Review: Dahua SD5A425XA-HNR 4MP 25x Starlight IR PTZ

Wildcat_1

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
827
Reaction score
1,383
Location
US
@therealdeal74

Definitely need to fault isolate what you are seeing in steps.

1) 100% change your switch. If its only POE, not POE+ then that is not even enough to sustain power to the camera (POE = 12.95w, POE+ = 25.5w with overhead up to 30 per port, cam needs up to 20w with a little overhead too)
2) Absolutely get a BI ticket and post the question there RE: responsiveness
3) Completely disconnect the camera from BI, delete it from the config and have it sit as standalone
4) Delete all presets and do a PTZ restart
5) Test again (while still being disconnected from BI)
6) Factory default the PTZ (and I mean blow all settings away not just network, full factory default)
7) Set 2 test presets and test again (without ever setting up in BI)

If you don't have the right POE+ switch not only are you starving the camera of power but you are running the risk of damaging it as it will continually either stop functioning momentarily or force it to hang, reboot and restart. This is not a good situation for any camera let alone a PTZ that could be mid function (moving etc) when power dips too low.

Feel free to DM me and I can jump on your system and take a look BUT definitely take care of step 1 first without fail.

HTH



Hi thanks for the offer to help, really appreciate it. The switch I have is a an 8 port with 120 watts, it is not a POE+ switch. I made the assumption that it just has an overall budget of 120 watts and being an inexpensive Chinese made switch there wasn't regulation on the power between ports. I got it free so I can't complain.

The presets are having problems in both BI and on the camera GUI. It just doesn't get back to the same spot all the time and the camera is mounted solid. Here is a link to the problem, you can see that when I move it and go back to the Sidewalk PTZ, the position isn't the same you can look at the bottom left corner and see stucco sometimes and sometimes not. I noticed that when it goes back to the wrong position, the camera will correct it's position moments later. So the camera is correcting itself but initially moving to the wrong spot. This was the shifting problem I was seeing. The camera is on the latest firmware.

Andy got back to me quickly and says BI is having problems with the Dahua 2.0 PTZ cameras. Andy suggests using a Dahua NVR and I have one of the newer ones but I just got too used to the speed of BI. I am not a fan of the Dahua GUI.

I'll submit a ticket in with BI to see if they have a solution or are aware after I test it with a 30 watt POE injector I have coming in tomorrow.
 

therealdeal74

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
44
Reaction score
23
@therealdeal74

Definitely need to fault isolate what you are seeing in steps.

1) 100% change your switch. If its only POE, not POE+ then that is not even enough to sustain power to the camera (POE = 12.95w, POE+ = 25.5w with overhead up to 30 per port, cam needs up to 20w with a little overhead too)
2) Absolutely get a BI ticket and post the question there RE: responsiveness
3) Completely disconnect the camera from BI, delete it from the config and have it sit as standalone
4) Delete all presets and do a PTZ restart
5) Test again (while still being disconnected from BI)
6) Factory default the PTZ (and I mean blow all settings away not just network, full factory default)
7) Set 2 test presets and test again (without ever setting up in BI)

If you don't have the right POE+ switch not only are you starving the camera of power but you are running the risk of damaging it as it will continually either stop functioning momentarily or force it to hang, reboot and restart. This is not a good situation for any camera let alone a PTZ that could be mid function (moving etc) when power dips too low.

Feel free to DM me and I can jump on your system and take a look BUT definitely take care of step 1 first without fail.

HTH
Thanks for the info. I will try the rest tonight. Actually I just looked at the link for the switch I have and it is POE+ surprisingly, but I went ahead and ordered another POE+ injector just in case. It was just delivered today. I did run Cat 6E to the camera as well.

Last night I was having focus issues, the night image was horrible on the default settings. I saw a tiny spider on the lens and thought he was the source of the problem. So I climbed up to clean the lens and noticed that the turret has a bit of play in it which I thought was unusual. So I started to take a video and then as soon as I was turning the turret to show the play, I heard something drop inside of the camera. Sounded as if a screw fell down, you can hear it in the first second of the video. Here's a link to the video. Can you check if the turret should have as much play as mine does? I've never worked with a PTZ that had any amount of play and this could explain why I get a bit of shift when panning around and why there it's somewhat unresponsive to clicking on the arrows to pan.

One other thing I forgot to mention, when I first powered it on, there was a grinding noise and I thought to myself well this is going to be one of those loud cameras I read about on the forum. Then after that, it was never loud again, this thing seems to be quieter than my 49225.

I'll try it all again with the injector tonight and follow your steps with BI disconnected.
 

therealdeal74

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
44
Reaction score
23
I removed the camera because I was certain there was something loose in it and talked to Andy before opening the camera. It wasn't hard to take it apart and inside the camera on the side there was an extra screw. It was in a compartment where the only other entrance was on the other side and there was nowhere in that compartment that I could find a screw missing. But it was the same type of screw used to hold the circuit board so I have a feeling this was dropped in during manufacturing and left there by mistake. Picture shows screw as a I found it.

1596744126818.png

I was surprised the camera was easy to disassemble, in fact that explains why they give you the star wrench to take it apart. The dome which I painted to match my house is easily removed so that you can paint it. I looked took various covers off to see if anything else was obvious but it was not.

I performed all the steps Wildcat_1 mentioned and I think there is something wrong with the unit I have. I have to mention the play in the camera, I think that is indicative of the problem. When I pan left or right, the camera bounces back after it stops. It doesn't stop and stay still, it bounces back ever so slightly. When the camera is powered, I can swivel it left or right freely for a centimeter or two. I don't think it should be doing that. The arrow keys on the web interface respond exactly how it does in BI. Clicking on the arrows does not move it left or right unless you hold it which is unusual. I need to check later on tonight when I get back if it moves up and down just by clicking on it.

I would like to know if someone can verify that the turret should have no play left or right when the camera is powered on.

Thanks
 

Piz

n3wb
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
Aus
Hi, I'm new to this site. I've recently installed a DS5A425 and am fumbling my way through the setup. I'm trying to set the 'Track time' under Deep IVS from the default 15s to something a bit longer. I click 'save' and it appears to save it but when I return to check, it has defaulted back to 15s. I've read through this thread and someone had experienced the very same thing, which appears was remedied by using IE. I borrowed a Windows machine and tried changing the setting using IE, however, it still seems to default to 15s again. I'm accessing the cam via it's webGUI for the time being. I have a Dahua NVR which I haven't set up yet. I've tried Safari, Chrome and Firefox with no luck. Does anyone have any suggestions?
 

Wildcat_1

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
827
Reaction score
1,383
Location
US
If you have the cam isolated (no connect to any NVR or NVR SW platform yet) then IE (don’t use any other browser) should be working for you. If still having issues do a full factory default (not just network settings) in the web GUI (may have to do this a couple of times) and then try setting up from scratch.

If still have issues then setup the Dahua NVR, add the camera to it and setup through the NVR GUI (web or local) and see if that helps.


Hi, I'm new to this site. I've recently installed a DS5A425 and am fumbling my way through the setup. I'm trying to set the 'Track time' under Deep IVS from the default 15s to something a bit longer. I click 'save' and it appears to save it but when I return to check, it has defaulted back to 15s. I've read through this thread and someone had experienced the very same thing, which appears was remedied by using IE. I borrowed a Windows machine and tried changing the setting using IE, however, it still seems to default to 15s again. I'm accessing the cam via it's webGUI for the time being. I have a Dahua NVR which I haven't set up yet. I've tried Safari, Chrome and Firefox with no luck. Does anyone have any suggestions?
 

Piz

n3wb
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
Aus
If you have the cam isolated (no connect to any NVR or NVR SW platform yet) then IE (don’t use any other browser) should be working for you. If still having issues do a full factory default (not just network settings) in the web GUI (may have to do this a couple of times) and then try setting up from scratch.

If still have issues then setup the Dahua NVR, add the camera to it and setup through the NVR GUI (web or local) and see if that helps.
Thanks Wildcat_1. I factory reset the cam and set it up again using IE and it worked as you suggested. Interestingly, the PC did an update prior, and, of course, I didn't realise I was trying to set it up with the new Edge browser, which yielded the same results as the other browsers. I found the IE app on the PC and set it up using that. I was prompted to install a plug-in first, but it was all good after that.
 

ljw2k

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
486
Reaction score
468
Just put an order in for this camera as a small upgrade to my trustworthy 49225xa and will be putting it through many tests over the next few weeks especially as another lock down is forecast for my area.
 
Last edited:

ljw2k

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
486
Reaction score
468
I removed the camera because I was certain there was something loose in it and talked to Andy before opening the camera. It wasn't hard to take it apart and inside the camera on the side there was an extra screw. It was in a compartment where the only other entrance was on the other side and there was nowhere in that compartment that I could find a screw missing. But it was the same type of screw used to hold the circuit board so I have a feeling this was dropped in during manufacturing and left there by mistake. Picture shows screw as a I found it.

View attachment 68145

I was surprised the camera was easy to disassemble, in fact that explains why they give you the star wrench to take it apart. The dome which I painted to match my house is easily removed so that you can paint it. I looked took various covers off to see if anything else was obvious but it was not.

I performed all the steps Wildcat_1 mentioned and I think there is something wrong with the unit I have. I have to mention the play in the camera, I think that is indicative of the problem. When I pan left or right, the camera bounces back after it stops. It doesn't stop and stay still, it bounces back ever so slightly. When the camera is powered, I can swivel it left or right freely for a centimeter or two. I don't think it should be doing that. The arrow keys on the web interface respond exactly how it does in BI. Clicking on the arrows does not move it left or right unless you hold it which is unusual. I need to check later on tonight when I get back if it moves up and down just by clicking on it.

I would like to know if someone can verify that the turret should have no play left or right when the camera is powered on.

Thanks
Grinding noise , loosing Presets, loose screws inside, loose dome and if you have tried the above suggestions and still the same . FAULTY CAMERA, return it to the seller for an exchange or refund.

Will get mine next week and will be giving it a good workout to see if it shows any signs of the above.
 
Last edited:

Wildcat_1

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
827
Reaction score
1,383
Location
US
Let me know when you get it @ljw2k. I have 2 of these I purchased and they compliment very well as I mentioned. Will post some pics of some of the extra work these can perform later as well.

BTW I’m working on my Netflix picture (per your post). They never did reach out to ask permission so will be having words ;)



Will get mine next week and will be giving it a good workout to see if it shows any signs of the above.
 

ljw2k

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
486
Reaction score
468
Hey WC looking forward to receiving mine as I had to wait 2 weeks as my supplier did not have stock in the UK but had some in Hungry so coming from there is better than a 4-6 week wait from China.
I will also look forward to your comments regards to the extras.

Haha the Netflix picture , you got me there had to put my old brain into action for a minute to make sense on what you was referring to :)
 

handinpalm

Getting comfortable
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
419
Reaction score
577
Location
Tampa Bay FL
Thanks for the info. I will try the rest tonight. Actually I just looked at the link for the switch I have and it is POE+ surprisingly, but I went ahead and ordered another POE+ injector just in case. It was just delivered today. I did run Cat 6E to the camera as well.

Last night I was having focus issues, the night image was horrible on the default settings. I saw a tiny spider on the lens and thought he was the source of the problem. So I climbed up to clean the lens and noticed that the turret has a bit of play in it which I thought was unusual. So I started to take a video and then as soon as I was turning the turret to show the play, I heard something drop inside of the camera. Sounded as if a screw fell down, you can hear it in the first second of the video. Here's a link to the video. Can you check if the turret should have as much play as mine does? I've never worked with a PTZ that had any amount of play and this could explain why I get a bit of shift when panning around and why there it's somewhat unresponsive to clicking on the arrows to pan.

One other thing I forgot to mention, when I first powered it on, there was a grinding noise and I thought to myself well this is going to be one of those loud cameras I read about on the forum. Then after that, it was never loud again, this thing seems to be quieter than my 49225.

I'll try it all again with the injector tonight and follow your steps with BI disconnected.
@therealdeal74 , I just set up my SD5A425XA and it does not have any play in movement when powered. Stays pretty firm. Looks like you may have an anomaly. Waiting to see how it looks tonight.
 

therealdeal74

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
44
Reaction score
23
@therealdeal74 , I just set up my SD5A425XA and it does not have any play in movement when powered. Stays pretty firm. Looks like you may have an anomaly. Waiting to see how it looks tonight.
Thank you very much for confirming that. I've been struggling to make this point with Andy to get some support on the camera but he's been replying and not been very supportive at all and never investigated this issue. This is going on over 2 months now. I will raise this issue up with him and hopefully I can get this repaired or replaced. It's made panning around and the PTZ presets very problematic.

To me that looks like sunlight reflected from the windows across the street. A couple of well placed rocks would fix that right away!
That's actually from sunset but I know you were being sarcastic. ;)
 

handinpalm

Getting comfortable
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
419
Reaction score
577
Location
Tampa Bay FL
Would anyone have a problem with lens flare/reflection with this camera.

View attachment 71161
My camera is pointing due West. I had the same camera lens refraction last evening. I first thought, oh crap same problems as the other guy. I went outside and the Sun was shining directly into the camera lens. Then I remember that when this happened to my Dahua 2 MP 59232 25X PTZ camera, there was almost complete washout of the image. So in retrospect, this camera performed better than the 59232, where it may have the ring refraction, I can still see what is happening. May have to wait til next Summer to verify this because the Sun is setting further South. Overall I am very impressed with the resolution of this camera during the day and at night with IR. It is like seeing with a new pair of glasses, compared to the 4 year old 2MP 59232. Glad I got it! Thanks for your review @Wildcat_1.

1601045126943.png
 

Wildcat_1

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
827
Reaction score
1,383
Location
US
@handinpalm thanks for the comment, glad you like the camera. Yes as I mentioned in the review, the new PTZ construction being used here is different (plastic dome) and not my favorite as you do have to plan for the ‘dome’ lens construction used here as opposed to the more turret-esque build of the 49225 (still a great PTZ as I continue to recommend) but if you can accommodate in your install location to minimize flare/glare etc then it works very well indeed.

My camera is pointing due West. I had the same camera lens refraction last evening. I first thought, oh crap same problems as the other guy. I went outside and the Sun was shining directly into the camera lens. Then I remember that when this happened to my Dahua 2 MP 59232 25X PTZ camera, there was almost complete washout of the image. So in retrospect, this camera performed better than the 59232, where it may have the ring refraction, I can still see what is happening. May have to wait til next Summer to verify this because the Sun is setting further South. Overall I am very impressed with the resolution of this camera during the day and at night with IR. It is like seeing with a new pair of glasses, compared to the 4 year old 2MP 59232. Glad I got it! Thanks for your review @Wildcat_1.

View attachment 71200
 

wittaj

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
950
Reaction score
759
Location
USA
I would think any camera is likely to have that happen at a certain time of the day if the sun hits it just right (or at night due to a lamp post LOL)!

Every one of my cameras, regardless of type or manufacturer experiences this if the sun is in the right (wrong) place. Fortunately I have enough cameras that if one is blinded or has the glare ring, another camera angle doesn't LOL.
 
Top