Severe video blocking and artifacting with Dahua and new i7 Blue Iris server

silencery

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
205
Reaction score
136
Hi ipcam community,

I'm tearing my hair out over this issue and hoping someone can help! I feel like I've gone through the entire checklist already, but no matter what, several wired cams are showing really bad artifacting on capturing motion (cars passing by or even people walking).

The camera which shows this issue most frequently is one of the HFW5431E-ZE units, but really this problem comes up on all 5 of my wired dahuas. It's notable that this does not show up either of the two wireless cameras. Sample video below:

View attachment frontcam1.mp4



















Cams: HFW5431E-ZE x 2, HDW5231R-ZE x 3, 2 x Hikvision wifi doorbells
Cam configuration: Bitrates set to 4096 or 6144, smart codec off
Server specs: Intel i7-10700K, 32GB, recording to SSD
Avg performance: 5% avg CPU load, 40% memory, 8% GPU load
Server Configuration: Intel 630 driver 26.20.100.7323, using substreams
Network specs: Wired gigabit ethernet over CAT6. Cams separated to their own VLAN
  • Verified virus scanning off for recording drive
  • Tried keyframe values of .25, .50, 1.0 (no noticeable difference)
  • Tried H264, H264+, H265 encoding on cams (no difference, but H265 caused exports to fail)
  • Used VBR and CBR (changing to CBR helped a little bit)
  • Tested FPS ranges from 15-30
  • Tested HA modes: Off, Intel, Intel +VPP, Intel Beta (Off had the best results, but still artifacts)
Have I missed anything?
Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!!
 

Flintstone61

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
292
Reaction score
239
Location
Minnesota USA
My memory is getting bad,,,,I had this problem too when i was a new new newbie.....I forget which setting(s) you need to change. I'm thinking it was maybe the shutter speed had to go up,,,,,but it comes at a cost in low light conditions requiring more available light. Somebody with hard knowledge will chime in a few minutes I bet....
 

silencery

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
205
Reaction score
136
Thanks for the reply. You reminded me I forgot to include a few more details:

  • Problem happens during day and night, even when lighting is good. Definitely more noticeable at night though.
  • The recordings are always great for the first few frames. Pixellation only occurs after a few frames have processed (seems to vary between 500-1500ms); almost as if some sort of buffer bottleneck is getting hit.
 

Flintstone61

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
292
Reaction score
239
Location
Minnesota USA
Thanks for the reply. You reminded me I forgot to include a few more details:

  • Problem happens during day and night, even when lighting is good. Definitely more noticeable at night though.
  • The recordings are always great for the first few frames. Pixellation only occurs after a few frames have processed (seems to vary between 500-1500ms); almost as if some sort of buffer bottleneck is getting hit.
I have a Jidetech 2 Megapixel PTZ That does this by default....I had to manually set the shutter to about 1/160 or higher If I remember right. There was a slider to adjust it from 1/2 to like 1/2000. 1/2000 was fine during bright outdoor daylight, but nothing was visible in the dark except the headlights...
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
4,247
Reaction score
3,424
Location
Houston Tx

silencery

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
205
Reaction score
136
Thanks @fenderman and @SouthernYankee. Sorry for the terse reply earlier. Was on mobile. I already have an HDMI dummy plug installed. Had that experience from my previous machine. Problem still persists :(
 

silencery

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
205
Reaction score
136
Ah, I (hopefully!) think I found the culprit. As @SouthernYankee mentioned, I didn't have Power Display screen: never configured.

@chaosengine yes, it's quite strange. Can't figure out what it could be. At least 1 of the HFW5431E and 2 of the HDW5231R are showing this problem. They are all run through the same switch. The firmware is also all the same, latest from Andy.
 

Flintstone61

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
292
Reaction score
239
Location
Minnesota USA
Makes me wonder if I should drive the hell over to work and fiddle with that G$#&(*! D|!%$$$ Jidetech in the dark....I just bought a BF special from Andy....I think i'm gonna shitcan the Jidetech from that location....put it outback to watch Geese eat my lawn....
 

Flintstone61

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
292
Reaction score
239
Location
Minnesota USA
Makes me wonder if I should drive the hell over to work and fiddle with that G$#&(*! D|!%$$$ Jidetech in the dark....I just bought a BF special from Andy....I think i'm gonna shitcan the Jidetech from that location....put it outback to watch Geese eat my lawn....
that particular Camera has no I-frame settings to adjust. they simply do not exist in any menu or submenu of the Camera’s browser page. frustrating to use it in that location.
 

Attachments

silencery

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
205
Reaction score
136
Happy post-Thanksgiving everyone.
I wanted to let it run for a few days before reporting back, but here's a quick update.
  • Changed windows settings to Power Display screen: never. Turned out it didn't make a difference.
  • Increased Receive buffer in BI from 6MB to 20MB. Improved a little, but artifacting still happens.
  • In cameras: Configured ROI to just focus on the lower 2/3rds of the video. Also improved things a little
  • Updated to BI v. 5.3.5.1(today's release)
  • Finally, I found the only thing that GUARANTEES there won't be artifacting is to turn off substreams. Obviously I prefer not to do that, but looks like I may not have any other choice.
 
Last edited:
Top