Smartthings automation

CedarTree

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been asked before. I'm a fairly novice BI user and I also have several items connected to Smartthings, e.g., lights. I want to trigger some lights when a camera senses motion. For a while, BI Fusion (I believe it was) worked for me. I integrated that coding into Smartthings and then the Smartthings app allowed me to trigger lights on when motion detected. It seems the API (or whatever it is) has since been updated and I can't rely on that method anymore. Is there a reliable and simple way to do this? Any good step-by-step guides on doing so please? I saw some posts about edgebridge, but that seemed somewhat complicated? Will Blue Iris eventually integrate better with things like Alexa or Smartthings (or Homekit)? THANKS!!!

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
FYI, Blue Iris can "speak" directly to Shelly Wi-Fi switches to turn on lights, no hub or cloud needed. Be sure to open the attached PDF file found at the following link and go to "Output from Blue Iris":

One of many devices, there's the Shelly Plus Plug US:

shelly-plug_US.jpg

There's also the Shelly Duo E26 lamp:

shelly-duo_lamp.jpg

Last edited:

CedarTree

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
So this would require buying new light switches however?

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
So this would require buying new light switches however?
Yes, Shelly has their own API which supports HTTP and MQTT protocols and others which you implement with Shelly devices.

Please expound on how you turn on a light now ".....when a camera senses motion."

CedarTree

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
The BI Fusion add-in to Smartthings would allow me to send an HTTP call that would trigger the switch. With so many smarrthings and Alexa devices out there it would be nice if BI would handle such devices.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score