[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

Tinbum

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
437
Reaction score
117
Location
UK
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
121
Reaction score
98
Location
South Florida
Does anyone know why the Simple motion detection algorithm is suggested over Edge Vector other than to save CPU? Or is to conserve resources the only reason?
 

whoami ™

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
121
Reaction score
98
Location
South Florida
I'm pretty sure for Edge Vector to work you have to have "Use Zones and Hot Spots" enabled using at least "Zone A" with the whole screen selected.

You can also test your settings and see how motion detection is working by selecting a video to test by playing it back in Blue Iris directly in the console and right clicking and selecting "Test Run Video Through Motion Detector"
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
222
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
I'm pretty sure for Edge Vector to work you have to have "Use Zones and Hot Spots" enabled using at least "Zone A" with the whole screen selected.

You can also test your settings and see how motion detection is working by selecting a video to test by playing it back in Blue Iris directly in the console and right clicking and selecting "Test Run Video Through Motion Detector"
I guess at the end of the day you choose what works best for your application. I spent three days testing in a real world application and found Edge Vector detection failed miserably when I walked around the periphery of the field of view. Edge Vector definitely generates less false alarm but in my experience at the expense of missing real periphery alarm events.

FYI If you are not already aware, simple mode was the default for version 4.
 

DaveD3521

n3wb
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
I hate to be the one to add to an already long string, but i haven't found anything similar to this.

installed BI v5, DequestAI in Docker, and unzipped AI Tool 1.67.
Everything seems to be set up correctly but I am getting error (code: -2147467261 ) in my AI Tool logs.

Where do I start to try and de-bug this?
 

cjowers

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
25
Location
AUS
Everything seems to be set up correctly but I am getting error (code: -2147467261 ) in my AI Tool logs.

Where do I start to try and de-bug this?
You might get lucky and someone will have worked through the same code (and remember it), but you'll probably have more luck describing how your system is functioning (ie exactly where does it stop functioning), and focusing on that broken link. I don't think those codes are well documented or mean much... but i could be wrong.

double check the expected process occurs...
does BI trigger on motion, does it save an image file, does AITools check the image and process it, does deepstack trigger, does deepstack error, does deepstack trigger BI as needed, does BI action, etc.....
 

DaveD3521

n3wb
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
You might get lucky and someone will have worked through the same code (and remember it), but you'll probably have more luck describing how your system is functioning (ie exactly where does it stop functioning), and focusing on that broken link. I don't think those codes are well documented or mean much... but i could be wrong.

double check the expected process occurs...
does BI trigger on motion, does it save an image file, does AITools check the image and process it, does deepstack trigger, does deepstack error, does deepstack trigger BI as needed, does BI action, etc.....
I think it is getting stuck at Deepstack. My container log is full of image dection logs.
Here is what my AI Tool logs look like:

[29.11.2020, 20:00:34.817]: Starting analysis of C:\Users\ddetm\Documents\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201129_200034626.jpg
[29.11.2020, 20:00:34.879]: System.IO.IOException | The process cannot access the file 'C:\Users\ddetm\Documents\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201129_200034626.jpg' because it is being used by another process. (code: -2147024864 )
[29.11.2020, 20:00:34.917]: Could not access file - will retry after 10 ms delay
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.181]: Retrying image processing - retry 1
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.208]: (1/6) Uploading image to DeepQuestAI Server
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.381]: (2/6) Waiting for results
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.483]: (3/6) Processing results:
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.579]: System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.654]: ERROR: Processing the following image 'C:\Users\ddetm\Documents\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201129_200034626.jpg' failed. Failure in AI Tool processing the image.
 

cjowers

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
25
Location
AUS
I think it is getting stuck at Deepstack. My container log is full of image dection logs.
Here is what my AI Tool logs look like:

[29.11.2020, 20:00:34.817]: Starting analysis of C:\Users\ddetm\Documents\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201129_200034626.jpg
[29.11.2020, 20:00:34.879]: System.IO.IOException | The process cannot access the file 'C:\Users\ddetm\Documents\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201129_200034626.jpg' because it is being used by another process. (code: -2147024864 )

[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.483]: (3/6) Processing results:
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.579]: System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )
[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.654]: ERROR: Processing the following image 'C:\Users\ddetm\Documents\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201129_200034626.jpg' failed. Failure in AI Tool processing the image.

run AItools in administrator mode, in case there is a permission error happening

Do you have some object categories selected in AItools?

what does the deepstack log history look like in docker? any error codes? does it get triggered?
 

DaveD3521

n3wb
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
run AItools in administrator mode, in case there is a permission error happening

Do you have some object categories selected in AItools?

what does the deepstack log history look like in docker? any error codes? does it get triggered?
Opened AI Tool as Admin, same logs.
Here is the docker log:
[GIN] 2020/11/30 - 03:12:02 | 403 | 3.578903ms | XXX | POST /v1/vision/detection
[GIN] 2020/11/30 - 03:12:07 | 403 | 67.691µs | XXX| POST /v1/vision/detection
[GIN] 2020/11/30 - 03:12:12 | 403 | 83.971µs | XXX| POST /v1/vision/detection
 
Last edited:

cjowers

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
25
Location
AUS
Opened AI Tool as Admin, same logs.
Here is the docker log:
[GIN] 2020/11/30 - 03:12:02 | 403 | 3.578903ms | 192.168.0.100 | POST /v1/vision/detection
[GIN] 2020/11/30 - 03:12:07 | 403 | 67.691µs | 192.168.0.100 | POST /v1/vision/detection
[GIN] 2020/11/30 - 03:12:12 | 403 | 83.971µs | 192.168.0.100 | POST /v1/vision/detection
looks fine there, I think it posts the results back to AItool...

[29.11.2020, 20:00:35.579]: System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )
not sure why the object error is thrown.... what does your object settings look like in AItools?
 

DaveD3521

n3wb
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
looks fine there, I think it posts the results back to AItool...



not sure why the object error is thrown.... what does your object settings look like in AItools?
If you are referring to the camera settings>relevant objects> I have everything selected just for testing, confidence limits are default, cooldown is 0.
 

cjowers

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
25
Location
AUS
If you are referring to the camera settings>relevant objects> I have everything selected just for testing, confidence limits are default, cooldown is 0.
Try to select only 2 or 3 relevant objects, as there might have been a limit imposed if I remember right.

otherwise hopefully someone else can help you from here
 

Village Guy

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
222
Reaction score
100
Location
UK
I hate to be the one to add to an already long string, but i haven't found anything similar to this.

installed BI v5, DequestAI in Docker, and unzipped AI Tool 1.67.
Everything seems to be set up correctly but I am getting error (code: -2147467261 ) in my AI Tool logs.

Where do I start to try and de-bug this?
Can you advise how you are starting deepstack i.e the command line. If it is not correctly setup it can cause the error you are experiencing.
 

MrPie

n3wb
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
chile
Hello.
This program has been working very well for me but now I would like to add a speaker that tells a message when a person is detected.
I know this could be done with home assistant and node red as I saw on "the hook up" youtube video, but I would like to know if there is a more simple way to do this.

I'm not sure what my options are because I understand that I need an URL that this program will activate when a relevant alert occurs, so not every hub would work.
I'm almost sure that google home can do it with something called assistant links. Not sure if Alexa could do it directly, I understand that it could be done through Home Assistant.

If someone could please point me in the right direction or give some advice for my project, that would be great.

Thanks
 

DaveD3521

n3wb
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Can you advise how you are starting deepstack i.e the command line. If it is not correctly setup it can cause the error you are experiencing.
Village Guy, so this is a test to hopefully move away from QVR Pro. I had created a VM with Windows 10Pro, running the Blue Iris and AI Tool on that. I originally had the Deepstack running in a QNAP container via docker.
This evening i stopped the container and just did a compelte windows install of Deepstack on my Windows 10 VM with everytthing else. Not ideal but will give me a feel for the software during my trial period.

After all this i am still getting errors: here is my current AI Tool Log followed by the Deepstack Log:
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.616]: Starting analysis of \\DetmerHomeQNAP\VMfolder\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201130_215337520.jpg
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.645]: System.IO.IOException | The process cannot access the file '\\DetmerHomeQNAP\VMfolder\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201130_215337520.jpg' because it is being used by another process. (code: -2147024864 )
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.694]: Could not access file - will retry after 10 ms delay
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.743]: Retrying image processing - retry 1
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.828]: (1/6) Uploading image to DeepQuestAI Server
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.947]: (2/6) Waiting for results
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.969]: (3/6) Processing results:
[30.11.2020, 21:53:37.998]: System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.025]: ERROR: Processing the following image '\\DetmerHomeQNAP\VMfolder\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201130_215337520.jpg' failed. Failure in AI Tool processing the image.
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.077]:
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.105]: Starting analysis of \\DetmerHomeQNAP\VMfolder\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201130_215337520.jpg
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.138]: (1/6) Uploading image to DeepQuestAI Server
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.415]: (2/6) Waiting for results
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.452]: (3/6) Processing results:
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.482]: System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )
[30.11.2020, 21:53:38.510]: ERROR: Processing the following image '\\DetmerHomeQNAP\VMfolder\AIinput\FrontDoorSD.20201130_215337520.jpg' failed. Failure in AI Tool processing the image.

Here is the Deepstack logs (attached)
 
Last edited:
Top