Review-Dahua IPC-HDBW4231F-E2-M Dual Starlight Cam

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by looney2ns, May 23, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. archedraft

    archedraft Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    North America
    What happens if you enable this camera and disable 2 others?
     
  2. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I just gave that a try. I disabled three other cameras while leaving this dual camera enabled to get the CPU usage back down to where the original seven had been. It just seems like this dual camera is requiring an extra amount of processing power, at least for me. Maybe that's why it gets so hot.
     
  3. archedraft

    archedraft Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    North America
    I actually ended up getting one of these yesterday. Once it arrives and I find time to go in the attic, I’ll post back with the results on my system.
     
  4. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,758
    Likes Received:
    5,127
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    Hey guys,
    I Went to the page and I was able to setup IVS for IPC2; unfortunately, IPC2 does not record when the wires are tripped. Same settings on IPC1 produce numerous recordings as expected. Any ideas? Thanks!
     
  5. usaf_pride

    usaf_pride Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    114
    What are your other cameras? What are their bitrates, encoding, etc.? Unless everything is the same, you can't make a comparison.
     
  6. bobsmith

    bobsmith n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    9
    Has anyone tried the PFB203 to mount this horizontally against a wall. I don't want to mount the camera flat against the wall.
     
  7. Jimbo7

    Jimbo7 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Yep - down the side of the house in corridor configuration. Also used the equivalent for the single camera version at the back door.

    J
     
  8. archedraft

    archedraft Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    North America
    FYI, camera came in today and I was able to connect it to BI. My previous idle cpu usage was about 19-21% and now with both channels active and recording it’s around 22-24%. Hope that helps.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  9. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Doesn't help my situation. With seven active and recording cameras, it fluctuates from 35-45%. Enabling this dual camera it bumps up around 55-65%.
     
  10. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    39
    I have ten cameras, with that cpu usage. 10 FPS recording and a i5-7500 cpu.
     
  11. pozzello

    pozzello Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    468
    i belive this is a known firmware issue with this cam. IVS can be enabled for only one of the cams (not both at same time), for some reason...
     
    giomania likes this.
  12. archedraft

    archedraft Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    North America
    What’s your bitrate set at? At 4096 for both cameras my cpu idles around 22%. If I change both to the max of 5888 my cpu idles around 40%.
     
    flynreelow likes this.
  13. Seven Point Supp

    Seven Point Supp n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Bit rate at 4096 and 15fps for all cameras.
     
  14. techguypaul

    techguypaul n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone know if this has been resolved?
     
  15. tran383

    tran383 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Looks good, may I asked what you used? Is this powder coated?
     
    giomania likes this.
  16. bickford

    bickford Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    151
    I used liquid paint with a lacquer roller

    [​IMG]
     
    EMPIRETECANDY likes this.
  17. tran383

    tran383 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Does anyone know if there's an inverted corner mount for this installation?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. weigle2

    weigle2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    The Data Sheet from Dahua lists the PFA137 junction box you can mount to a soffit/wall. And the PFB203w for wall mounting.

    IPC-HDBW4231F-E2-M/M12
     
  19. tran383

    tran383 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I was hoping there was something at 45 degree angle because if I mounted using the junction box, I wouldn't get as much coverage from the wall I am mounting on. I saw some corner brackets for this, but this would be the opposite of that corner mount.
     
  20. MnemonicMonkey

    MnemonicMonkey n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    If nothing else, you can use the PFB203 and drill and tap your own holes in it with the camera rotated to the desired angle.

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk