Revotech cameras - Motion detection

Peter87

n3wb
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Hi to everyone,

I have a Revotech Fisheye 2MP IP camera and I'm trying to send motion alerts from the camera to BI, I don't want to use motion from BI because it doesn't work fine. I have 30 IP cameras working with BI, most of them are Reolink and every camera sends motion alerts to BI, this way I get a low CPU and I don't lose anything. If I set motion from BI, the camera doesn't record sometimes…
I set with the CMS software that came with the camera, motion alerts to the client, set in BI motion from the camera but it doesn't work at all.
Has anyone managed to get this working?

Thanks guys.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,819
Reaction score
10,806
Hi to everyone,

I have a Revotech Fisheye 2MP IP camera and I'm trying to send motion alerts from the camera to BI, I don't want to use motion from BI because it doesn't work fine. I have 30 IP cameras working with BI, most of them are Reolink and every camera sends motion alerts to BI, this way I get a low CPU and I don't lose anything. If I set motion from BI, the camera doesn't record sometimes…
I set with the CMS software that came with the camera, motion alerts to the client, set in BI motion from the camera but it doesn't work at all.
Has anyone managed to get this working?

Thanks guys.
You are confused, blue iris motion detection is significantly better than the cameras. You just need to learn how to use it properly - user error. See instructional videos linked on this site.
Reolink is garbage and has known issues with blue iris and the company lies to its users.
Stop buying garbage like revotech and reolink and you will have less problems.
 

Peter87

n3wb
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Sorry, but I disagree. Motion detection from BI can be more configurable, but try to set up 30 cameras to work at the same time and tell me how it works... I'm talking about 2k resolution cameras.... My NVR server has an i7 6700 + 16GB of RAM + 4 hdd working at RAID 10. I had troubles with Reolink cams at the beginning, but since the last firmware update they have been working fine for several months with no errors 24h/day. Also in BI, Reolink cams have the option for new firmwares and it works really nice.
Adjusting sensitivity of motion to the max value doesn't help, same results with make of 0'7-0'5, 3secs of pre-trigger looks to work a little better but recordings are still incomplete.
Of course, Reolink and Revotech cams are garbage compared to another more expensive...
Anyway, thanks for answering.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,819
Reaction score
10,806
Sorry, but I disagree. Motion detection from BI can be more configurable, but try to set up 30 cameras to work at the same time and tell me how it works... I'm talking about 2k resolution cameras.... My NVR server has an i7 6700 + 16GB of RAM + 4 hdd working at RAID 10. I had troubles with Reolink cams at the beginning, but since the last firmware update they have been working fine for several months with no errors 24h/day. Also in BI, Reolink cams have the option for new firmwares and it works really nice.
Adjusting sensitivity of motion to the max value doesn't help, same results with make of 0'7-0'5, 3secs of pre-trigger looks to work a little better but recordings are still incomplete.
Of course, Reolink and Revotech cams are garbage compared to another more expensive...
Anyway, thanks for answering.
You can disagree but you are wrong.. you simply don't know what you're doing, that is very common.. I suggest you watch the videos and learn how to properly set up motion detection... Likely you have very long I frame intervals that is something that is something that reolink does not let you adjust, and is a feature almost every other IP camera... If you would study the threads and videos on blueiris you would learn that direct to disc only begins recording on the I frame interval and therefore it should be set to match your FPS but you cannot do that on your crappy Reolink...
 

Peter87

n3wb
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
You can disagree but you are wrong.. you simply don't know what you're doing, that is very common.. I suggest you watch the videos and learn how to properly set up motion detection... Likely you have very long I frame intervals that is something that is something that reolink does not let you adjust, and is a feature almost every other IP camera... If you would study the threads and videos on blueiris you would learn that direct to disc only begins recording on the I frame interval and therefore it should be set to match your FPS but you cannot do that on your crappy Reolink...
No troubles with Reolink cams, they are recording nice when triggered from cam's motion. The problem is with the Revotech one, it's triggered by BI motion and sometimes doesn't work, I have unchecked "Cancel shadows" option and it looks to work so much better. If it starts recording on the I frame interval, shouldn't mean too much for me because there is a 3 seconds of pre-trigger buffer, Am I wrong?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,819
Reaction score
10,806
No troubles with Reolink cams, they are recording nice when triggered from cam's motion. The problem is with the Revotech one, it's triggered by BI motion and sometimes doesn't work, I have unchecked "Cancel shadows" option and it looks to work so much better. If it starts recording on the I frame interval, shouldn't mean too much for me because there is a 3 seconds of pre-trigger buffer, Am I wrong?
you are wrong, if your fps is 15 and your iframe is 60, it can take up to 4 seconds...reolink and revotech are both low end garbage. Stop buying crap and youll have less issues.
 

Peter87

n3wb
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
you are wrong, if your fps is 15 and your iframe is 60, it can take up to 4 seconds...reolink and revotech are both low end garbage. Stop buying crap and youll have less issues.
I'm going to buy another IP cam and I'll check before if it has the iframe option. At least, this camera is cheap...
Thanks for your help Fenderman.
 
Top