Review-I'll be the guinea pig for the new SD59225U-HNI PTZ.

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by looney2ns, Dec 3, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    5,928
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Finally bit the bullet and updated my cam to the dec 18 release. 48hrs, and nothing to report, other than focus seems to do a better job.
    Previous firmware was Nov 2017.
     
    reverend and Cameraguy like this.
  2. dabossc7

    dabossc7 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    20
    I think it has addressed a few problems ie no more heartbeat refocuse issue every 2 seconds, fixed my over zoom issue, seems to zoom and bracket target and seems to zoom in as if to get a good face shot then zoom out a little to get a wider view which in my case works good, my PFa with not stay focused when zooming in but I’m zooming in from 25ft from camera preset 1 to only 150ft where my driveway ends and my street is, seems to have lost life statistics and also the help icon on home screen, downside I have found so far it’s been a week has been tracking vehicles from a horizontal traveling left/right or right /left unless they are going under 10 mph it will not track like before, it starts to follow but gives up after 1/2 second and just zooms into where vehicle was a few seconds earlier. still get random sky search patterns when it won’t track the car but it seems to know this and will return to preset before it times out or maybe I had it on 2x speed replaying video and didn’t realize it I think it’s an improvement over previous versions
     
    Cameraguy likes this.
  3. Cameraguy

    Cameraguy Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    497
    I might have to do it. Even tho I'm afraid to go backwards
     
  4. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    41
    Any of you guys/girls, managed to isolate somehow the camera from the house, to reduce the noise?
    I have it hooked up temporarily and I can hear it inside the house, when is moving. I'm pretty sure, it will be very bad at night.
     
  5. reverend

    reverend Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    UK
    I bought some rubber washers to try and isolate the screws into the house and it's ghetto but I rammed some car audio insulation in between the house and the wall which also helped and then trimmed with a Stanley knife - you can still hear it at certain frequencies but not as bad as before.

    It's one of those jobs I mean to revisit some day to try and improve on!

    I didn't put any insulation in on the PTZ-1A225U-IRA and that can't be heard from indoors at all and is much quieter all around (a bit late to tell you that now!)
     
  6. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    5,928
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    reverend likes this.
  7. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    41
    I'm thinking about using some rubber between the two surfaces, but the mounting screws will still be transmitting the sound, how much I don't know.
    I have some narrow rubber tape and I will try it out, maybe I will just place a few squares here and there, not on the whole surface.
    Also, I'm thinking of buying a 15" Klipsch subwoofer, that will be a whole other issue. :)
     
  8. reverend

    reverend Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    UK
    OK something to maybe watch out for but I've been having issues here where the camera had become unstable on the network - bizarrely by changing just the FPS from 30 to 15 (I'd forgotten to change it after the last reset to defaults) it seems to have stabilised. The bitrate is still in the >6Mbps range.

    The problem I was seeing was that the camera was recording to the microSD without issue but was reporting loss of ethernet and dropping off the network. I was also seeing packet loss to the camera.

    In all fairness it has dried up here so maybe there is still a water ingress issue but for now it seems to have sorted out after changing just the FPS setting (bizarre I know!) It doesn't seem right it's an FPS issue but so far it's working.

    This is the latest NTSC firmware.

    I'll get up and check it all out at a later date as I've now received some dialectric grease and sealant so I want to make all the connections good now we've got some drier weather (and I don't have to rush!)
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2019
    Cameraguy likes this.
  9. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    41
    OK, here is a the finished picture.
    Nothing is glued together. The joints are very tightly squeezed together. Clamped at the edge of the truss.
    Behind truss, on the wall there is a junction box, with one hole(Home depot). Bottom of the box(flat part) it is drilled through for the Ethernet cable, to come through. Used caulking there, to seal wall hole and box hole.
     

    Attached Files:

    Parley and Cameraguy like this.
  10. Tibor Makai

    Tibor Makai Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    41
    Forgot to mention, that I have applied some rubber tape(red) under the aluminum plate, to reduce noise transmitted toward the house. Screws are torx.
     
  11. reverend

    reverend Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    UK
    The 59225 I had started getting packet loss again so it's currently sat in the house bench testing where it's been since Saturday.

    I was expecting it to be the cable but so far I've had a 4Mp camera connected without any issues or packet loss (running at 10Mbps) since Saturday morning to the outside cable. So it's pushing more data but less power.

    Likewise the 59225 hasn't reported the network issue so I'm wondering if possibly it was oxidisation or something which has cleaned up after the removal and reconnection of the outside jack. The cable itself was spotless with no evidence of water damage anywhere.

    Maybe one of the pairs is damaged and will resurface when the higher power PTZ is reconnected.

    I ordered a new Transcend 128GB microSD to replace the Toshiba M302 128GB that's been in there for almost a year and after just checking the logs the 59225 on latest firmware has started throwing disk errors when the card got full so potentially Dahua haven't fixed microSD issues fully.

    I just checked the PTZ-1A225-IRA as well which has a Samsung Evo Plus 128GB and that's not showing the card at all. That camera is 15 meters up and other than the card is working great so I'll be leaving that as is for now!

    I'm going to get the Toshiba back into the 59225 and then bench it again.
     
  12. reverend

    reverend Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    UK
    Figured I'd better update this one - the 59225 as mentioned really didn't like that Transcend microSD card - it's been back up on the house for a couple of weeks now and so far no sign of issues.

    The Transcend card passed testing but also played up when used in an action camera so maybe I got a dud - it passes h2testw ok but seems flaky which is unusual for Transcend.

    The only lost signals Blue Iris currently sees are when the camera does it's daily reboot.

    I'm wondering if maybe the cable was pinched - I've not finalised the install yet in terms of sealing the mount as wanted to see if the bad rain we were due caused issues but so far it's been solid since I've reconnected everything.

    I also added a Huacam HAS04 mic while i had it all down and just needing to finalise that as the adhesive pad on that was weak.
     
    Cameraguy likes this.
  13. botics

    botics Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Coral Gables, Florida
    I am testing this unit and using the 24V power supply and my non-poe switch. Camera will not power on yet measured voltage and tested Ethernet - all is working. Any suggestions how to power this up?
     
  14. reverend

    reverend Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    UK
    Does the camera go through the self test not long after power is connected, ie a full rotation or so and then movement up and down?

    If it's not working with that 24v supply the easiest way to test is to get a POE+ injector (802.3at) and see if it will work that way.
     
  15. botics

    botics Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Coral Gables, Florida
    Found the issue. Bad pair in Ethernet cable must be a break in a brand new spool of 1000ft. Problem solved.
     
  16. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    5,300
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    ldasilva, Karan007, mikeny and 3 others like this.