[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
Well you could skip the mask and have deepstack only detect people. The people in your driveway have to get out of their cars eventually, right? I've even had mine detect people through the front windshield sometimes.
I see what your saying; just trying to see if there is a better way. As currently I have BI alert me when a car drives onto my driveway so i know ahead of time that someone is over before they get of the car so i can better prepare my self. I like the AI tool becase i can see this would get rid of alot of false alerts (ie. large weather movements, shadows hitting my driveway from people walking down my sidewalk.
 

Tanaban

n3wb
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
7
Location
Texas
Well you could skip the mask and have deepstack only detect people. The people in your driveway have to get out of their cars eventually, right? I've even had mine detect people through the front windshield sometimes.
That's how I have mine set. I basically just have Deepstack/Ai Tool trigger on people and animals. It still recognizes the truck and car in the driveway (or cars going by on the street) but it doesn't trigger on them.
 

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
Whats everyone doing not to get multiple notifications? So if my kids and i are outside the front, will i keep getting triggered alerts? Whats a good way around this?
Thanks,
 

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
259
Reaction score
144
Location
Pennsylvania
Whats everyone doing not to get multiple notifications? So if my kids and i are outside the front, will i keep getting triggered alerts? Whats a good way around this?
Thanks,
I have a profile defined in BI that I changed the fire to never under the alerts tab for each camera for this profile for when I cut grass, etc. and don't want to receive alerts. I set my time to 120 minutes, but you can set this to whatever you prefer.
 

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
I have a profile defined in BI that I changed the fire to never under the alerts tab for each camera for this profile for when I cut grass, etc. and don't want to receive alerts. I set my time to 120 minutes, but you can set this to whatever you prefer.
And what do you have to trigger that 120 min exemption? DO you use HA? Do you manually set that? or is it on an automation (on garage door open or something)
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Virginia
Whats everyone doing not to get multiple notifications? So if my kids and i are outside the front, will i keep getting triggered alerts? Whats a good way around this?
Thanks,
My solution uses Home Assistant. When I am home I have a profile with no alerts as soon as I leave the profile switches to one with alerts. I was using this method before this tool and still have it implemented as I generally don't need the alerts while home. The same could be achieved with the BlueIris geo location options in the app.
 

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
My solution uses Home Assistant. When I am home I have a profile with no alerts as soon as I leave the profile switches to one with alerts. I was using this method before this tool and still have it implemented as I generally don't need the alerts while home. The same could be achieved with the BlueIris geo location options in the app.
Thanks; I also have a full blown HA in motion but im thinking even while home, its good to know who is walking up to the door as i have a tablet in the kitchen wall that lights up when someone is at the door. Currently i have a 5 min cool down in BI between alerts. But i really want to go with the AI solution, but in order for this to work nice, i would need to change the cool down to like 5 sec, so that the AI can process all images alerts. Now when i am just outside while my wife is inside, the alerts will go nuts!
 

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
259
Reaction score
144
Location
Pennsylvania
And what do you have to trigger that 120 min exemption? DO you use HA? Do you manually set that? or is it on an automation (on garage door open or something)
I set this inside BI under the settings-->Profiles tab under temp time. I then manually change to this profile in BI and it changes back to whatever profile should be set after the defined time expires or I can switch the profile back manually.
 

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
I set this inside BI under the settings-->Profiles tab under temp time. I then manually change to this profile in BI and it changes back to whatever profile should be set after the defined time expires or I can switch the profile back manually.
Pretty manual work.. If your stepping outside, to start changing profiles..
 

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
259
Reaction score
144
Location
Pennsylvania
Pretty manual work.. If your stepping outside, to start changing profiles..
Aside from having AI to detect and not alert on familiar faces, I’m not sure how else you’d achieve what you’re wanting to do. You want to receive alerts when you’re home but not when you walk outside and you want to automate this somehow. Even IF there was AI to detect familiar faces and not alert for certain faces, you’d have to get a clear picture of your face in order not to trigger, which many of your cameras likely can’t produce based on location, etc. Sentry is working on familiar face detection, which hasn’t been integrated into BI yet. Certain Nest cameras have familiar face alerts that are only accurate about half of the time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
running into issues with masking out a road in front of my house - so went an followed the guide and masked the street but.. When a person rings the bell, the street view is behind them and as a result their top half of the body is masked! Not sure what other are doing here for this. Example image attached
 

Attachments

kumar2020

n3wb
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Location
Iowa
You can still use the all of the motion detection functions of BI. DeepStack just helps it be a little smarter. So have you tried setting up zones in BI? You might be able to set a zone crossing so that it only triggers the ai if someone comes near the porch. That's what I'm doing with my porch cam, which used to trigger all the time from shadows and bushes.
 

Neil Sidhu

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
Location
Toronto
You can still use the all of the motion detection functions of BI. DeepStack just helps it be a little smarter. So have you tried setting up zones in BI? You might be able to set a zone crossing so that it only triggers the ai if someone comes near the porch. That's what I'm doing with my porch cam, which used to trigger all the time from shadows and bushes.
The trigger in BI is ok, but with the new AI tool, i have the street in the back masked out and when BI sets the trigger off - the AI took is not able to detect a person because the top half of the person gets cut off due to the masking (its 2D)
 

powaypat

n3wb
Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
I was never able to get DeepStack to run on the Windows VM, so I just used the HASS-deepstack docker. I also install the coral pi rest and am able to get the Coral USB accelerator to do the load work now instead of send off an image to deepstack (my internet is very slow). One thing I am noticing though is that the call to trigger the camera is taking a long time. Any ideas how to speed it up? As you can see it is taking a full two seconds to trigger. Example below.

[20.05.2020, 15:25:11.506]: (4/6) Checking if detected object is relevant and within confidence limits:
[20.05.2020, 15:25:11.514]: truck (91.02%):
[20.05.2020, 15:25:11.639]: (5/6) Performing alert actions:
[20.05.2020, 15:25:11.649]: trigger url:http://localhost:81/admin?trigger&camera=garageHD&user=------&pw=-------
[20.05.2020, 15:25:13.651]: -> Trigger URL called.
[20.05.2020, 15:25:13.662]: (6/6) SUCCESS.
 

JNDATHP

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
338
Reaction score
249
Location
USA
I run Deepquest on my Windows 10 BI computer. In AITool, the Deepstack URL is localhost:80. Everything works just fine.

I installed Deepstack on another computer, 192.168.0.9 and in AITool I changed the Deepstack URL to 192,168.0.9:80

It doesn’t work and I get this error:

[03.09.2019, 18:47:13]: ERROR: Processing the image C:\BlueIris\aiinput/aiBYCam.20190903_184710895.jpg failed. Can't reach DeepQuestAI Server at localhost:81.

Has anyone been able to get AITool to communicate with Deepstack on a Windows computer that is different than the BI computer?

It almost looks like “localhost“ was hard coded in AITlol and the port is changeable.
 
Last edited:

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
259
Reaction score
144
Location
Pennsylvania
I run Deepquest on my Windows 10 BI computer. In AITool, the Deepstack URL is localhost:80. Everything works just fine.

I installed Deepstack on another computer, 192.168.0.9 and in AITool I changed the Deepstack URL to 192,168.0.9:80

It doesn’t work and I get this error:

[03.09.2019, 18:47:13]: ERROR: Processing the image C:\BlueIris\aiinput/aiBYCam.20190903_184710895.jpg failed. Can't reach DeepQuestAI Server at localhost:81.

Has anyone been able to get AITool to communicate with Deepstack on a Windows computer that is different than the BI computer?

It almost looks like “localhost“ was hard coded and the port is changeable.
I was able to get Deepstack to run on a separate Windows machine. The catch here is that you need to have Visual C++ installed on the Windows box that is running Deepstack, see post #338 in this thread. Also, to run Deepstack on Windows, your processor needs to support AVX. If your processor doesn’t support AVX, then you’ll need to run Deepstack on a Linux box with the noavx tag in Docker. Deepstack doesn’t support the noavx tag on Windows...yet. This feature is coming soon based on a few articles that I read from the Deepstack forums.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

DuHads

n3wb
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Saint Louis
I've tried everything I can think of, but am still unable to get this to work.
  • DeepStack installed through Home Assistant running through VirtualBox on a Windows machine. When I do this I get, the "Can't reach DeepQuestAI Server at 192.168.1.100:85" error. I get the Activated screen when I go to the site.
  • DeepStack installed through Docker on an iMac. When I do this I get the "System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )...Failure in AI Tool processing the image." error.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
 

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
259
Reaction score
144
Location
Pennsylvania
I've tried everything I can think of, but am still unable to get this to work.
  • DeepStack installed through Home Assistant running through VirtualBox on a Windows machine. When I do this I get, the "Can't reach DeepQuestAI Server at 192.168.1.100:85" error. I get the Activated screen when I go to the site.
  • DeepStack installed through Docker on an iMac. When I do this I get the "System.NullReferenceException | Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (code: -2147467261 )...Failure in AI Tool processing the image." error.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
I’m guessing that AVX support isn’t passed through Virtual Box to the VM. Have you tried running Deepstack with the noavx tag?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Top