a web UI. However it works on the IMOU app. Yet I can't find any config details on the IMOU app itself.
I lost connection on the weekend. Tried resetting but it's not working. Power and blue light is there but not reset and hotspot to connect.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Canada
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum but not new to CCTV installations. We switching surveillance brands and are looking for a compatible video doorbell that we can integrate with the new brand we are using and am wondering if this unit allows for connection to a third party NVR. Other than Axis (way too pricey) I haven't been able to locate a cost effective unit that is not proprietary to their system and am hoping this unit is capable of filling the void for us.

Can someone please inform if they have this working on a non Dahua recorder and what issues (if any) there are getting it working.
 

BaiginLong

n3wb
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
Houston, TX
I lost the security screw for the bottom of the DB11 on my current install. Anyone know definitely the dimensions of it and threading so I can get a replacement? Better yet, anyone know where those are sold?
 

oapgt

n3wb
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Location
Georgia, USA
Just FYI, I ran into an issue today with what I think was my SD card causing boot issues (just formatted it and am about to put it back in).

But, in trying to solve it, I ended up flashing the firmware. The Dahua Wiki no longer has a link to the 12/2/2019 version of the firmware, only the 10/14/19 version. Once I flashed the 10/14/19 version via ConfigTool, on reboot, the Imou app told me there was a firmware upgrade available for my device and it is the 12/2/19 version.

Just flashed that version and everything appears to be working. I'll mess with the image settings in ConfigTool later and see if my IR switch problem has been resolved.
 

Cameraguy

Known around here
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
1,130
Reaction score
663
Just FYI, I ran into an issue today with what I think was my SD card causing boot issues (just formatted it and am about to put it back in).

But, in trying to solve it, I ended up flashing the firmware. The Dahua Wiki no longer has a link to the 12/2/2019 version of the firmware, only the 10/14/19 version. Once I flashed the 10/14/19 version via ConfigTool, on reboot, the Imou app told me there was a firmware upgrade available for my device and it is the 12/2/19 version.

Just flashed that version and everything appears to be working. I'll mess with the image settings in ConfigTool later and see if my IR switch problem has been resolved.
Were you losing wifi signal and cutting out when ir came on? That's my problem
 

oapgt

n3wb
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Location
Georgia, USA
Nope. Had strong Wifi and constant connectivity (ping) but it kept rebooting before I could do anything and the app showed it offline.

Formatting the SD card on my laptop fixed that problem.

And, for those debating about upgrading, let me tell you the absolute BEST part of the new upgrade....MY MECHANICAL CHIME ONLY RINGS ONCE!

Yep, that's right, only a single mechanical chime ring when someone presses the button.

That was one of the things driving me back to the Ring doorbell. Maybe this is not news but to me, it is amazing.
 

Galaxy Explorer

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
10
Location
London
..., I ended up flashing the firmware. The Dahua Wiki no longer has a link to the 12/2/2019 version of the firmware, only the 10/14/19 version. Once I flashed the 10/14/19 version via ConfigTool, on reboot, the Imou app told me there was a firmware upgrade available for my device and it is the 12/2/19 version. Just flashed that version and everything appears to be working.
Excellent feedback. Unsure why the Dahua Wiki page is using the old firmware file, the newer file (R.20191202) can be downloaded from here. Futhermore, I am curious to why they haven't pushed this firmware update through the Imou mobile app which is still using (R.20180919) as the latest which is well over a year old. It seems that Dahua have created a new software branch for the LincX2PRO consumer series, how that differs from the Imou software would be interesting to know (or perhaps they are just cautious about pushing firmware updates).
 

spankdog

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
195
Reaction score
69
Location
Atlanta
Just updated my firmware using the config tool and so far so good. After upgrade the app prompted for another upgrade like @oapgt stated. Just completed that upgrade everything looks good.
 

Gadget -X

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 23, 2018
Messages
170
Reaction score
60
Wondering if anyone got this doorbell to work on a Dahua NVR? If so what configuration did you use?

Thank You

Mike
 
Top