Speedtest

vector18

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
1,292
Reaction score
254
What speeds are you guys getting? I have Time Warner and they recently upgraded my speed at no extra cost. I got a letter in the mail letting me know that I am capable of receiving 300down and 20up. So, I call them and they tell me they may have to upgrade my modem. So, they check my modem and tell me that my modem is capable of the 300 and does not have to be swapped. So, I ask how much extra is the 300 and they tell me no extra cost! Of course I tell them to go ahead with the upgrade than and asap! I'll check in a day or two, but for now, this is what I am currently receiving, which is still not bad at all!

Clipboard01-121.jpg
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,013
Reaction score
132
We get raped here. My download is at 6mb and we pay s fortune....your so lucky
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,338
Reaction score
17,759
Fios, pay for 25/25 get about 30/25 consistently.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,961
Reaction score
12,313
Location
USA
My local monopoly ISP is now delivering 45/18, sold as 50/20, for $135 monthly. Best they can do without a ridiculously expensive fiber install.
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,340
Reaction score
5,314
Location
Denver, CO


I've got a /28 subnet of Static IPs (14x), business class... iirc costs about $140/mo and has no datacaps and is actually proven to be entirely reliable, despite being DOCSIS.
I think its ~$100 more for 100MBit which is a lil too steep; I am more interested in upload speeds as 2 cabinets in a datacenter with 10Mbit unlimited bandwidth would cost alot more than what I am paying now... if there 100MBit service were semetrical I would buy it in a heartbeat
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,338
Reaction score
17,759
I might add that im paying 49.99 for my fios 25/25 + 70 hd tv channels. They charge 5 bux a month for their cable card...and they force your to use an actiontec router which has a coax connection, unless you run ethernet from the ont (they rent the router for 5 bux a month or you can get it on ebay for about 80). So its about 60 a month with taxes and such...not too bad :)
 

Shockwave199

Known around here
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
1,020
Reaction score
545
Location
New York
I've only ever run tests on my wifi stuff. I don't think I've used a LAN attached device in quite a long time. From optimum over wifi, I get around 20/8. I hear that's about normal for normal, unboosted service. What kills me is they charge and charge the customer, make all kinds of improvements for speed off that profit, and then have the balls to say that if you want more speed, which your dollars funded, you'll have to pay more. Good grief.
 

vector18

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
1,292
Reaction score
254
Well, I'm getting 100/10 over wifi, and time warner said that the 300/20 will not cost me anything extra!
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,340
Reaction score
5,314
Location
Denver, CO
No problems here with WiFi being the bottleneck.

Code:
$ iperf -c 192.168.4.136
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.4.136, TCP port 5001
TCP window size:  129 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  4] local 192.168.4.20 port 55943 connected with 192.168.4.136 port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]  0.0-10.0 sec   229 MBytes   192 Mbits/sec
 

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,013
Reaction score
132
I ditto Shockwave. Nice fucker lol. It's 100 dollars a month for 100mb here
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,961
Reaction score
12,313
Location
USA
We get raped here. My download is at 6mb and we pay s fortune....your so lucky
I ditto Shockwave. Nice fucker lol. It's 100 dollars a month for 100mb here


So... I'm confused.

$100 per month for 100 megabits per second (Mbps)? That is half the advertised price for 100 Mbps where I live, and they aren't even capable of delivering that speed. They just advertise it so they'll look like they are trying harder than they are.

And yet you pay a fortune for 6 Mbps?
 

paarlberg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
359
Reaction score
73
2669907915.png









That was from my office. Tried to find some of the better tests that I did in the last year, but couldn't find them. That was via 2x 100meg connections (2 upstreams) on multiple gig ports. Both were burstable up to port speed.
 

Git

Banned
Joined
Sep 14, 2014
Messages
212
Reaction score
34
...they tell me they may have to upgrade my modem. So, they check my modem and tell me that my modem is capable of the 300 and does not have to be swapped...
I am a TWC customer in S Cal and also received the letter several weeks ago. The problem is - there is only ONE approved modem to reach those speeds and it is not even available yet (I get 100 down and 10 up right now with my older SB6120 modem)

This page has a chart towards the bottom that shows the approved modems
http://www.brightsideofnews.com/2014/06/20/time-warner-cable-rolling-out-300-and-200-mbps-service-july-7th/

Here is the one approved modem on Amazon - I ordered the first of August and I am still waiting for it to ship (they don't have them yet)

I would double check which modem you have...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MA5U1FW/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
Top