[Serious] Willing to pay $10USD to the first person who can help/guide me to update my cameras?

MikeyTech8

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
33
Location
Oceania
Disclaimer: I am a noob/beginner. Go easy on me :facepalm:.

As the title states. Reason - I have tried everything (I think) and still does not work so that's why I'm willing to pay anyone $10Usd to help/guide me .

I tried downloading both the "Latest Available ConfigTool via Toolkit" and "Configtool 3.20.0 for PC" and it does not detect my cameras. However, the "Latest Available ConfigTool via Toolkit" was able to detect my NVR.

Connection methods:

Method 1 (Recommend by the lovely Andy via PM) : connect one end of the ethernet cable to the NVR and the other end on my pc/laptop. Afterwards, I connected the ip POE cameras (IPC-HFW1831E and IPC- HFW2831T-ZS) into the NVR. Opened up the "Latest Available ConfigTool via Toolkit" and it took a few seconds to detect my NVR. I waited a few more mins to see if my ip cameras would show but it didn't so I tried next method (2). Proceed to try "Configtool 3.20.0 for PC" and it didn't detect either of the NVR/Cameras...

Method 2: Disconnected the NVR from the PC and then, connected the one end of the ethernet cable to the ip POE camera and connect the other end to my PC. Opened up "Latest Available ConfigTool via Toolkit" and waited a few mins, it did not detect the ip poe camera(s)...

Method 3: Tried updating the ip cameras using the NVR but this method didn't work even though it was available in the NVR. Andy said this method is old.

Please help me guys. I love Dahua products and I love the service and products Andy provides. I also love the reviews from many of you guys especially Looner. I would really love it, if you guys could help/guide me out?

Note: During the arrival of the POE cameras and NVR, I did nothing advanced besides doing the setup step by step configuration along with successfully configuring the P2P for the ios app.

Payment - Paypal via email address. T & C- I have to upload image to prove that payment went through.

Oh and apologise especially to the mods if I caused any inconvenience :blankstare::embarrassed:.
 
Last edited:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
11,626
Reaction score
3,740
Location
Scotland
I connected the ip POE cameras (IPC-HFW1831E and IPC- HFW2831T-ZS) into the NVR.
That's a separate network from the LAN that the PC is on, so will hide the cameras from the PC on the LAN.
Connect the PC to a spare NVR PoE port to access the cameras.
And it will help, though not necessary, if you set the PC IP address to be in the same range as the camera default IP address.
Suggest 192.168.1.200
Also - just plug one camera in at a time, as they will have the same IP address initially.
 

MikeyTech8

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
33
Location
Oceania
That's a separate network from the LAN that the PC is on, so will hide the cameras from the PC on the LAN.
Connect the PC to a spare NVR PoE port to access the cameras.
And it will help, though not necessary, if you set the PC IP address to be in the same range as the camera default IP address.
Suggest 192.168.1.200
Also - just plug one camera in at a time, as they will have the same IP address initially.
Hey Alastair,

Thank you so much for the quick response.

Apologise for my novice skills but I have the NVR4208-8P-4KS2. So you're wanting me grab a ethernet cable, plug one end onto the PC and plug the other end on one of the NVR "camera port holes"? while this is plugged, grab another ethernet cable and connect it to the NVR's lan port and connect the other end onto the router/modem? then open up the Latest Available ConfigTool via Toolkit?

P.S. For the last method, I'm not familiar with setting up the ip address thingy. Hope this method isn't needed haha.
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
11,626
Reaction score
3,740
Location
Scotland
To access the cameras while they are powered by the PoE port of the NVR, you just need to connect the PC to an unused NVR PoE port.
 

MikeyTech8

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
33
Location
Oceania
To access the cameras while they are powered by the PoE port of the NVR, you just need to connect the PC to an unused NVR PoE port.
Ah I see. I will try to follow this tomorrow as right now, it is quite late haha. Will report back tomorrow morning/afternoon. Hope all goes well and easy and see you tomorrow.
 

usaf_pride

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 10, 2017
Messages
217
Reaction score
125
Step 1: Download Internet Explorer 11 or PaleMoon32
Step 2: Connect your computer to the NVR WAN port
Step 3: Access NVR from your home computer on whatever IP address your router assigned
Step 4: Connect your camera to the NVR
Step 5: Go to the camera registration page. It will list the camera.
Step 6: Select the camera and click "Initialize"
Step 7: The camera will now appear in the bottom and then click the IE "e" <edit see @bigredfish picture below >
Step 8: A new webpage will open and you will be able to login to the camera using the same credentials as the NVR
Step 9: Upgrade the firmware

Or:
Step 1: Download Internet Explorer 11 or PaleMoon32
Step 2: Plug your computer into the NVR using any port EXCEPT the WAN port
Step 3: Plug your camera into the NVR
Step 4: Use ConfigTool on your computer to Initialize your camera and upgrade the firmware

The newer firmwares work without plugins (I think your camera is one of them), so you shouldn't need IE/Palemoon after it is upgraded.
 
Last edited:

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
2,730
Reaction score
2,977
Location
Florida USA
I’ve found in 3 Dahua PoE NVRs that if you simply plug the camera into a PoE port, reboot and wait, it will move to the bottom pane, and allow you to login to the camera web page via the blue IE icon.

No need to “initialize” manually.

If you wish to upgrade firmware, simply do it in the camera web interface.

By default, the camera will get a unique IP in the 10.1.1.x range and will take the password from the NVR
 

MikeyTech8

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
33
Location
Oceania
To access the cameras while they are powered by the PoE port of the NVR, you just need to connect the PC to an unused NVR PoE port.
Yippie, it worked. Though, the Configtool (via toolbox version) is getting in my nerves...whenever I select the IP POE Camera, and then browse for firmware then select firmware. Afterwards, I click upgrade and a small yellow hazard icon appears and it says wrong password even though I wasn't prompt with anything...?
 

MikeyTech8

Getting comfortable
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
33
Location
Oceania
Or maybe the forum for being such a useful resource for so many people, members and lurkers.
See the 'Donations' tab at the top.
Okay, so I'm not too sure whether you know how to fix the issue I mentioned earlier but I am able to update the cameras firmware via web browser. The Configtool just keeps showing the yellow hazard sign saying incorrect password whenever I click the upgrade button... so everyone here uses the web browser to update the firmware right? sorry for the nuisance. @alastairstevenson

@bigredfish @usaf_pride - Thanks for the image. Um I do know that it is possible to enter the cameras webpage, but it glitched out. However, it got fixed and I was eventually able to access the cameras webpage and updated the firmware a few hours ago when I correctly did the plugging/connection right "Connect the PC to a spare NVR PoE port to access the cameras while the cameras are connect to the NVR PoE port. NVR LAN is connected to the router". Though, it would be great if I could get one of you guys to confirm whether the standard way to upgrade the firmware is to use Configtool or Web browser? and is it possible to upgrade all cameras at the same or so? plugging one camera in one at a time seems annoying no offence.. I would love for future to be able to upgrade the firmware for the cameras together or so rather than unplugging all cameras and upgrade the cameras "one by one"...NVR will be placed in attic so it is hard to get hold.

Oh and @alastairstevenson, for the donation, you sure you want this for the forum? not familiar with donations but will check it out.
 
Last edited:

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
2,730
Reaction score
2,977
Location
Florida USA
You shouldnt have to plug/unplug anything.

.....NVR will be placed in attic so it is hard to get hold.

You do realize you can open a browser and manage the NVR without going to the attic right? Open a browser on your computer connected to your network and go to 192.168.1.108 or whatever the address of your NVR is.

You have an NVR with built-in PoE switch. This means to connect to the cameras you use the NVR Web interface as shown above in the screencap to navigate to each camera using the little IE icon. Thats how it works.

Once I do the initial 10 minute setup on the NVR, I NEVER go back to the machine interface (connect physically with a cable to the NVR). I always use the Web interface for the NVR/camera to do everything from that point on.

The only time Ive had to use the config tool was when I had an IP conflict swapping a camera from a PoE NVR with a 10.1.1.x IP to a regular NVR that wanted a 192.168.1.x address.

Yes you'll need to update firmware on all cameras separately through the web interface of each camera. Ths isnt something you do weekly or anything, maybe once a year, and after a couple, likely never again. Dont update firmware unless you have a problem.
 
Top