Suggestion for lowest cost DIY home monitoring solution

ssg10

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All.

I need about 3 or 4 cameras, outdoor and indoor, and I want to have the lowest cost available.
Perhaps by buying some IP cams from Amazon. The feature I want to have is that it can be monitor from PC or app without subscription to cloud or app itself.
I am not sure just having a sd card in the cams is good enough.
Can this cam store videos in the google drive or similar free cloud so that i can access the videos from anywhere?
Notification if there is motion also good to have and some night vision. I tend to travel and it is good to get notification and if i can see from app or laptop.

I am a novice in this, but I am an engineer by day, so I am ok with technical stuff that you recommend.

ssg10

n3wb
Reaction score
I have an idle windows and linux PCs at home with big drives as well, if it can be used for some purposes.

Swampledge

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
If you already have a capable PC that is unused, hard to see how you can do better than Blue Iris. The software price is a bargain. Your cameras will need power anyway, so POE provides that. Store the videos on your PC, and access remotely by OpenVPN or similar running on your router.

As a retired engineer, let me encourage you that, if you have “the knack” (Dilbert reference), you can do this. Just remember, you will have to spend more than a couple hours getting things set up.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi All.

I need about 3 or 4 cameras, outdoor and indoor, and I want to have the lowest cost available.
Perhaps by buying some IP cams from Amazon. The feature I want to have is that it can be monitor from PC or app without subscription to cloud or app itself.
I am not sure just having a sd card in the cams is good enough.
Can this cam store videos in the google drive or similar free cloud so that i can access the videos from anywhere?