Review-Dahua IPC-HDBW4231F-E2-M Dual Starlight Cam

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by looney2ns, May 23, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,815
    Likes Received:
    5,276
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    The best way always use one brand for the whole system.
     
    weigle2 and looney2ns like this.
  2. maxxborist

    maxxborist n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone having issues with duplicate push notifications in IDMSS while using these cameras? I can't seem to fix the problem.
     
  3. Alan Carter

    Alan Carter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    47
    I can't look at this one with a straight face @looney2s
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  4. m3tpe

    m3tpe Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Having some issues with this camera. I installed it couple days ago and have been running fine until today. It keeps loosing connection and Blue Iris shows no connection for a few seconds, then it comes back online.. When I view the video, it's super lagged out and objects get on the screen and it's stuck on the screen even tho it's already out of sight.

    There's 5 cameras on the switch. The switch is plugged into a powerline adapter
    This is the 6th camera. Other cameras don't seem to have an issue.
     
  5. usaf_pride

    usaf_pride Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    118
    Simple test is to unplug 2 other cameras (this is really camera 6 & 7) and see what your results are.
     
  6. ingenium

    ingenium n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Powerline adapter is probably your issue. They should be avoided whenever possible, because they have unpredictable latency spikes and packet loss. In some cases a dedicated wifi link might even be better. Is MOCA a possibility instead?

    To confirm that's the issue, I'd try moving the Blue Iris computer temporarily and plug into the switch directly to see if the issue goes away. Or temporarily use a really long ethernet cable to connect them.
     
  7. m3tpe

    m3tpe Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there a reason that the 5 other cameras don't lag or drop connection?
     
  8. ingenium

    ingenium n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    It might just be the thing that puts the link over the limit. Or maybe that camera uses a higher bitrate, or it's more sensitive to link jitter and packet loss. I just know that powerline causes issues for a lot of people.

    But as usaf_pride said, maybe try unplugging some of the other cameras first and see if it still drops out. If it works after disconnecting the other cameras, then it's definitely the powerline.
     
  9. m3tpe

    m3tpe Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    I went into every camera and set the bitrate to VBR. reduced framerate all to 15. changed couple cams to 1080p. now i can get a stable connection on the dual lens dahua. seems like i was overloading the powerline signal with too much data. now it seems stable again.
     
  10. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    So far, I am very pleased with this camera. I was initially sent the wrong one with the 2.8mm lens and Andy straightened it out by getting me the 3.6mm. I have seven cameras covering the entire exterior of my residence. Initially, I wasn't interested in any interior cameras. When I saw this camera, I then reconsidered having an interior camera to help with my self-monitored alarm system in case someone got inside. I have an L-shaped 1800 sq. foot home. I placed this camera in the hallway where the 90 degree turn is and it will allow me to see pretty much down the entire length of the house from all the access points. I have also noticed how hot this camera gets and followed a previous recommendation of using washers to keep it off the ceiling about 1/8" to help with a little air flow. The only thing I am trying to figure out is my CPU usage after installing it. I was averaging around 28-35% CPU usage with the seven exterior cameras. However, it jumped to 55-65% after installing this camera with the same exact settings. I have no idea why the CPU usage jumped so high adding this one camera.

    Cam8-2_-1303857917[5569].jpg Cam8-1_1307258745[5570].jpg IMG_3345[5576].jpg
     
  11. motef

    motef n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    So just got this delivered from Andy yesterday.

    Straight out of the box from the Camera UI I only have one camera?

    Not sure what I am doing wrong.

    I can also setup in BI and get only 1 camera. Even setting up both cameras in BI the second cam just shows as no signal.

    Camera UI

    [​IMG]

    BI

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

     
  12. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Not sure why its only showing one camera on the Dahua UI. You might find an answer in the prior 23 pages if you haven't read through all of them yet. I compared your Blue Iris settings to mine. The only difference I see is that you have a single forward slash at the beginning of the video path for camera 2 while I have two. The rest is the same. I checked the video path on camera 1 and it begins with only one forward slash. Not sure how that comes into play.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
  13. botics

    botics Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Coral Gables, Florida
    Paint the washers flat white?
     
    archedraft and Seven Point Supp like this.
  14. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    That's definitely a final touch I could put on it, although the washers are barely visible as is.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
    botics likes this.
  15. scull20

    scull20 n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    NJ
    Has there been any update/resolution on the IVS only being active in one channel at a time? I have my camera set up properly and am able to set up intrusion zones and tripwires in both channels, but only one will be active at a time.

    @EMPIRETECANDY any updates or firmware updates?
     
  16. concord

    concord Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    43
    As stated in Looney's second post (Review-Dahua IPC-HDBW4231F-E2-M Dual Starlight Cam), you define two separate cam configs in Blue Iris and use "channel=1" for one an "channel=2" for the other in the path string...
     
  17. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Looks like he tried, but did something wrong in the process.
     
  18. concord

    concord Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    43
    Another diff is Looney had the "Camera" field setting set to "1", with channel=2... motef has "Camera" set to 2... Maybe setting it to 1 (for both cams) and have channel-1 for one and channel=2 the second one might do the trick...
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
  19. DRZmaui

    DRZmaui Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    reno
    Like to thank you guys about reducing the camera temp with spacers

    Read the post, then checked my camera. Sure enough, a bit warm to the touch. Not hot, but still warm enough to be a concern. After placing spacers between the cam and wall, big difference. A very noticeable difference in reducing temps. Think should lengthen the life of the unit.


    Thanks again.
    dual.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Ok, I have to ask this again. Has anyone noticed a good jump in their CPU usage with this dual camera? Previously, I had seven cameras (a few 6mp) that averaged around 28-35%. After installing this camera, it jumped up to about 55-66%. I wouldn't have expected that much of a jump. The settings for this camera are the same as the other seven. When I disable this camera, it immediately drops down to its original CPU usage.